Chevron Left
Retour à Neurosciences médicales

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Neurosciences médicales par Université Duke

4.9
étoiles
2,436 évaluations
717 avis

À propos du cours

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Meilleurs avis

MG

14 janv. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT

21 nov. 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 714 Avis pour Neurosciences médicales

par Pham Q T

25 déc. 2016

This advanced-level course was designed carefully and clearly, so i think it's the best choice for those who's interested in medical neuroscience. However, learning through 13 weeks could dampen anyone who's just a beginner in this field, especially who is not native english speaker like me. Because there are many terms and knowledge to remember, then to coordinate and to express them again so that everybody could get the points. Even sometimes i found myself unable to extract my ideas in spite of understanding what's going on in discussions. At last, I wish prof. White and his partners a healthy and happy life :). It's really a nice work!

par Keely N L

16 mars 2020

This course wasn't easy but I was so happy to be challenged intellectually. I majored in psychological science for my undergrad degree and I found this course exceedingly helpful as I'm in a public health field combatting addiction through a SAMHSA grant program. The other topics reinforced what I learned so much about my major for undergrad and why I love studying the brain. I found the lessons around neuronal development and transmission to be more helpful than what I learned in school. This is a great course for those who like to be challenged and are very curious in brain science.

par Inés K

25 mai 2020

Great course that helped me to gain more in-depth knowledge on brain structures and made me review a lot of what I had already read about this subject. I especially enjoyed the parts about neuroanatomy and would have appreciated even more detailed presentation and more revision.

The Purves 6th edition is very helpful (actually, it's a must), and the Sinauer website (which I had no access to) is also to be recommended.

Len White explains things very well and makes the course come alive. I was looking forward to listening to him every morning. I might 'revisit' to enhance my LTP :-)

par Eric P

12 févr. 2020

The content was very interesting and I would like to thank Professor Leonard E. White for his valuable time and clear explaining of the functional organisation and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system. In the early stages I wasn't so passionated about some topics (because I did not know about them), but overall it is a very complete course which will definitely help you for your professional career but also personal development and help your relatives on all sorts of topics ranging from neurological diseases to prevention and drug use/addiction. Thank you again.

par Daviid K

1 sept. 2016

Thank you very much Mr. White and team. The course is a really jewel. Mr White broadly shows different pathways and amplitudes about our brain and it composition in many aspects: biologic, anatomic, physiologic, cognitive. Indeed it is a complete and unique class. Also Mr White teach all this complex stuff with extraordinary quality in different scenarios: lab, room, his house, in a forest, unfolding new approaches. However the quizzes are very very hard and detailed but they inspire our study. Best regards from Brasil, and thank you again, Mr White, his team and Coursera.

par Valdor K

5 janv. 2019

Doctor White and his team are a bunch of heroes, giving people like me a chance to learn they would never have in their lifetime. I want to send all of them my thanks and ensure them of my heartfelt gratitude. I for one will not allow such a magestic effort go to waste and I am certain that the knowledge that doctor White has imparted me will aid me in diagnosing and alleviating the pain of future patients I will have (lest some tragic incident might find me, God forbid). I swear to remember the kindness of my teacher so I might repay the world in kind one day. Thank You.

par Bapi N

7 avr. 2021

It is very very important and wonderful course.when study I think what know? Nothing.but it's very Verse. This type of course need 1-2 years minimum,and I think need reverse option, because medical science unlimited and particularly neuroscience is big ship. It's unbelievable Prof White explain this (every chapter) like drinking water.he isa best Captain of this Ship,in individual I salute and respect him.i salute to Coursera for giving us a easy chance to learn ABCD about Medical Neuroscience.before this I know something.

