Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
2,016 évaluations
623 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Meilleurs avis

RD

31 juil. 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

2 juin 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Filtrer par :

501 - 525 sur 612 Avis pour Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

par Aurora G V

15 août 2017

Me gustó

par Roberto R

7 août 2016

excelent

par Aleksey D

15 juin 2016

Awesome!

par Ashrak A A S

25 févr. 2021

perfect

par Aida B S H

15 août 2019

Lovely!

par Prasanna P

10 sept. 2018

Great!

par Mónica A G G

3 févr. 2018

Great!

par Medhat A

9 janv. 2017

thanks

par Silvia H

9 févr. 2021

Great

par Aare H 1

1 juin 2020

nice

par Monica J

17 mai 2020

Nice

par Ko S

11 nov. 2018

GREA

par Wilma J

18 juin 2017

P

par Yoo M

15 févr. 2017

T

par Danielle R

14 mars 2017

I really enjoyed the course and in particular, the professor teaching it. I would have liked to spend more time in assimilating the information and to have some in video quizzes to help clarify and solidify the course content. One gets out of it what they put into it. For those who do not have a lot of time to spend on peer reviewed submissions, this was an excellent option. I am going to review all of the lectures again because I think it is important to retain new information and my 'working' memory is currently impaired. That said, I did not engage in the discussions and will have to do so after the fact. I absolutely loved the use of movies as a vehicle to learn about the course content and to better understand the differences in mild cognitive deficits versus the various stages of dementia. Overall, I really enjoyed the course and would gladly build on what I have taken away from it

par AISHWARYA A

27 oct. 2019

Dear Prof. Seamon,

This course was a very concise and basic guide to understanding memory and I believe it is a good start for anyone, even without a scientific or biological background knowledge. I had a good learning experience and I also came across many interesting movies through this. I also realized how movies shape the common man's understanding of memory and the associated problems and sometimes it can be misleading. However, this was a good experience and i would like to thank you for the course.

Thank you, hope to learn more from you in future courses.

Best regards,

Aishwarya Aravamudhan

par Leslie S

21 avr. 2021

Very good and informational course. I learned more about memory than I knew and have a different appreciation for the movies chosen to represent various topics within the course.

It would be nice if we could discuss various aspects of the course with the instructor and/or others especially in relation to experiences we have in our daily lives.

Also would be nice if the correct answers were available. I found some answers didn't work even though I thought I was taking them from course notes.

thank you for a very good course and well organized instructor

par Kate

7 août 2016

I enjoyed Professor Seamon's lectures and I also enjoyed his book. While you do not need to purchase the book, it is well written and really helpful and interesting. Professor Seamon has an endearing and personal style which makes the material come to life. The movie selection was excellent and helped reinforce many of the technical definitions about memory. I feel the quizzes could have been a little more challenging. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

par Zhenni L

19 mai 2019

The course did a great job introducing various aspects of memory via movies and it was extremely fun to learn. The only reason that I didn't give a rate of 5 stars is the course was rather "easier" than I expected. It is suitable for people who want to get to know how memory works but don't want to get lost in professional terms of psychology or neural science. Overall, I recommend it!

par Zehra E

28 mars 2021

This course teached me how to understand mind. How it works and save moments, experiences sometimes how it forget. Episodic memory results, semantic memory experiences showed how we got next and have unforgettable moments. Now, watchin movies got another aim. Involve yourself through try to understand and get some details. This course showed up our brain is lifelong learner.

par subhash b k

14 janv. 2018

I liked the way instructor speaks and explains. If you want to learn about the psychology of memory its great. But you if want to learn how to apply that knowledge to benefit yourself (like me) the course does not dwell into that much. It is enjoyable, but most of the course content goes into semantic memory except for the movie clippings which go into the episodic memory!

par Vee

2 avr. 2017

Movies were very interesting and planning to watch all of them with new perspective.

Wish the summaries and important texts in the lecture was available as slides helping for quick review and recall.

The same constant tone of voice made it difficult to keep awake and focus on the content

Wished for more reading material each week rather than same book link.

par Jennie J

28 déc. 2019

Very interesting and important learning. The teacher is very pleasant and easy to follow. I learned a lot. The quizzes were a bit challenging due to so many new terms (good for my brain). However I do believe that some dimensia can be reversed as a Holistic Practitioner and MDs haven't caught up to that.

par Laia G T

29 oct. 2016

I think there is not enough scientific facts, I expected some more information about the molecular basis of Alzheimer disease and memory in general. However, I enjoyed the course and I would recommend it, it is very good explained and through the movies you can feel aproximately what these people feel.

par Max C

20 août 2020

Though as a current undergraduate psychology student, I already knew or heard of much of what the professor taught regarding memory, the connections made to films helped solidify these concepts and information for me, as someone who is also interested in the study of film production and analysis.