Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
260 notes
61 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

CM

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 61 Examens pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

par Bryan m

Oct 08, 2015

excelente enfoque.

par Miriam P S

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent choice of material, ample reading support, clear expositions.

par Paccelli J M Z

Oct 23, 2017

Excellent!

par subhasis c

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

par Edwin L B S

Aug 12, 2016

Michael Roth is an amazing professor.

par Petro S

Jun 06, 2017

Great stuff, great teacher!

par Roland I

Aug 19, 2015

Very accessible, very inspiring - thanks

par Thurein

Dec 07, 2015

I like the way of Michael Roth's lecturing.

par Mary L R

Mar 20, 2016

What is Western Pilosophy? Here's an answer that also helps you understand the ways people behave.

par MH

Aug 16, 2015

The course does a wonderful job of tracing modernity, postmodernity and pragmatism thought over the years. Loved how Michael weaves together literature and art into the course of explaining how these ideas have shaped our world. I wish I could have taken this course in person. Highly recommended.

par Anna K

Jan 01, 2016

I adore both this and part one of the course! A

par Andrew G

Feb 09, 2016

Excellent course. Well constructed and well presented. Really enjoyed learning about a subject I previously only knew the name of!

par amanda m

May 29, 2018

amazing lectures and challenging essay topics that really help you absorb the material.

par David V G

Jul 14, 2016

Great Course. Enjoying it, expanding my knowledge and thinking. Taking my time and repeat most of the lectures.

par Sebastián M C

Sep 22, 2017

Excellent course, thank you very much Michael for this.

par LilGuz

Oct 26, 2015

Excellent course, the best context to read and understand very good writers and important ideas. Thank you.

par Jonathan C

Nov 21, 2016

Great Course. Really provides a good way to explore the subject.

par Janique M

Jan 05, 2017

I loved this course!

par Bergthor S

Oct 01, 2015

THE most interesting lecturer I have found in recent times.

Wonderfully enlightening approach to the subjec.

Thank you

par Alisha M

Feb 23, 2016

My favourite MOOC of all time! Changed the way I viewed the world and introduced me to the wonderful new world of philosophy. Thank you Micheal S. Roth! :)

par Martin P

Jun 15, 2016

A five-star rating for a five-star course. I've actually completed parts 1 and 2 and I cannot praise both parts too highly. Professor Roth, President of Wesleyan College was an excellent lecturer and imparted his knowledge with great enthusiasm. I learned a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

One negative point on the Coursera side: I'm still waiting for my first and fifth assignments to be assessed. In the case of the first assignment, that goes back to April.

par Cynthia M

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

par Allan M A

Jun 07, 2018

Amazing content!

par Gerard M

Apr 12, 2018

I came away from the course with a much better understanding of why the world is the way it is today. The diversity of thought offered by great thinkers in featured readings is amazing. Highly recommended!

par Ritoban D

Nov 04, 2017

It was a great learning experience.