Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
290 évaluations
74 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

CM

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

51 - 74 sur 74 Avis pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

par sandra s

May 15, 2016

I love this course. The tutor is fascinating.

par glauco h p

Sep 02, 2020

very good. the concepts were very important.

par Thurein

Dec 07, 2015

I like the way of Michael Roth's lecturing.

par Roland I

Aug 19, 2015

Very accessible, very inspiring - thanks

par Edwin L B S

Aug 12, 2016

Michael Roth is an amazing professor.

par Ritoban D

Nov 04, 2017

It was a great learning experience.

par Chemezova K R

Aug 31, 2016

Thanks for amazing lectures!

par Petro S

Jun 06, 2017

Great stuff, great teacher!

par Janique M

Jan 05, 2017

I loved this course!

par Bryan m

Oct 08, 2015

excelente enfoque.

par Allan M A

Jun 07, 2018

Amazing content!

par angela

Mar 12, 2017

Fantastic course

par Martín S F

Sep 06, 2019

great course.

par Paccelli J M Z

Oct 23, 2017

Excellent!

par burxon t

Aug 21, 2020

Well done

par Susannah R

Feb 01, 2018

After my experience on Part 1, I chose to only watch the lectures. I really enjoyed them. Prof Roth's delivery is excellent. The course gave me much food for thought, but I couldn't face writing the essays.

The reading timings should be set to more realistic values, to give us students a true idea of what we are committing to.

par David G

Aug 22, 2020

surprised by the focus on literature, art and architecture

teacher does good job of explaining concepts and reviewing-summarizing

par Emmanouil P

Apr 04, 2017

I quite appreciate the teaching of American philosophers, like Emerson or Rorty.

par İLKİN B

Oct 20, 2015

The instructer is not fluid, a "mentor" is devoid of critical thinking in communicating through the discussions section, the peers are reviewing haphazardly while "mentors" offer their own essays (from the past?) where they use material outside of the course readings which may sound plagiarizing after that long warning in each introductory section for writing assignements.

par Nicholas K

Mar 01, 2016

Slow start to week 1 but 'The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) is a continuation to 'The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) so best to understand (part 1). Looking forward to week 2.

par Sang Y D

Mar 25, 2016

I advice NOT to take this course.

Why: the professor is never there to read your assignments. He leaves that totally to other students like yourself, to grade your written assignments, and, they do not read and give you a RANDOM grade in 2 seconds.

Don't take it, you will waste sooo much time on this one.

par Richard B

Sep 12, 2015

Mr Roth is woefully unprepared for this course, his assessments of the several artists and thinkers he explores are deeply and distressingly flawed - and why would he repeat in a classroom, with unbecoming histrionics, the same lesson he's just delivered from his office

par Michael N R

Jun 13, 2016

Not as advertized and way too much peer rating stuff--we do all the work the instructor does little or none--too much peer raqting stuff which I despise. And there seems to be no way to un-enroll.

par harleen d

Jul 06, 2020

I found this course a little stretched and unstructured, with not a clear point of discussion and end goal.