Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
11,367 évaluations
3,286 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

SM
21 juin 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

DI
30 oct. 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

Filtrer par :

2951 - 2975 sur 3,285 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Luis S B L

8 avr. 2018

It´s an interesting course. You can find things inside you that can help you to live in a better way. You can perceive the things around you in a different way. If you do this course conscientiously you can learn a lot of thing about yourself that you have hidden. Thank you to Barb and Terry for show us these interesting concepts and insights.

par Tyson K

19 déc. 2019

I think if this material and the material from Learning to Learn, the first course before Mindshift, were just one course it would be the best mooc of all time. Alot of the material was repeated from Learning to Learn. Felt as if the course stretched on a little to long, and thats with the course only being four weeks.

par fabrizio f

26 juil. 2017

The course is interesting, well organized and always clear both in the content and in how it is explained.

I found very interesting hints about career planning, and about emotional aspects in changing job/company/mansion.

In some part, in my opinion, there are some repetition of the "Learning how to learn" course.

par Wajeeha K

27 déc. 2018

This was a very refreshing and innovative course. It opened parts of my mind which I didn't even know existed! I'm very fortunate that I could learn from Professor Barbara! The whole course in itself raised my optimism levels generally and I can't wait to start applying this newly gained knowledge in practical world!

par Christine W

31 janv. 2021

A very useful course to understand how to better learn and better teach, encompassing tools and techniques to facilitate learning and understand. A great motivator for everyone to keep on learning, whether for work, self-development or just even fun! Thanks to the teachers for keeping us motivated all along!

par Yohannes R H

23 juin 2020

This is a good course. It gives you a lot of information about how you can change. One interesting point is that our "weakness" sometimes could be our assets we don't realize. There are many aspects you can try that you thing suit you best. Hopefully I could use one for myself as I just completed the course.

par Micheila

29 déc. 2017

Nicely ties in with ideas, concepts, and lessons from Learning How to Learn. Frames the constantly changing world as a positive. Since change is the only constant, we might as well embrace it as an opportunity to broaden our passions, discover new skills, keep the brain young, and keep work life interesting.

par Deleted A

19 sept. 2017

Loved this class. Some important things I learned were to broaden my passions instead of following only one, reading books outside of my field will enrich my main focus by giving me a new perspective in my field, and our minds will continue to be sharp and fresh as long as we learn something new everyday.

par RM

2 juin 2017

Great course. Lots of good ideas for overcoming obstacles to learning. Should be mandatory for college and graduate students, entry-level professionals and senior professionals. I enjoyed listening to and watch Barb. She does a great job of making seemingly unremarkable content interesting. Bravo!

par Jason K

9 mai 2020

I enjoyed doing this course and you can tell the improvement in the quality since LHTL, which I also enjoyed. Barb is always great and explains concepts clearly. I Think Terry has improved a lot since LHTL which is great to see. Content was good and everything connected together well. Thank you!

par Lucia J

3 sept. 2020

In fact I have expected a bit more practical side of the mind shift and this was too theoretical. I knew about half of the presented material so not so mindshifting but I can see how it can help other people that are stuck in their lifes thinking it is too late to learn and achieve something new.

par Katarzyna L

10 août 2020

Overall it was a fun course, I have learned some interesting facts and changed my view of life and my capabilities a little. Good teacher, ingaging videos and funny quizzes. I gave it 4 stars because I expected a little more knowledge, tips, advice, research that could show me really what to do.

par Patrick M G

6 mars 2018

I've kind of already had my "mindshift", but this information is great encouragement. I highly recommend this course for anyone who isn't sure what they might want to do with their life, or someone who feels like their life is in a rut. It will provide new ways for you to view your situation.

par Cristian B

21 juin 2020

I learned a lot in this MOOC mindshift. I confirms my style of learning that to easily learn we need to actively do it. Also to learn new things and prepare for a shift of career in the future. I am looking forward to enroll again in the future.

I will recommend this MOOC to my colleague.

par Carmen C

6 mars 2018

It kinda felt like a review of the first one, and while I learned some new things I did not feel like I learned anywhere close to the same amount as in 'Learning how to learn'.

It is however very motivating and you will certainly take something away from it, it's also very easy to follow.

par Fring F

4 juin 2020

Mindshift is a very productive course & I'll learn & enjoy this course & and this instructor explanation language is very simple and easy to understand to all the topics clearly .....So , thanks to Dear teacher to Design this outstanding course on Coursera .....& Thanks to Coursera

par Karen B

25 avr. 2020

My first course that I have done through Coursera and it has encouraged me to learn more on Coursera. Thank you for letting me take this course as a free one. Very much appreciated . Have learnt ways to shift my mind that can only be positive for me in my life. Thank you.

par Gopinathan K P

27 août 2021

Very useful, but only when its a follow up course after you finish 'Learning how to Learn'. Many good ideas and insights, but the overall experience is that there's something missing! Too much technology and too little content sometimes leaves this sense of dissatisfaction!

par Stephanie P

17 oct. 2020

This course builds a lot off of Learning How to Learn, which is my favorite MOOC taken to date. I recommend completing Learning How to Learn first and then taking Mindshift. Both are very inspirational courses that make me want to keep learning actively throughout my life!

par Maria R

11 juin 2020

The course is very inspirational and insightful, there is a place for further investigation. Probably, It could be slightly improved as now it is pretty simple - it would be nice to go deeper in neuroscience, the building of habits, learning techniques.

Thanks to everyone!

par Manali M

23 avr. 2020

Thank you Barbara!! The course is very useful and made me understand the connection of brain/mind with the emotions in a more practical and scientific manner. Thus, we learned how to tune our brain to have a better mindshift whenever required at any stage of life .

par Claudio P S

21 juin 2020

Overall it was a great course with many hints regarding how to make a mind shift either on the personal side or on the professional side. There were many practical examples as well as real stories for a diverse spectrum of people. I really enjoyed. Thanks a lot

par Parvathy V

14 juil. 2020

I felt that the ideas could have been better structured which could have minimised the number of videos. As there were many short videos, before I could get a sense of the concept itself, the video got over and that didn't leave a good learning effect for me.

par Bassant E R

6 mai 2020

barbara is very very good teacher i have learning more from here she is also creative to give information but i found that terrence use complicated words and speak very fast am not understand well but he talked little number of videos thanks for your effort

par May Y T

15 juil. 2020

Before taking this course, I am lost in passion and reality, not sure which way shall I go. But now, I understand that we shall look at the big picture of society trends but not the current moment, also it is great to have passion even it is very mediocre.