Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) par Université Wesleyenne

4.8
étoiles
339 évaluations
99 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

CM

11 mars 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

24 oct. 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 100 Avis pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

par Rubén G G

30 janv. 2021

Great course with the best professor

par Ritoban D

4 nov. 2017

It was a great learning experience.

par Alexandra B

9 avr. 2022

It was wonderfull! Thanks!!!

par Chemezova K R

31 août 2016

Thanks for amazing lectures!

par Petro S

6 juin 2017

Great stuff, great teacher!

par Janique M

5 janv. 2017

I loved this course!

par Bryan m

8 oct. 2015

excelente enfoque.

par Allan A

7 juin 2018

Amazing content!

par angela

11 mars 2017

Fantastic course

par Martín S F

6 sept. 2019

great course.

par Paccelli Z

23 oct. 2017

Excellent!

par Jorge L M

1 mai 2022

Excelente

par burxon t

21 août 2020

Well done

par Garth H

3 mai 2021

Great!

par Susannah R

1 févr. 2018

After my experience on Part 1, I chose to only watch the lectures. I really enjoyed them. Prof Roth's delivery is excellent. The course gave me much food for thought, but I couldn't face writing the essays.

The reading timings should be set to more realistic values, to give us students a true idea of what we are committing to.

par Anjali R

17 oct. 2020

The course itself was excellent, but there was no discussion of the topics in the forum, only requests for peers to review assignments, a process I ended up resorting to as well on a couple of occasions because of the significant delay in assignments being reviewed.

par dorina c

20 janv. 2022

it really offered an insight into philosophical movements and works as well as an overall view on the evolution of Enlightenment ideas and their impact on modern thought

par David G

22 août 2020

surprised by the focus on literature, art and architecture

teacher does good job of explaining concepts and reviewing-summarizing

par Emmanouil P

4 avr. 2017

I quite appreciate the teaching of American philosophers, like Emerson or Rorty.

par İLKİN B

20 oct. 2015

The instructer is not fluid, a "mentor" is devoid of critical thinking in communicating through the discussions section, the peers are reviewing haphazardly while "mentors" offer their own essays (from the past?) where they use material outside of the course readings which may sound plagiarizing after that long warning in each introductory section for writing assignements.

par Deleted A

1 mars 2016

Slow start to week 1 but 'The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) is a continuation to 'The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) so best to understand (part 1). Looking forward to week 2.

par Sang Y D

25 mars 2016

I advice NOT to take this course.

Why: the professor is never there to read your assignments. He leaves that totally to other students like yourself, to grade your written assignments, and, they do not read and give you a RANDOM grade in 2 seconds.

Don't take it, you will waste sooo much time on this one.

par Richard B

12 sept. 2015

Mr Roth is woefully unprepared for this course, his assessments of the several artists and thinkers he explores are deeply and distressingly flawed - and why would he repeat in a classroom, with unbecoming histrionics, the same lesson he's just delivered from his office

par Michael N R

13 juin 2016

Not as advertized and way too much peer rating stuff--we do all the work the instructor does little or none--too much peer raqting stuff which I despise. And there seems to be no way to un-enroll.

par harleen d

6 juil. 2020

I found this course a little stretched and unstructured, with not a clear point of discussion and end goal.