Chevron Left
Retour à Machine Learning: Regression

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Machine Learning: Regression par Université de Washington

4.8
stars
4,525 évaluations
845 avis

À propos du cours

Case Study - Predicting Housing Prices In our first case study, predicting house prices, you will create models that predict a continuous value (price) from input features (square footage, number of bedrooms and bathrooms,...). This is just one of the many places where regression can be applied. Other applications range from predicting health outcomes in medicine, stock prices in finance, and power usage in high-performance computing, to analyzing which regulators are important for gene expression. In this course, you will explore regularized linear regression models for the task of prediction and feature selection. You will be able to handle very large sets of features and select between models of various complexity. You will also analyze the impact of aspects of your data -- such as outliers -- on your selected models and predictions. To fit these models, you will implement optimization algorithms that scale to large datasets. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Describe the input and output of a regression model. -Compare and contrast bias and variance when modeling data. -Estimate model parameters using optimization algorithms. -Tune parameters with cross validation. -Analyze the performance of the model. -Describe the notion of sparsity and how LASSO leads to sparse solutions. -Deploy methods to select between models. -Exploit the model to form predictions. -Build a regression model to predict prices using a housing dataset. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Meilleurs avis

PD

Mar 17, 2016

I really enjoyed all the concepts and implementations I did along this course....except during the Lasso module. I found this module harder than the others but very interesting as well. Great course!

CM

Jan 27, 2016

I really like the top-down approach of this specialization. The iPython code assignments are very well structured. They are presented in a step-by-step manner while still being challenging and fun!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 814 Avis pour Machine Learning: Regression

par Pantelis H

Apr 07, 2016

This is an excellent course. The presentation is clear, the graphs are very informative, the homework is well-structured and it does not beat around the bush with unnecessary theoretical tangents.

par Ernie M

Sep 25, 2017

I enrolled in this specialization to learn machine learning using GraphLab Create. Half way into the specialization the creators sold Turi, GrapLab's parent company, making it non available to the general public (not even by paying) and then all the knowledge devalued. I wish I had known this and I would have enrolled on a different specialization. The creators still give you the possibility of using numpy, scikit learn and pandas but I had already done a lot with GraphLab create. The time I invested on my nights after work became a waste. I was trying to convince the company I worked for to buy licenses for GraphLab create.

Coursera should not allow folks to create courses that promote a private license course because it would make people waste their time and money if they decide to privatize the software.

Don't take this course, and if you take it then only use GraphLab create when the authors give you no other option.

Teaching style: Carlos was good, Emily is not very clear and loses focus of the topics and often rambles. She seems very knowledgeable but she lacks clarity of exposition when compared to Carlos or Andrew Ng.

par leonardo d

Oct 28, 2018

Excellent course, the professors made it very easy to learn quite powerful technics like gradient descend and coordinate descend. I always saw them like black-boxes, but now, thanks to this course I not only understand how they really work, but I learned how to apply them to real data. This course was simply awesome.

par Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

par Konduri V

Dec 25, 2018

I really enjoyed learning through out this course. I did little bit struggle with Python but now I am a bot more confident to take on advanced programming in Python.

Thank you very much for offering course.

par Hiral P

Oct 09, 2018

I loved this course because of the detail understanding of the concepts. I was looking for a course which provide detail understanding of algorithms, and here I am. I am giving four stars for what has been given in detail, not five because I something is left ;) interpretation..

par Prasad B D

Jan 16, 2016

To start with, I have been dedicating time to improve my understanding and depth in statistics and calculus. The reason is that, I am totally impressed by the lecture videos. The videos are detail, precise and covers enough depth. It has helped me to correlate the statistical concepts and application areas and rekindled my interest to go back to learn and strengthen my basics.

I like the contents that its not a overdose of many mathematical equations. Appreciate the pains taken by the expert professors in explaining every detail possible to make the course more interesting.

Appreciate the mention about the topics not covered in the course.

My suggestion is to include a seperate section for each course with a list of reference books, topics and weblinks of material to increase our depth and breadth of technical understanding of the statistical methods.

Many Thanks to Emily Fox and Carles Guestrin for their time and efforts in making this specialization course, and of course providing us with the free license to use Dato for learning purposes.

par Theo L

Jan 05, 2016

This course was well structured and well executed. I thoroughly enjoyed and was challenged by the material in the course. I appreciated the assignment/quiz approach to deal with such dense topics. I can see where people who have backgrounds in a number of the topics discussed throughout the course could feel there was too much hand holding, but I found the level of hints/help in the assignments were at the right level for me to work through & gain deeper understanding for the material presented.

My one criticism of the course stems from the denseness of the material. I believe there is an opportunity to introduce more quizzes after various sections within each module. It would be best to make these quizzes optional in order not to turn off more advance students, but I believe it would be beneficial for those students who do not have much, or any, experience in these topics to have more opportunities to test and gain deeper understanding in the material just covered.