With thanks and regards. Bapi Nath.

par Addisu A Z

8 août 2021

first of all, i wouid like to thank you professor Leonard E.White for teaching me medical neuroscience. the way of teaching is so brilliant. After i start learning by professor LeonardE.White, i get good knowledge about medical neuroscience. since the lecturing is support with both practical lab and theoretical explanation. once you start learning medical neuroscience, you will be motivated to know more about the complex structure brain. thank you coursera for offering such amazing lecture through online . i have great appreciation to professor White.

par Aiden H

23 déc. 2017

With absolutely no background in biology or anatomy, I was able to follow this exceedingly well-designed course and do extremely well on quizzes and exams. It was a HUGE amount of work (~10 hours/day, 7 days/week) due to my lack of relevant background, which only makes my successful completion that much more rewarding. Everyone should take this course. If people grokked what a magnificent organism they are, I think there would be a lot less self-abuse, chemical dependency, ... I think Duke should consider designing a curriculum for grade school and high school.

par Lisa B

8 juil. 2020

This is a challenging course requiring a significant time commitment (I kept seeing recommendation of 16-20 hours per week, maybe less depending on your background). It is supposed to provide content on par with a medical school or a graduate health profession (e.g. physical therapy) neuroscience course. Dr. White is a great instructor--his kind demeanor counterbalances the somewhat overwhelming content of the course. You will end up pulling all the material together for the final to diagnose patient cases. Overall, a very rewarding course!

par Fadhel B A

10 juil. 2017

An amazing journey through the world of medical neuroscience. A captivating lecturer and a well structured course which can only lead to one outcome: increase in knowledge and sense of curiosity to learn more about the fascinating life of our neurostructures.

Thank you Dr. White and many thanks to the whole team for making this very complex matter accessible to everyone. I hope others will considered the completion of the course as the beginning of a pleasant "pathway" through more discoveries of the most complex organ of the human body.

par DR P R R

26 déc. 2020

Good Day to all.

Medical Neuroscience is a well-structured course for medical graduates and faculty who wants to perceive a better understanding of the current research and concept of the Central nervous system.

It's a difficult subject, but explained in a most simplified way and make you engaged, enjoy, and aware of never facts and trend in neuroscience.

I am happy to be a part of this course and looking forward to more advanced courses at duke university.

All my best wishes to Dr. Leo and his team.

Happy Christmas and happy new year!

par Kalnina

26 déc. 2019

I took this course to challenge my brain after chemotherapy and during radiotherapy. Not sure if that helped my learning as the retention of the information was affected! But it did help to clarify some aspects, especially as I had some understanding of basic neurology from my previous extensive studies in physical activity and consciousness.

The course is very well laid out and masterfully delivered, and packed with information.

The level said "advanced", and I found that accurate.

Thank you very much for this amazing experience!

par Andy W

5 janv. 2017

As a current medical student, Medical Neuroscience here on Coursera really equipped me to perform well in my studies in our school's neuro course. I really appreciated the concise yet thorough lectures from Dr. White throughout the course. I HIGHLY recommend this course to anyone interested in the brain and especially those students enrolled in a neuro course in their current studies. This course supplemented my regular class lectures and assignments very well and helped me to master the content much more efficiently and smoothly!

par Dr. V S

3 mars 2020

It's been an emotional and a great great learning experience through out the course. I must express my gratitude, my vote of thanks and many more... i think words are bit small to express this emotions. and now my amygdala is unable to process this. So with a deep sense of satisfaction i want to thank from bottom of my heart to Prof. Dr. White. Your teaching skills are fabulous.

Hopefully, in future you and your team from duke university will develop "Neuropathology and Neuropharmacology" courses.

Eagerly waiting for the same...

par Nataliya Z

19 déc. 2020

Thank you for the most inspiring learning experience since theoretical physics, which I learned some 30 years ago. I enrolled into this course with near zero knowledge of medicine, anatomy and biology and was stunned at first by the complexity of the material. However, the great teacher and the organization of the course helped me to finish it and earn a certificate, though it was really a complicated challenge. I never thought I would spend many hours of research for exams and get so much joys of discoveries. Thank you all!

par Khoa M

26 févr. 2021

It has been a very wonderful course. This definitely gave me a head start to my university's Neuroscience course! I'd really like to thank Dr. Leonard White and his wonderful team for the perfect delivery of this course!

