Chevron Left
Retour à The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
261 notes
61 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Meilleurs avis

CM

Mar 12, 2016

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 61 Examens pour The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

par Mamoon H

Aug 29, 2017

It is one of the best courses in Liberal Arts that I have ever taken. Not only did it offer me the opportunity to catch up with what I hadn`t studied in my student days, but offered me the opportunity to see the world from different perspectives. Thanks to the clear, well-explained and sometimes humorous lectures by Professor Michael Roth, I was able to grasp every bit of the course. Thank you Professor Roth. I was also fortunate to have met classmates from different strata of the society and nationalities whose contributions, through the various assignments we did, have tremendously helped me go through the course with accolades.

I would like to recommend this course to anyone who really wants to understand what Modernism and Postmodernism is about

I would, however, like to suggest that the certificate awarded by Wesleyan University have the university`s original crest on it like the one issued by university of London for Teaching EFL/ESL Reading etc. Though what matters is the substance of the course, I also believe that making the certificate more appealing to employers` eyes will enhance the certificate holders` chance of employment.

par Dunja T

Feb 03, 2019

Great choice of subjects and authors and fantastic lectures.

par Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

Excellent course from an accomplished scholar, presents insights about his subject matter from all different points of view.

par Mohammad A

Mar 12, 2019

It was a pleasure completing this course and listening to Mr. Roth. It is beautifully structured and perfectly intertwined with applications in Literature and Arts. To summarize, I'd say it is easy enough for a non-philosopher like me to embark and yet intellectually challenging to keep you excited.

par Paccelli J M Z

Oct 23, 2017

Excellent!

par subhasis c

Oct 25, 2015

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

par Didi L

Nov 23, 2015

Follows a fascinating line of inquiry linking major cultural viewpoints over more than two hundred years of western culture. Well paced, great video component and interesting assignment. This is one of the best courses yet.

par Sankar V

Jan 07, 2018

A very enlightening approach showering rich content through diverse methodologies. Thanks a lot

par Clarissa P

Nov 17, 2015

brilliant and illuminating course, covering complex ideas in a friendly and understandable manner.

par Jenifer S

Aug 09, 2015

Pulls together a number of important readings to introduce the basic concepts of the title. Taught by an expert with grace and style. Stimulating assignments challenge the student to think comparatively and deeply.

par Wendy M

Oct 15, 2016

The course for you If you want to find out how philosophy is relevant to the way we live in this complex and ever changing world. A brilliant on-line course. I got to the end of it with lots of regret; Michael Roth is such an engaging guide. I chose not to complete the written assignments which is why this will show I didn't complete the course. But I did in fact study all the material and it was great.

par Rahul R

Apr 22, 2016

Very well presented and planned.

Lot of learning opportunity . Interest generating to learn more.

par Hamzeh A

Jun 14, 2016

Amazing lectures! Just one comment which is I saw the first part of the lectures and when I first registered to the second lecture I was hoping for different and new material and although there were new videos the rest were the same as the first part of the lectures.

par James C

Oct 25, 2016

I can't get enough of Michael Roth's courses! I've retaken this course and the other two. I get more insight each time! No attitude, just insight and learing!

par Anne F

Sep 18, 2015

I love this course. The enthusiasm of the teacher is wonderful. His choice of works and their treatment are excellent. I learned a lot, even though I have an MA in Literary Studies.

par Everardo G

Mar 19, 2016

This is an amazing course. I´m really happy. I had a really good time with the bibliography, the topics, and the teacher. ¡THAKS A LOT!

par angela

Mar 12, 2017

Fantastic course

par Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures.

par Cristina D

Jul 11, 2017

Excellent! Looking forward for more classes like this one, and if they are with the same Professor, even better.

par Edwin L B S

Aug 12, 2016

Michael Roth is an amazing professor.

par Mary L R

Mar 20, 2016

What is Western Pilosophy? Here's an answer that also helps you understand the ways people behave.

par MH

Aug 16, 2015

The course does a wonderful job of tracing modernity, postmodernity and pragmatism thought over the years. Loved how Michael weaves together literature and art into the course of explaining how these ideas have shaped our world. I wish I could have taken this course in person. Highly recommended.

par Anna K

Jan 01, 2016

I adore both this and part one of the course! A

par Andrew G

Feb 09, 2016

Excellent course. Well constructed and well presented. Really enjoyed learning about a subject I previously only knew the name of!

par amanda m

May 29, 2018

amazing lectures and challenging essay topics that really help you absorb the material.