Overall, solid course!

par Patrick M

Feb 01, 2016

A great course that will take you way past what you may remember of linear regression from high school or college days. This course is part math, part algorithms and part application (in Python). I loved it. The instructors are good and the material is generally well presented (I took the course the first time through, so there seemed to be a few gaps / rough edges.)

This course may be intimidating if you don't like mathematical notation, or if you have never used Python before. It may also be challenging if your high school / college freshman calculus is rusty. The concepts aren't super hard (basic statistics, integration, differentiation, matrix math but with multi-variate twists), but you will need to think carefully through some lessons to appreciate them.

The online tests are good - and the instructions for each week's problems are detailed. There is enough guidance to clearly show what needs to be done, but enough gaps to bridge that you're made to think about the problem at hand.

par Carlos D M

Jan 18, 2016

The topics are presented in a meaningful and understandable way. With enough detail, clarity, and fun. The instructors are super sweet and their dynamics in front of the camera are very inspiring.

The assignments are amazingly well designed. I get to practice the theory I learn from the lectures which truly reinforces what we review.

Even though I don't use the alternative tools (like Pandas), I appreciate that the organizers of the class prepare files and data sets for people who use those tools.

Another thing that's really valuable to me its' the fact that assignments (data, instructions, Jupyter, etc.) can be worked on completely offline and only need Internet connectivity to post results. Because all we do is enter numbers and select a few options, I have successfully submitted my assignments 10 minutes away from boarding a plane. I have had the chance work while riding a car (not driving it, LOL) or in an airplane. Because I have a full-time job, this is a HUGE advantage.

par Havan A

Mar 13, 2016

This is an amazing and brilliant course for machine learning. If you've done Andrew Ng's course, most of this material will feel familiar, but definitely has a lot more detail. Each sub-topic under regression is taken with a decent level of detail, with sufficient quiz and assignment questions to drill important concepts into your head. The lectures are lucid and concise, even the optional ones that cover more advanced concepts of the underlying math.

As an aside, I would like to clarify to any reader that, when they say you can use other tools, they aren't being a 100% honest. After a few assignments of using Scala and R, I quickly realized that using their iPython notebooks is the simplest and most straightforward way of clearing this course. Eventually, the assignments are such that using any other tool can cause a lot of strife.

Brilliant course. Looking forward to the next one.

par Ferenc F P

Jan 10, 2018

This is a very good introductory class to regression. Even though I had taken already other classes in regression, like Statistical inference or Machine learning from Stanford, this course provided me much better understanding about the variance and bias of a model, as well as, how the the true error and test error is related. For some Quiz the result is different with scikit-learn than with Graphlab while the Quiz is prepared for Graphlab results. What is really helping is the notebooks provided to each programming assignment, so basically one need to write only a few lines of code when using Graphlab in order to pass the Quiz. I spent much more time making programs from zero with scikit learn (due to different results I gave it up in the last 3 weeks and used only notebook with Graphlab). Learning the usage of Graphlab is not so difficult, so I had no problem with that.

par Phil B

Jan 29, 2018

This was the deep dive into regression that I was looking for, learning how and why to implement the various different algorithms that are used without being tied to a specific software package. Some of the other reviews complain about the use of graphlab but really it has no impact on the value of the course, because you can literally write the functions from scratch yourself using standard python and Numpy. The use of graphlab is just to speed things up in some of the programming assignments. One or 2 of the quizzes had some incorrect values in the notebooks but a quick search of the forums showed the correct ones and the ability to reattempt the quizzes means it's not a big issue. Emily is an excellent lecturer and the constant use of graphical aids and annotations makes it very easy to follow even with some of the fairly advanced maths.

par David M

Sep 08, 2017

I enjoyed this course. I took Ng's original ML coursera course, and it was good, but this one was much more involved and helped me better understand essential concepts in machine learning and data science. I feel confident that I can apply the skills I have learned in this course to future applications. While the lecturer sometimes repeated herself, she did well to explain some of the more difficult concepts. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a better grasp of statistics and regression analysis. The only thing I found lacking was that there was no exploration of forecasting, extrapolation, or otherwise making predictions beyond the boundaries of the training data. I feel like this is an important skill, and believe it could have been included among what was covered here.

par Sean S

Feb 19, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. Emily is an excellent instructor and the material was well planned and straightforward to follow. The programming assignments were useful and I got a lot out of implementing the algorithms from (near) scratch. I would have liked to see SVR and ensemble methods as part of this class but I understand they will be covered in another course. I used graphlab for all of the assignments but I also used numpy and and pandas when I couldn't find the functions I was looking for in graphlab. I was not a fan of the coursera hosted notebooks with graphlab for the first course but running it off my own machine was a different experience and I could definitely be sold on a single solution in place of numpy, pandas, and scikit learn.

par Craig B

Nov 29, 2016

A well thought out and nicely paced introduction to Regression following on from the equally good foundation course. I particularly like the way that the assignments assume an improving knowledge and familiarity with Python as the course progresses. It will be interesting to see if the subsequent courses in the specialisation continue in this vein - I hope so. I note the concerns that some have expressed about the use of graphlab.create for examples and assignments, but tend to think there is benefit from gaining familiarity with a number of different data science ML tools and libraries. Also additional code and instructions are available for those determined to use other tools such as Pandas and Scikit Learn.

par Josiah N

Sep 28, 2016

Nice explanation of concepts, and very helpful with getting started on the programming assignments. The algorithms are explained well in pseudo code, and the instructor does a good job at explaining why they work the way they do. The math is not very challenging, so I never felt frustrated.