If I'd suggest one thing, maybe the quizzes in this course could give us a bit more feedback after submission of the quizzes, instead of hiding all the options and just revealing "correct" or "wrong". In that way, I may know what I could improve on, etc.

Otherwise, it's been great. Once again, thanks!

par John W C

6 nov. 2021

Excellent course one of the best that I have ever taken. While medical neuroscience was difficult and complex (a core concept), Dr. White and his team facilitated learning through solid pedological methods and principles. An excellent textbook, supporting web sites and having us apply neuroscience cognitive learning principles such as visualizing the anatomy including through drawing, verbalizing the learnings and finally applying the learning to challenging clinical cases made this course a success. Thank you.

par Jyotirmay S

8 août 2017

A fantastic course that is very detailed and also very organised. The tutor, Professor White, is excellent at his job and does the task of explaining and tutoring very good. The study material support for the course is superb as well as the learning community and the discussion forums of great help.

The course has proven to be a very unique and useful opportunity for me and I will definitely suggest it to anyone interested in venturing into neuroscience either as a career or even just for knowledge basis.

par Martin H

4 mars 2021

This course was exceptional. Content wise, it is easily on par with university courses and is the most detailed course I have taken so far on Coursera. Dr. White was a great instructor and explained complex concepts very clearly. The additional resources provided through the Medical Neuroscience website was a great study tool that significantly supplemented my learning of this course. Overall, I learned a lot, and I think Medical Neuroscience was put together very well and taught by a great professor.

par Harald F

16 sept. 2020

This is indeed one of the best courses so far (and I have done quite a few). Clearly explained, thorough, lots of brain examples, models, focusses on the anatomy, (electro-)chemical operation and deals with many topic in depth. The topic of illnesses of the mind is in comparison somewhat less prominent, probably also due to size and length constraints of the course. I find this course very well worth the effort, and effort it will take indeed. Kudos to you Dr Leonard White for having made this !

par Ioannis C

19 sept. 2020

The best on-line educational program i've ever attained. I would say tha was even better compared to other courses i have attained in classroom. Professor White is a true neurophilosopher, extremely articulated and very admirable for his knoweledge and his communicative abilities. I really enjoyed this journey (although quite difficult for my background) and i will certainly follow other similar programms by Duke University. Thank you so much for this invaluable journey in knowledge.

par Hagar T

1 juin 2020

Excellent course. Apt also for begginners, but only people who have time and are willing to put all of their efforts and motivation into it. Dr. Leonard White is very patient, explains things very well. I would do the course again in order to review everything, as I am sure it would prove useful. Very interesting and motivating discussion prompts. Only downside is that in the tests, once we have passed, I would allow to see the answers. This would further enhance learning, I believe.

par 懷 顥

4 janv. 2020

I wish I could have studied medical neuroscience on coursera 5 years ago, when I was struggling with the neuroscience contents that our medical school teachers provided me with. Prof. White is definitely awesome in teaching. These difficult material are illustrated and connected throughout the course. Well-designed study questions help me consolidate the knowledge and gain insight. Thanks to Prof. White and all the staff, I really had a wonderful time learning medical neuroscience!

par Susan M T R

29 janv. 2018

Muchas gracias por compartir su sabiduría conmigo mediante esta plataforma, debido a que no cuento los recursos económicos suficientes; sin embargo, quiero aprender porque me fascina el mundo del cerebro y la psicología. Este curso para mi es un reto, en primer lugar por el idioma (soy peruana) y en segundo lugar porque la calidad de profesores y materiales trasciende mis expectativas. Muchas gracias profesor White y a todo el equipo, son muy simpáticos, divertidos y sabios.