Chevron Left
Retour à Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
1,177 évaluations
278 avis

À propos du cours

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Meilleurs avis

JM

28 juil. 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK

7 avr. 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 281 Avis pour Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

par Gary L

27 janv. 2018

This is a fantastic course.

Even with two masters degrees I learnt a lot and have recommended it to my colleagues.

It should be taught to all students.

par Виктория Е

4 mars 2019

I just finished my first week, but I already can say that it is changing my mind! These skills are extremely helpful in our lives. I am so grateful!

par Julius C G P I

21 nov. 2021

In my opinion, a must-take course. Hopefully someday it will be included as mandatory curriculum for public high schoolers all around the world.

par Travis J

13 sept. 2018

A pretty crucial look at the common fallacies and biases that influence the way we absorb information. This is highly recommended to all people.

par Tharmira

18 juin 2020

It's just an amazing course, and delivers what the title says. The teacher is amazing too! I might take the course again sometime in the future!

par Wellington S

10 avr. 2021

The professor was excellent and the whole course was very much easy to follow. I enjoyed the exercises and the information learned was precise.

par David A Q A

4 juil. 2018

A Clear and Useful course to be a Better Decision Maker. Do you need something else? What you waiting for? Take course it's more than a nudge.

par Mark P

20 sept. 2019

This has been most excellent.

I found the baserate false alarm rate examples particularly useful and am inspired to use this in a new context

par Paul K

28 mai 2019

Superb. Being able to (begin to) see cognitive biases and errors daily--and realizing that everyone makes many--is enlightening and humbling.

par Sunita A

14 mai 2018

The activities and lectures were really interesting. This is the first course that i started and completed on Coursera. So I'm super excited.

par Sofia G

21 juil. 2017

I really love the course, and I have recommended it to all my friends. The course helped me to think more clearly and avoid cognitive biases.

par Sergey L

11 mai 2020

Brilliant! I constantly felt a great emotional uplift during this course and I am very grateful to Mr. Nisbett for everything that I learned

par Segizbay A

31 juil. 2020

Very informative. Thank you! I would want to come back to this course's lectures from time to time to refresh my knowledge. It is worth it!

par Gianluca A

15 mai 2017

This course is really helpful to start thinking in a critical way.

It open your mind to a new kind of reasoning, a right kind of reasoning.

par Haoming L

25 nov. 2019

Useful course! Dr. Nisbett will quote many cases and examples to help you better understand many interesting concepts and phenomenons.

par Christos G

6 sept. 2017

Excellent collection of mistakes we make during decision making and logical reasoning. A valuable companion for the rest of your life.

par Carlos R G

16 nov. 2021

Well structured course, good timing for the lessons, engaging content and highly relevant. I loved it. Thank you professor Nisbett.

par Vijay S

20 juil. 2020

Great Course

Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice.

par Noemi G

24 mars 2020

I loved every part of this course. Enlightening and easy to follow even for people who never or almost never studied these subjects.

par Anand G

13 juin 2017

Great course. liked the content as it will help in making decision and understand, analyze situations problem in much better light.

par Prisanti P

16 oct. 2020

It's a great course suitable for everyone. The course is often bite-sized and interesting, making you want to learn more and more.

par Trevor M

10 nov. 2021

​A great course that I would recomend to everyone. I am very honoured to have had the chance to take a course from Dr. Nisbett

par Steven B

28 avr. 2019

The course was very informative and paced just right. It was a light introduction to a lot of concepts that all tied together

par Ameer U K

5 mai 2020

An excellent course. A handy worksheet like describing all the principles and a small definition of them would be great too!

par Justin C

21 avr. 2020

Clear lecturing and interesting tests, definitely recommend anyone who would want to think better and make better decisions