Chevron Left
Retour à Fondements moraux de la politique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fondements moraux de la politique par Université Yale

4.8
étoiles
1,742 évaluations
349 avis

À propos du cours

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Meilleurs avis

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

NK

Dec 30, 2015

The Course (Moral Foundations of Politics ) is an important subject for Politicains and the students of Political science. Prof. Ian Shapiro's lectureres have good information and most helpful.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 344 Avis pour Fondements moraux de la politique

par Yochai W

Aug 11, 2017

Fantastic course. I felt I needed some basic introduction to political thinking, and this course is exactly what I needed.

par Robert K

Jun 17, 2016

Great course taught in a solid and easily accessible fashion. Just the right balance of theory and practical application.

par 林京芮

Oct 25, 2017

Great! I'd cherish this experience for my whole life and apply the viewpoints of it to analyze current political problems

par Valquiria C d s

Feb 10, 2020

Ian Shapiro is an amazing teacher. Abundance of knowledge and discoveries that make us reflect and review our concepts.

par Paz O

Mar 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

par Terry Y

Jun 25, 2018

It is an amazing course that provides you an understanding on the different political traditions and how are they used.

par Jorge M C

Jun 01, 2017

Extraordinario curso, para quienes estén interesados en una guía para profundizar en el mundo de la filosofía política.

par Justin D

Nov 30, 2016

It's a great course. You'll wish that you could take a course from Shapiro on anyone of these traditions to go deeper.

par Dominica C

Mar 21, 2020

This course was incredibly engaging and managed to effectively convey the content in a unique, conversational format.

par Joseph N

Dec 02, 2019

Ian Shapiro is very detailed in his lecturing of political theory. However the ebook in ?Cengage? link is expensive

par Aleksandra L

Jan 16, 2017

I strongly appreciate a clarity of the lectures. The course was prepared honestly and in an elegant way. Thank you!

par Sergey A

Apr 08, 2018

Very concise course in history of political philosophy. Cover a wide area and provocative questions for beginner.

par Marcello L D

Dec 12, 2017

Excelent Course. It introduces the mainly concepts in each tradition and give more deep discussions in each topic

par Martijn S

Nov 02, 2016

excellent course, very high educational value and insight. Would definitly recommend it to others

-Martijn Spruijt

par Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

par Antoine R

Dec 22, 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

par ljdover

Sep 13, 2019

Wonderful class that helped to clarify the different political theories for me. I would highly recommend t

par Jeffrey H

Aug 03, 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

par Miguelina R V

Jun 05, 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

par Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.

par Alan E

Aug 06, 2016

Ian Shapiro is a true master of the subject. The format of this course sets a high standard for Coursera.

par Arnaldo M

Aug 15, 2018

the clarity with which the teacher explains the topics makes the course engaging and very interesting!

par Bruna C

Dec 06, 2015

Lessons are very objective, while explanations are made clear by useful and easy to remember examples.

par Özgün K

Mar 03, 2020

It was a course where I got new information. The course was helped to me for my educational in Turkey

par Dominique D

Jul 12, 2018

This course was the most challenging and rewarding course that I have taken on the Coursera platform!