Chevron Left
Retour à Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential par Université McMaster

4.8
étoiles
11,723 évaluations
3,391 avis

À propos du cours

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Meilleurs avis

EC

26 août 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

LV

30 avr. 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 3,394 Avis pour Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

par Letty F

8 août 2020

I really enjoyed this class. I liked how it was explained and examples were provided. Great stories about others experiences. Her voice was pleasant and calm. I recommend this course if you are trying to learn more about your purpose and activities one can do to find what you are successful in.

par Jo L

18 nov. 2020

I really love Barb and Terry as instructors, I watch with subtitles because I am hard of hearing and the lessons are still captivating. Great information presented with an authentic passion for the lessons. I took Learning How to Learn before this class and can't wait for their next offering!

par Rocielle H N

14 nov. 2020

For those who want to upgrade and improve themselves, this course is a must. Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski breaks down components and gives them in bite-sized, consumable videos.

It is both educational and entertaining. Thank you, Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski!

par Andrea

9 sept. 2020

This was a great course! It was very straightforward, well-designed, and highly informative. The overall delivery was tight as well as the visual tools utilized to aid instruction. As a person who truly sees the potential in online learning, I do wish more courses would be designed in this way.

par JASMEET K

27 août 2020

It has been a pleasure, being a part of this amazing process of learning how to Mindshift and breaking through all the hindrances in your path. Four weeks later, I totally see myself standing with a new vision in Life. Thank You for this beautiful experience Dr. Barbara, Dr. Terrence and Scott!

par Ratchaphon M

24 juin 2020

Super inspirational! Thank you for modeling me for continually making a mindshift. Your comment 'DON'T FOLLOW YOUR PASSION, EXTEND YOUR PASSION' truly boosts my spirit up since I've been a bit low from my current work.

Thank you for your positivity, creativity, and ambition!

LOVE from Thailand...

par Guillermo

15 avr. 2020

Very motivating and practical. Totally would recommend if you are feeling in a dead end in your career, it shows a very positive message that is everybody is able to do almost everything, plus gives you practical tips con how to achieve it. Definitely not a boring, theoretical or specific MOOC.

par Roberta S

14 avr. 2020

This course was a breath of fresh air. I loved how positive yet practical BO was. I am looking at a career change and this was just what I needed to pursue this further. The structure was simple yet tight, even if done from her basement. I also appreciated how she shared her own personal story.

par Yujin L

26 juin 2018

i was not sure if i wanted to take this course at first. that's because the instructor used overly animated tone which turned me off. however, her positive energy kept me going. great content. i would highly recommend this to anyone who seeks for inspirations and strategies for personal growth.

par Mariana A Q

28 mars 2021

I really loved it.

After I read "Learn how to learn", I found this course looking up at Barbara and thought "why no?" -best decision in my last years! A Mindishift was just what I needed to change my thinking and to revalue my options and goals. Thanks a lot for the insignies at both teachers!

par Barbara M

16 déc. 2020

this was my very first MOOC that I had opportunity to participate in during a slow down time at work due to the pandemic. I really enjoyed the short videos and quizzes with visuals to help me learn. I'm inspired to take more MOOC's and hope they are as high a quality as this was. Thank you!

par Aember P T G

5 juin 2020

This course has been a valuable primer to any further topic one may or may not struggle to learn next. It develops a foundational attitude for studying anything at all despite one's background. Creative and learning confidence are what anybody can expect to acquire after completing the course.

par Noah

14 janv. 2018

Very useful and insightful. I'm in my 20s and have no idea what to do in my future. This course helped me a lot (as well as the related MOOC "Learning How to Learn") in creating better study skills, increase productivity and rate and efficacy at which I acquire new knowledge. Highly recommend.

par Thananthan

6 août 2020

The course is completely awesome. it enhances my hidden potential and projects in front of my eyes, and helped me to take care of my immersive learning, i really wanted to thank the professeurs for making the topics an interactive one by explaining about how science works within one's brain !

par Monica D

1 juil. 2020

Clear, concise, simple and well paced. This was a pleasant surprise and a good find. If you are frustrated with yourself and think you can't learn anything, this course will help you debunk that myth and give you some tools to understand that you can learn anything you want to. Great MOOC!

par Erick A G

20 mai 2020

Muchas gracias por este hermoso curso. Fue una verdadera experiencia de vida para mí. No sólo aprendí cómo aprender, sino cómo ser una mejor persona. Me enamoré perdidamente de este curso, no sólo por el contenido, sino también por la excelente presentación y producción de éste. ¡Mil gracias!

par Kushwant S

11 sept. 2017

I really enjoyed the the insights I garnered from this course. The scientific explanations as to how the brain functions and affects our learning process was superb. I can't overstate how much I enjoyed this course! This should be the first essential course anyone and everyone should take.

par Tracey-ann

29 janv. 2020

I loved doing this course. It has really opened up my thinking to additional learning. Thank you for opening my eye and my willingness to learn. I too can do this, have always been able to do this and will continue to learn.

I am shortly due to retire but continuous learning is my passion.

par Jamil

27 mai 2018

This course is fantastic. It builds naturally where Learning to Learn leaves off. Dr. Oakley shows us that it's possible for anyone to broaden their passions to learn anything. I've also found in useful in reviewing material from Learning to Learn as some of the concepts are reinforced here.

par Romi V

22 juin 2020

It was helpful to understand how the learning world works. I have a slow learning and I always thought that it was something wrong. I am learning English and sometimes time I feel upset wit myself, but I know now that I need to keep my mind in a good direction and keep myself practicing.

par Gilbert Y

23 mai 2020

The good:

+good speaker

+informative

+entertaining

+short videos (about 6 min or less)

+appropriate clip art

+editing

+optional videos. They're great. Don't skip them because they're labelled "optional."

The bad:

-volume somewhat uneven. Please run all the videos through dynamic range compression.

par Troy H

30 janv. 2021

This course taught me so much on life how things work when it comes to the human mind and how to be creative even when your a slower learner than others. It also taught me how to process information better and what methods to use when you are having a difficult time with specific things.

par Vishal K

28 avr. 2020

Best course taken so far on personal development taught me many new things, such as negative experience can have positive effect on our life, how learning happens and much more, also the instructor is so energetic and motivated so just by listening to her you feel confident and motivated

par Hericka D

15 juin 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and it allowed me to have an instrospection with what I am going through right now. The tips, tricks, and insights provided are very practical and having such as arsenal can help an individual not only in their careers but their lives in general as well.

par Neha R

15 juil. 2020

After taking Learning how to learn I choosed this amazing course. This course boost your confidence by with the central idea of "You can grow much more than think" and how to achieve what we want. Thanks for the most amzing courses @Barbara Oakley. You are one of the best Instructor.