Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
11,374 évaluations
3,288 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

EC
26 août 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

LV
30 avr. 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 3,287 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Aember P T G

5 juin 2020

This course has been a valuable primer to any further topic one may or may not struggle to learn next. It develops a foundational attitude for studying anything at all despite one's background. Creative and learning confidence are what anybody can expect to acquire after completing the course.

par Noah

14 janv. 2018

Very useful and insightful. I'm in my 20s and have no idea what to do in my future. This course helped me a lot (as well as the related MOOC "Learning How to Learn") in creating better study skills, increase productivity and rate and efficacy at which I acquire new knowledge. Highly recommend.

par Thananthan

6 août 2020

The course is completely awesome. it enhances my hidden potential and projects in front of my eyes, and helped me to take care of my immersive learning, i really wanted to thank the professeurs for making the topics an interactive one by explaining about how science works within one's brain !

par Monica D

1 juil. 2020

Clear, concise, simple and well paced. This was a pleasant surprise and a good find. If you are frustrated with yourself and think you can't learn anything, this course will help you debunk that myth and give you some tools to understand that you can learn anything you want to. Great MOOC!

par Erick A G

20 mai 2020

Muchas gracias por este hermoso curso. Fue una verdadera experiencia de vida para mí. No sólo aprendí cómo aprender, sino cómo ser una mejor persona. Me enamoré perdidamente de este curso, no sólo por el contenido, sino también por la excelente presentación y producción de éste. ¡Mil gracias!

par Kushwant S

11 sept. 2017

I really enjoyed the the insights I garnered from this course. The scientific explanations as to how the brain functions and affects our learning process was superb. I can't overstate how much I enjoyed this course! This should be the first essential course anyone and everyone should take.

par Tracey-ann

29 janv. 2020

I loved doing this course. It has really opened up my thinking to additional learning. Thank you for opening my eye and my willingness to learn. I too can do this, have always been able to do this and will continue to learn.

I am shortly due to retire but continuous learning is my passion.

par Jamil

27 mai 2018

This course is fantastic. It builds naturally where Learning to Learn leaves off. Dr. Oakley shows us that it's possible for anyone to broaden their passions to learn anything. I've also found in useful in reviewing material from Learning to Learn as some of the concepts are reinforced here.

par Romi V

22 juin 2020

It was helpful to understand how the learning world works. I have a slow learning and I always thought that it was something wrong. I am learning English and sometimes time I feel upset wit myself, but I know now that I need to keep my mind in a good direction and keep myself practicing.

par Gilbert Y

23 mai 2020

The good:

+good speaker

+informative

+entertaining

+short videos (about 6 min or less)

+appropriate clip art

+editing

+optional videos. They're great. Don't skip them because they're labelled "optional."

The bad:

-volume somewhat uneven. Please run all the videos through dynamic range compression.

par Troy H

30 janv. 2021

This course taught me so much on life how things work when it comes to the human mind and how to be creative even when your a slower learner than others. It also taught me how to process information better and what methods to use when you are having a difficult time with specific things.

par Vishal K

28 avr. 2020

Best course taken so far on personal development taught me many new things, such as negative experience can have positive effect on our life, how learning happens and much more, also the instructor is so energetic and motivated so just by listening to her you feel confident and motivated

par Hericka D

15 juin 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and it allowed me to have an instrospection with what I am going through right now. The tips, tricks, and insights provided are very practical and having such as arsenal can help an individual not only in their careers but their lives in general as well.

par Neha R

15 juil. 2020

After taking Learning how to learn I choosed this amazing course. This course boost your confidence by with the central idea of "You can grow much more than think" and how to achieve what we want. Thanks for the most amzing courses @Barbara Oakley. You are one of the best Instructor.

par Noé A G

4 sept. 2017

I find this course excellent, it has helped me a lot mostly on trying to study things I wasn't able to do before and also the way to beat procrastination. Dr. Barbara has thought me nothing is impossible to study no matter what's your age or whether you've studied something different.

par Jason V

7 mai 2017

I love this course. I had taken the 'Learning How to Learn' course as one of the first I had ever done on Coursera and really enjoyed it. This course was very good, as well. The lectures were well done and very useful. Kept the ideas very practical and fun. Excellent job folks!!!

par Stephany G R M

11 sept. 2020

This was a very helpful course that I recommend for everyone, no matter what your career is. If you are new to online learning, this is a great first step. It really helped me get into a learning mindset and open up to new experiences, which I think will be very helpful in my future.

par Zareen T

25 juin 2020

It is an awesome MOOC! I took it at the right time and loved the super energetic instructors. The engaging ways they convey the learning to learners, I am afraid that I will be getting bored when I resume my real-life classes after lockdown. A great course, for learners of every age.

par MAISSA

28 avr. 2020

Great followup to learning how to learn which was my first ever Mooc I took, it was great refresher about some key ideas about learning with many new ones; I've learn about putting a label on a feeling which was groundbreaking for me, also I've learnt about meditation ... and more!!

par Grace C

18 avr. 2018

It is a very interesting, entertaining and full of information with valuable keys to improve in the process of a change of mentality with respect to our careers. With scientific bases they show what is valuable in all our experiences and how useful they are when making life changes.

par Dawn L

3 juin 2017

I loved this course which kept me engaged throughout the course. Learned many things to work on and have more confidence and not feeling like an outsider. Learning if forever lasting. Don't let something new scare you like it did me. I am moving forward in a good way. Thank you!

par Jobanpreet k

2 juin 2020

I think every student and every person who want to know how to use your effectively and fully and how to tackle with troubles and how to be that person who know from where to get help and from where to start should take this course . The mentors are brilliant and too good and best.

par ogunrombi t

15 mai 2020

hello,

Good day to you,

kindly advise,after course completion i was ask to make payment to collect certificate .

A friend completed hers yesterday and she got her certificate without making any payment.

I will appreciate your urgent response.

Thank you.

Taiwo ogunrombi(taik2k5@yahoo.com)

par Ricardo B V

27 avr. 2020

Great, worth the time spent, but you need to make a commitment with yourself to apply what you learned, otherwise, it won't help. It gives good hints and encourages you, since it mentions that many things we see as faults in ourselves aren't really that, and have a possitive side.

par Yelena V

14 janv. 2019

the course gives very practical and useful tips on how to create a mindshift towards learning. it is empowering, motivating and provides advice on making the big decisions in life, such as career choice. overall, I am very satisfied and would recommend this course to everyone.