Chevron Left
Retour à Art et idées modernes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Art et idées modernes par Le Museum of Modern Art

4.8
étoiles
5,309 évaluations
1,364 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Meilleurs avis

TT
7 juin 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

AM
14 janv. 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

Filtrer par :

1151 - 1175 sur 1,350 Avis pour Art et idées modernes

par Belakhdar A

15 mai 2020

great

par Ishita C

29 août 2018

great

par Abhinanda S

3 mai 2021

Good

par Aarul V

16 oct. 2020

Good

par Bhukya s

15 juin 2020

Nice

par 朱若彤

23 févr. 2020

good

par Joe H

12 mars 2018

Good

par Kessy Z

7 sept. 2017

good

par sofia g

10 mars 2016

cool

par sandhya D

30 avr. 2020

J

par Katerina V Z

24 avr. 2020

I

par Keith H

13 déc. 2019

G

par Niki B

3 mai 2020

I took this course for my own personal enrichment as an artist. I felt is was really thourogh on the artists it presented. I liked that there was a diverse pool of artists and art works presented, particularly if you look over the extra articles. Those were nicely mixed in with more well known artists to the average student. There are, however, far, far more artists and works in this time period that someone who completes a course in Modern Art History really should know. I'm not sure, however, that this course is intended to provide a more in depth study. Rather I believe it's supposed to be more of an overall introduction with some nice deep fives here and there, which certainly was accomplished. I am only giving it 4 instead of 5 stars because I was never able to post images, and therefore could not do assignments that required them. I was using my phone for the course, perhaps that's why. I plan to take another art history course and will use my laptop ( mostly so I can see images better) and see if that solves that problem. Overall, a really fantastic course and a good and resourceful way to spend time during the "stay at home" order...and...it's free!

par Andreia T d S

17 mai 2020

This was my first online course, so I do not have a term of comparison.However, I can form an opinion and suggest some ideas that would have worked for me. But, first of all, I consider this course to be very fulfilling. I’ve not only learned more about some artist that I knew but also got in touch with some that I have never heard about. Most of all, I had the chance to understand better the way of work, the mindset of creation and the others opinion. I would have like to had perhaps a zoom session of each theme, with one of the curators, where there could be some discussion on some topics. I also think that it is important for a student to understand the level of achievement, not only if one gets approval. I’m very keen on learning more and more about art, about organizing art and communicating art. Most of all I like to write about it, so It would be nice to have a course on “Mastering the art of writing about art”. Thank you!

par Priscilla C

19 avr. 2018

This course deserves 5 stars except for the final examination submission. There were two descriptions of what the 2 essays should contain, one in the page before the submission and one in the submission page. They were different. Then when one submits the photo of the work of art in the 2nd essay, the title and "caption" are described as optional. I saw that many people did not submit a "caption" (which is where you are supposed to put the essay)... however when you are asked to rate their submissions... there is nothing for you to rate since there is only a photograph of a work of art. You don't know what category it belongs to nor what they think about it. It is really too bad that they will not be graded properly... especially if they paid for the course.

par Sibongile M

28 avr. 2018

I really enjoyed this course and am grateful for having taken it. Thank you MoMA so much. There are two things that I feel could be improved: the first is that the course is very short and covers a great deal of ideas, themes, artists and movements. It would have been nice to go more in depth into these themes, which would mean either making the course longer or making the focal points more specific as to allow for more in-depth discussion and understanding. The second is that it would have been great to learn more about artists of colour and of different parts of the world outside of the west, or "global north". Otherwise, this course reiterated that there is still a lot that I don't know but I am enjoying expanding my knowledge. Thank you for this!

par Chloe F

3 févr. 2019

The course provided a lot of great information and was flexible around my working hours/travel. Very nice format and useful links to further information beyond the required readings. It would be nicer to have more in depth and interactive discussion, as part of the course (beyond discussion posts). For example, software/functions that allow multiple people in the same week stage posting/brainstorming comments on the same artworks would be a great way to help people think about art and engage skills and knowledge learned from this course, as opposed to just being able to regurgitate MoMAs information and commentary. The final assignment was a good solo version of this, but there should be a task like this where people can bounce ideas off each other.

par Mary K

23 mai 2016

This was a well structured course even though it wasn't exactly clear that it was about educators in the first place. The introductory videos on every week were very clever and on point. Loved the instructors and the whole team behind this course. However, the final assignment's grading is unacceptable. I cannot stress out how important it is to justify each score given, especially the lower ones. The final assignment did not have this, and as a consequence, when the final grade was in, low or high, you cannot know why, and fix your mistakes in the future. Some people were kind enough to leave comments on the comment section below, explaining everything, however, this should be the case for everyone's review. After all, it is a paid course.

par Debra B

30 juin 2020

I definitely learned a great deal, however, I never figured out how to see if anyone commented on my submissions nor how to engage in discussion with my peers. I feel I could learn a great deal more if I was able to have discussions and feedback. I tried navigating back through the website to my previous postings, but couldn't find them? Perhaps I just don't know how to navigate this webpage correctly. Any help would be appreciated. I would love to see what I've submitted previously to review it for myself in the future, plus I would love to see if anyone ever commented on anything I did.

In addition, does a professor or teacher actually ever look at the entries, or is it only peer reviews? Just curious.

par Alexandra R

2 janv. 2018

I really loved this course. I got a much better understanding of what Modern Art is. The only thing I would like to see is more performative arts, street or public art. Even though I really liked the link between older arts with the idea of Modern Art (because I usually thought Modern Art to be something more like 1970´s to the date), I would have really loved to see artworks from this decade because most of the work I had already seen or read about them. And with the importance that figures like Marina Abramovic and Bansky have been to this decade, I feel that it should be interesting to study it. But I really appreciate the hard work you put into this course. Thank you so much.

par João T S

4 juin 2020

I found really interesting the concept of looking to artworks not chronological but by themes. The themes of weeks 2, 3 and 5 were particularly interesting. The one from week 4 (Transforming everyday objects) less, in my opinion. I find the peer assignment evaluation not optimal.... (i had several situations where the evaluation was clearly not according to the coursera rules, and i could not find where to complain about it). Apart from that, the course was very interesting for me, i learned a lot, and most importantly, i am very motivated to transpose the idea of organizing Artworks by themes to music and use it in the music lessons i teach.

par Janet R

12 juil. 2020

A great course for overview of those main themes presented. I found the last two weeks somewhat repetitive in that the works were presented in the overview, and then again Individually (with much the same information, only slightly elaborated on). I also found the format of the last peer review assignment (Curate images to illustrate one or more of those themes presented) quite confusing: the boxes weren’t clearly labeled or the assignment unclear on how/where to explain why those images were chosen. Otherwise, it was a fun course and introduced me to some artists I hadn’t know of previously.

par Nicole F

31 mai 2020

I found this course very engaging and interesting, and was eager to come back each week for another module! I also enjoyed interacting with others in the forum, and doing the assignments and final submissions. All of the activities challenged me to think and get involved creatively, which I really appreciated! However, I do feel that they could have explored the concepts more, as the focus seemed to be on the specific artworks. Aside from that, I would recommend this course to those interested in art as it's really accessible even if you don't have a background in it!