Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 par Université de Virginie

4.8
757 notes
209 avis

À propos du cours

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Meilleurs avis

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 209 Examens pour The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

par Dimitris S

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

par Ritwik A

May 01, 2019

Excellently informative course.

par Shambhavi M

Apr 30, 2019

great learning experience

par JG

Apr 30, 2019

Best course I've taken, by far.

par Ayush V

Apr 17, 2019

was easy to understand

par Simon G

Apr 04, 2019

Fascinating course, Professor Zelikow is great.

par Liya X

Mar 20, 2019

This is an awesome course that not only taught me global history but also inspired me to think more deeply

par Jane E K

Mar 05, 2019

An excellent course for History fanatics!

par Aya K

Mar 02, 2019

Thank you very much for your lectures on history

par Karthik N

Mar 02, 2019

The lecturer was slightly monotonous and really has missed out on key factors such as Weimar Republic etc in this course. Moreover, the course seems very opinionated and ends of the wars seems to be just glossed over into economic terms rather than historic facts. Battle of Okinawa, death of Hitler, battle of somme and verdun seem like key parts not tackled efficiently. Quizzes rely too much on rote knowledge and the lecturer's opinion rather than what one should take away from the presentations. Also, coming from India and also having stayed for long in the Middle East, the entire picture given by the lecturer of these regions seem to be quite flawed as the picture is very narrow.

par Neil H

Jan 16, 2019

An exceptional experience. I did it first back in 2014, with all the tests. I have since downloaded it and been through the videos for parts 1 and 2 several times. If you want a broad understanding of the last 250 years of history you will find this hard to beat.

par Kelvin L

Jan 10, 2019

This is a very informative and inspiring course. I have recommended it to my wife and my son. Also I googled the professor's profile and my impression was: WOW!!!

par Helena K

Jan 09, 2019

Great information, engaging unbiased tutor (with the talent of a gifted storyteller) and at last one course that really talks about modern world history as a whole without just remaining and focusing on the WWI and II from only our western world's perspective. Thank you!

par Oscar T

Dec 30, 2018

Master in the use of the "why?" in history. Very pedagogical presentations with profound historical insight. ¡Mejor imposible!

par Gonzalo B V

Dec 28, 2018

Overall, excellent, the explanations have been brilliant.

I have however missed some further details as to what was going on in places like Latin America (nothing said in the course) or India and Sub-saharian Africa (almost inexistent in the course).

I fully appreciate the above have been minor players during the last 2 centuries, but certainly there were some events and changes in these countries in that time.

par Kelly R

Nov 30, 2018

Such an amazing course! It requires a lot of focus and measured progress over 14 weeks, but is totally worth it. I have come out of it a better thinker and more well-informed than I have ever been.

par Belov N O

Nov 14, 2018

Nice course and nice approach to the world events of 20-21 century.

par Howard K

Nov 09, 2018

Great course, and wonderful lecturer.

par Lazaros A

Nov 08, 2018

An excellent, thought provoking course. It has helped me form an understanding of how things work and how we got to where we are.

par Xinran L

Oct 02, 2018

Excellent course!

par Stacy K M

Sep 09, 2018

This part of history got short shrift when I was in school. This course was truly enjoyable and enlightening.

i feel as though these 14 weeks made up for a large gap in my education. Professor Zelikow is enlightening and packs a lot if information into this class. If you enjoy history at all, you will enjoy "The Modern World, Part Two Iand one): Global History since 1910.

par Akhilesh S

Aug 16, 2018

A wonderful and indulging course. The knowledge and the course materials presented by Prof is absolutely stunning and insightful. Everyone should take this course.

par Luis L

May 27, 2018

An amazing teacher, with a very open mind and a great analytic methodology. Thank you

par Chetan P

May 25, 2018

Incredible journey through time

par Ronald B S

May 11, 2018

Professor Zelikow's guidance through this two part course was enlightening, challenging and insightful. It has been a long delayed life goal to obtain my undergraduate degree. This class was