Chevron Left
Retour à Art et idées modernes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Art et idées modernes par Le Museum of Modern Art

4.8
étoiles
5,418 évaluations
1,394 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Meilleurs avis

AM
14 janv. 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
7 juin 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filtrer par :

1301 - 1325 sur 1,380 Avis pour Art et idées modernes

par Sree H V N

25 avr. 2019

I enjoyed learning this course thoroughly............

par Sai K

2 juin 2020

i love the videos, easy to understand and lively : )

par Carla L F V

28 mai 2018

very complete course. Different perspectives

par YingCai

13 mai 2017

Good introduction of modern art! I like it!

par Fangyan S

9 août 2017

Materials and subjects are well chosen.

par Pepe L

1 avr. 2017

very nice introduction for artist mind

par Sheng L

17 mars 2020

Good time spend reading about stuff

par Kolawole J k

26 sept. 2020

I really appreciate this course

par Clara M

4 oct. 2020

Very complete and inspiring

par Maria M S G

12 août 2020

Me encanto y aprendí mucho.

par Ema E Y

31 août 2019

me gustaria mas pruebas

par Luke R

13 janv. 2019

Very insightful course.

par Hyun-Woo L

24 nov. 2015

I've just started, but

par Tina T

12 juil. 2021

It is a good Course

par Preethy A M

13 sept. 2017

I liked the course.

par Patricia

14 juil. 2020

Interesting Class.

par Sijie H

28 févr. 2019

Very nice classes!

par Willem F

19 juil. 2017

so far really good

par Sandra P C

18 mars 2016

Great material!

par David D S ( D

2 juil. 2020

muy buen curso

par möm'ß q d d

17 mai 2020

Learned a lot

par Manojkumar P

29 déc. 2015

Nice Course

par Leslie M Y M

11 juin 2021

K

par Kate

25 déc. 2015

This course is designed for school teachers and, perhaps, for art museum's workers. I'm neither, but I took this course because I'd like to know more about the modern art.

The course is essentially a merge of two independent parts, namely, videos about artworks and papers about different theories of education in art. I took this course because of artworks, so I was not interested in papers.

Videos were great; especially the first one in each lesson. Even my husband, who isn't fond of art in general, found these videos interesting. In videos, lecturer explains history and meaning of each piece of art.

Required reading was dramatically different. First, students are required to read at least 10 pages (art papers) about approaches in teaching AND at least 4 articles in museum's website PER WEEK. Actually, careful reading not just browsing does take a lot of time, in fact, it takes way more time per week than claimed. In addition, these reading were not useful for me! I am not interested in teaching art, and reading same facts about artworks that I've heard in lectures is waste of my time. Seriously, I and most of people grasp most of the ideas from the first time; even if not, I would watch the video again. Why should I do extra reading that brings me no extra knowledge?

On a good side, one can pass quiz without any reading. Just a bit of thinking process, and you pass with 5/6 or 6/6 score.

Overall, the course is attractive because of amazing videos. However, I believe that this course must be reorganized in two different courses - one would be about artworks and understanding of art, another would be about teaching techniques in art.

par Felix C

2 janv. 2017

I very much enjoyed the setup of the course, that is the short introduction and then the discussion of different artworks per theme. However, I must say that I expected the course to be more thorough in the discussion of the different themes and artworks. I believe the course would benefit from a more in depth discussions of the artworks. This could for example include more background information about the artist or a comparison of different pieces by the same artist to better understand the artists' views and development through history. Such additions would elevate the level of the course and also help identify certain themes and events that often recur in art. To conclude, it was a very enjoyable course that help grasp basic concepts of modern art.