Chevron Left
Retour à Art et idées modernes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Art et idées modernes par Le Museum of Modern Art

4.8
étoiles
5,491 évaluations
1,412 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Meilleurs avis

AM
14 janv. 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
7 juin 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filtrer par :

1351 - 1375 sur 1,401 Avis pour Art et idées modernes

par Ikan P

6 nov. 2017

Very interesting and frustrating at the same time. Interesting because it enabled me to have a different approach of Modern Art and to understand it not only through a context (political, artistic, social, historical, ...) but also through the intimate life of the artist. Modern Art cannot be comprehended without at least those 2 lenses. Frustrating because I feel like there is still so much to say about Modern Art and we only had a glimpse through this too short course.

par Robin K

23 mai 2020

while I really enjoyed the course content and expanding my knowledge about Modern Art and Ideas, I was very frustrated with posting and being able to edit. For example, I have no idea how my last assignment was posted as it did not function as the previous reflection assignment. So with the technical issues I was not able to rate this a 5 star experience. Though I love Coursera and would do another class. If I was needing a certificate I would not be happy though.

par Amélie P

16 juin 2018

I love the topic of the course and the organization of modules. However, the videos are too short and too brief. I will like to hear more analyze about each pieces. It's should be relevant to have a professor who speaks to us about the works of art. The quiz should be more about the observation and analyze than about a close interpretation of a work of art. Thank you so much for the class! I discover a lot of artists.

par Mariana

6 oct. 2015

The information, videos, links additional reading do provide important information. However this course is aimed at teachers and that is not clear from the title and much less with the small amount of articles that are related to teaching. This course also has lots of issues with its quizzes; getting no support from staff on technical matters or feed back on why a true or false questions is always wrong.

par Caelyn M

23 janv. 2017

This course takes an alternate approach to understanding modern Art, moving it away from categories based on the time period in which art was made or what school the artist was part of and instead groups art work by theme. I really enjoyed all the pieces I encountered and felt like I had a somewhat better understanding of modern art after taking this course.

par Ju R

12 sept. 2020

Navigating through the course is difficult, particularly the discussions and the final assignment. Finding out how to submit the assignment was complicated to say the least and some learners posted their assignments in the discussion forum where they could not be assessed. I cannot recommend this format to other learners.

par Márcia B

30 avr. 2017

Although the course offers a very wide range of subjects and also additional recommendations for reading, the basic didactic material superficially explores the work of each artist. I am sure that MoMA team has the capacity to offer a deeper content.

par Dariya H

17 avr. 2019

I like this course. I really enjoyed it. But it was difficult because of language. I thought that this course will have more information in Russian language. Some videos and many texts was really challenging. Thanks any way.

par Bhavna K

13 mai 2020

I feel more videos of study material should be made available as well as each week's assignment should be graded by peer review. The course should have more interaction with course instructors as well as peers.

par daniela c

27 juil. 2020

No es como otros cursos del moma, es mas exigente, dura 5 semanas con dos trabajos, uno calificado por compañeros, pero los temas se ven en mayor profundidad. Los materiales extras estan muy buenos

par Sheela N

8 août 2020

The reflections weekly were good but the last assignment was frustrating so before one could read the review it was gone and peers rated it incorrectly, not fair student was penalised

par John

21 mai 2016

I've learned about some paintings and object, but the format of the course was weak. Should have stuck with the historical progression of Modern Art--tried and true approach.

par Tjasa D

1 janv. 2016

I have no complaints over the content. I would however, change the final quizzes, which rely too much on one essay rather than on the videos or on other reading material.

par Marie L F

25 févr. 2018

A subject much too wide and complex to be narrowed down into just a few weeks. Maybe offering more specific studies over several courses would have been more enriching.

par Learner I

8 oct. 2015

Excellent concepts and content. Poor quiz composition and monitoring by MOMA staff of discussion. Logistical hassles tainted joy from the delivery.

par Julian

28 sept. 2017

Maybe was the idea to entertain a little big to strong in this case. It is definitly an interesting course with good examples.

par Prathibha R

6 mai 2017

The commentary for each artwork has been cut short sometimes in the middle of the sentence. It is so dissatisfying!

par Cindy W

1 févr. 2021

shouldnt let everyone judge the work, i dont like this part coz to feel the art is very personal

par Loisita M V

13 août 2020

There is so much to learn here specifically about art that inspires others to love with it.

par Elizabeth T

15 avr. 2020

A very nice introductory course but could use so added depth in materials

par Vicky

12 févr. 2018

Well presented and really interesting, I would just wish for more videos.

par Laura K

11 août 2016

Very highlever, i would have enjoyed more technique to understand art

par Glenn O

23 juin 2016

Mostly a guide for teachers bringing classes to MOMA; weak otherwise.

par Nathaly P

21 mai 2020

El curso está en inglés! Y tenía que pasar todo al traductor

par Eimear

16 mai 2017

Would have liked more lecture format and less reading.