I only wish there was not such an emphasis on Graphlab. Although they do allow you to use other methods to finish the assignments, it feels as though more attention is given to explaining how Graphlab works instead of standard, free python libraries. I understand that they're trying to push a product, but I don't want to pay for something I'll only be using for a few courses. More attention should be given to sklearn.

par MARIANA L J

Feb 27, 2016

Pros: the instructors and TAs seem to have better experience to manage the course, the lectures are extremely well explained and are very enjoyable, all the lectures last less than 15 minutes, there are some advanced optional videos that are interesting and they are not needed to complete the assignments, the numpy tutorial provided is helpful for the assignments, the programming assignments emphasize the need for testing our code (which is one of the most important skills any developer should have).

Cons: The written instructions on the programming assignments are still a bit confusing sometimes and may need a review for future iterations of this course.

par Rahul B

Feb 06, 2016

Can't praise enough!

This IS THE COURSE for regression. Cannot believe I didn't stumble upon it earlier enough.

Great Specialization, Great Course, Great Professors, Great thought provoking Quizzes and assignments, helpful mentors and more important that any of the above, amazing comprehensive content covering each and every topic from simple linear regression to feature selection and going all the way to kNN Regression.

An enjoyable and great learning experience.

Hope to carry on the same level of enthusiasm through the rest of the specialization.

Thank You Emily, Carlos, Johan (mentor) and rest of my classmates. And of course, Thank You Coursera.

par Edward F

Jun 25, 2017

I took the 4 (formerly 6) courses that comprised this certification, so I'm going to provide the same review for all of them.

This course and the specialization are fantastic. The subject matter is very interesting, at least to me, and the professors are excellent, conveying what could be considered advanced material in a very down-to-Earth way. The tools they provide to examine the material are useful and they stretch you out just far enough.

My only regret/negative is that they were unable to complete the full syllabus promised for this specialization, which included recommender systems and deep learning. I hope they get to do that some day.

par Benoit P

Dec 29, 2016

This whole specialization is an outstanding program: the instructors are entertaining, and they strike the right balance between theory and practice. Even though I consider myself quite literate in statistics and numerical optimization, I learned several new techniques that I was able to directly apply in various part of my job. We really go in depth: while other classes I've taken limit themselves to an inventory of available techniques, in this specialization I get to implement key techniques from scratch. Highly, highly recommended.

FYI: the Python level required is really minimal, and the total time commitment is around 4 hours per week.

par Toby P

Jan 18, 2016

A very challenging course, but one that provides you great insights. This class focuses on the algorithms of regression and various optimization techniques. The iPython (Jupyter) notebooks lead one though solving the various problems, and luckily I have enough Python background and sufficient mathematical intuition to complete the course. Those without either would probably find the course extremely difficult, but not impossible.

I'm leaving the course with an excellent understand of how regression works, and how I can use Lasso and Ridge regressions to improve my predictions. This class is one of the best that I've taken on Coursera.

par Ed M

Feb 21, 2016

The course is well paced, well organized, and employs a rigorous curriculum design that builds idea upon idea. Issues are well motivated and those motivations are used consistently throughout. Unlike other courses I have taken that attempt a survey across a number of areas, this course dives deep into the important topics in regression. The reward is a more thorough understanding of the theory, mathematics, utility, trade offs and implementation details of various algorithms. Moreover, the individual ideas are tied together in an overarching machine learning work flow that applies to many areas and tasks in machine learning.

par Hans H

Jun 11, 2018

Alot of information and math, great pragmatic approach in this course. I´m a Little dissapointed that the Multivariate outputs Y where and as I understood is not covered in this Courses, I would like to use that at work to predict several values. The quiz questions was a Little bit tricky, I misunderstood the questions and answered on the wrong data set. Overall the course was not easy and I needed to put in alot of hours to get the coding correct, so be ready to put down some hard work (if you are a slow Learner like me :) ). Anyway great course! And I will jump directly to the next course with Emliy and Carlos.

par Roger S

Feb 13, 2016

Very, very good course, high-quality teaching, and well-developed quizzes and assignments. The course is challenging enough to feel motivated and satisfied when finishing a week's work, but not so challenging as to scare people (or me, at least) away. I hope (and trust) that you keep up the good work in the courses to come. If there was one thing I could change, it would be to include a discussion of statistical significance/inference (as suggested by Emily towards the end). It is unclear now how that can be analyzed in the Graphlab environment, even though it is a very important topic for practical purposes.