Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) par Université Wesleyenne

4.8
étoiles
339 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

CM

11 mars 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

24 oct. 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 100 Avis pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

par Gerard M

12 avr. 2018

I came away from the course with a much better understanding of why the world is the way it is today. The diversity of thought offered by great thinkers in featured readings is amazing. Highly recommended!

par Ayush P

19 oct. 2020

In my opinion, one of the best Mooc on liberal arts. Felt like being part of a real class all along. Best wishes to Prof. Michael and his team at Wesleyan.

Greetings from India 🇮🇳

par Anne F

18 sept. 2015

I love this course. The enthusiasm of the teacher is wonderful. His choice of works and their treatment are excellent. I learned a lot, even though I have an MA in Literary Studies.

par Chuck C

3 janv. 2022

This course was an expansive eye opener for me. I enjoyed the insights and enthusiasm of Prof Roth and highly recommend the course. Thanks to COURSERA for making it available.

par Nidhi N

19 juin 2020

It was an exceptional experience. I wish there was more, say a third part. thanks Coursera, Wesleyan University, and most importantly Michael Roth. It was truly a learning

par Fogan A

4 oct. 2019

A very good course for everyone whowould like to understand our today society and the last generations behaviors... Thanks to Coursera & President Roth Michael!

par James C

25 oct. 2016

I can't get enough of Michael Roth's courses! I've retaken this course and the other two. I get more insight each time! No attitude, just insight and learing!

par Olga M

16 août 2018

Thank you for this inspiring diving into modern and postmodern philosophy. It helped a lot with filling gaps and providing new leads to develop and research

par Alisha M

23 févr. 2016

My favourite MOOC of all time! Changed the way I viewed the world and introduced me to the wonderful new world of philosophy. Thank you Micheal S. Roth! :)

par ivan l a

3 avr. 2021

The second part of the course was also incredible. Professor Roth, brilliant as in the first. Highly recommended course for all who love the humanities.

par Teresa F

1 févr. 2016

I want more. It grew in me like when you manage to bring out a splendid salad.Everything connects and relates but what really matters is the chewing.

par luciana a a

30 sept. 2020

A very good way to start thinking about our times. I learned a lot about authors and reflected much during the course. Was really worth every class!

par Ken H

21 mai 2021

This is a great course. The video lectures are smart and engaging. There is material to keep on reading and that will last a long, long time.

par Everardo G

19 mars 2016

This is an amazing course. I´m really happy. I had a really good time with the bibliography, the topics, and the teacher. ¡THAKS A LOT!

par Peter A B

6 août 2020

really enjoyed the course. When are they going to d a course on late existentialist thinkers? Some of the readings were unavailable.

par Andrew G

9 févr. 2016

Excellent course. Well constructed and well presented. Really enjoyed learning about a subject I previously only knew the name of!

par Dr A J

11 août 2021

T​he course is ultimately wonderful to comprehend a unique insight into the literary traits of the PostModern Era. Thanks a lot .

par Ethan T

14 juin 2021

This is a great philosophy course because you get written assignments, which is necessary in any philosophy course in my opinion.

par Peter F

16 déc. 2018

Excellent course from an accomplished scholar, presents insights about his subject matter from all different points of view.

par Rebecca R

16 nov. 2015

I loved this course. Michael Roth was superb in repacking the challenging content in an engaging and enthralling manner.

par Bergthor S

1 oct. 2015

THE most interesting lecturer I have found in recent times.

Wonderfully enlightening approach to the subjec.

Thank you

par Cristina D

11 juil. 2017

Excellent! Looking forward for more classes like this one, and if they are with the same Professor, even better.

par D V

14 juil. 2016

Great Course. Enjoying it, expanding my knowledge and thinking. Taking my time and repeat most of the lectures.

par Maria L R

26 oct. 2015

Excellent course, the best context to read and understand very good writers and important ideas. Thank you.

par Rahul R

22 avr. 2016

Very well presented and planned.

Lot of learning opportunity . Interest generating to learn more.