Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
11,785 évaluations
3,406 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

SM

21 juin 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

DI

30 oct. 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

Filtrer par :

3076 - 3100 sur 3,412 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Gopinathan K P

27 août 2021

Very useful, but only when its a follow up course after you finish 'Learning how to Learn'. Many good ideas and insights, but the overall experience is that there's something missing! Too much technology and too little content sometimes leaves this sense of dissatisfaction!

par Stephanie P

17 oct. 2020

This course builds a lot off of Learning How to Learn, which is my favorite MOOC taken to date. I recommend completing Learning How to Learn first and then taking Mindshift. Both are very inspirational courses that make me want to keep learning actively throughout my life!

par Maria R

11 juin 2020

The course is very inspirational and insightful, there is a place for further investigation. Probably, It could be slightly improved as now it is pretty simple - it would be nice to go deeper in neuroscience, the building of habits, learning techniques.

Thanks to everyone!

par Manali M

23 avr. 2020

Thank you Barbara!! The course is very useful and made me understand the connection of brain/mind with the emotions in a more practical and scientific manner. Thus, we learned how to tune our brain to have a better mindshift whenever required at any stage of life .

par Claudio P S

21 juin 2020

Overall it was a great course with many hints regarding how to make a mind shift either on the personal side or on the professional side. There were many practical examples as well as real stories for a diverse spectrum of people. I really enjoyed. Thanks a lot

par Parvathy V

14 juil. 2020

I felt that the ideas could have been better structured which could have minimised the number of videos. As there were many short videos, before I could get a sense of the concept itself, the video got over and that didn't leave a good learning effect for me.

par Bassant E R

6 mai 2020

barbara is very very good teacher i have learning more from here she is also creative to give information but i found that terrence use complicated words and speak very fast am not understand well but he talked little number of videos thanks for your effort

par May Y T

15 juil. 2020

Before taking this course, I am lost in passion and reality, not sure which way shall I go. But now, I understand that we shall look at the big picture of society trends but not the current moment, also it is great to have passion even it is very mediocre.

par Christian M F

29 avr. 2018

The course has allowed me to optimize my learning tools and motivate myself in the use of new technologies. It is the continuity of the saga of Learning how to learn with better audiovisual resources and the experience gained in the first developed course.

par Khin T S

16 août 2021

The previous four weeks had been a really wonderful mindshift for me. The concepts and tricks learnt from this can really apply for our daily life problems. If you haven't taken this one, you should try this. It would worth your time. Happy Mindshift!

par Cheng R

9 déc. 2019

The course gave me more guiding for learning experiences. As a love learner, I can participate learning even I have job and kids. I can review lesson as many times as I can and I can stop when I am busy at work then restart my class again. It is perfect.

par Alfred G

1 juil. 2020

Visual effects and music need work on. Distracting. ie the staff having tools and don't know quite how to use them appropriately to move script forward. Trying out new toys. Too bad not up to extraordinary talent of the co-teachers. Please re-do.

par Pamela M

30 mai 2017

Loved the course. It was a great experience as my first completed MOOC. It was however, a little easier than I expected to complete. I absolutely loved the Memory Tip videos. Would have been great to have some take home articles, references, etc.

par Pavan K

21 juin 2020

Last week was a bit boring. I feel it talks a lot about MOOCs which is unnecessarily. The other weeks were amazing. Learning about Focused and diffused mode, how to approach learning new skills and what benefits they can give us was really good.

par Fabio P

11 mai 2020

I really liked this course. It's filled with interesting and useful tips on how the mind work as well as how we can leverage the natural human inclinations and brain functionalities to expand beyond our daily rut into a broader self. Or career.

par Ashraf M A S

1 juin 2018

The course aims as boosting your confidence in learning through reframing personal weaknesses into assets. It does a very good job in convincing you about that. It also offers a number of useful tips and concepts based on scientific evidence.

par Nadir C

1 août 2017

As far as the promise of the course goes, it delivered on it.

Easy to follow, and get through, insightful, fun, and most of all helpful and relevant.

Will leave you with a zeal to learn, and some useful tips and hacks to go down that route.

par Carlos A d M

2 juin 2017

The course topics are very interesting and enlightening. I got good results and the expectation that I had regarding the course was overcome. I liked it a lot and I am adopting the philosophy of constant learning for the rest of my life.

par Lorena S O Z

11 juil. 2022

It is a simple course where some well-known tricks are given to learn how to pomodoro, eliminate distractions. It also makes you want to continue learning with online courses and reading. They are short videos and with a nice voice.

par Kousay a

25 avr. 2017

This is an important course for your own personal development. Personal and professional challenges have to be dealt with effectively and rationally . Take this course and enjoy new ideas and techniques for developing yourself.

par Bryan E

26 août 2017

Builds on the material from the 'Learning to Learn' course. The crucial message of lifelong learning in view of personal and professional lives is worth exploring especially since people don't pay a lot of attention to it.

par Shubham S P

25 mars 2021

This MOOC is what it title says. It does change your thought pattern and brings a major mind shift. It can give you new opportunities on your career as well as on your life. Most recommended for a major push on your life

par Nabil J

27 juin 2020

I gained many interesting insights from this course. I must also praise the great communicative skills of the facilitator (Mrs. Barbara). I highly recommend this course to those starting or continuing a path or learning.

par Tatsiana S

11 févr. 2019

Thanks for a good job! Although, the first course "Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects" was more interesting, contains more research data, more interviews with great scientists.

par N P

10 sept. 2020

I enjoyed this course. Overall learnt useful tips to train the brain to keep learning new things. it's ok to be slow learner but actively practice. Some topics were a technical and a bit of challenge to understand them.