Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Programming with MATLAB par Université Vanderbilt

4.8
étoiles
11,965 évaluations
3,251 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Meilleurs avis

DA

Jun 06, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB

Jun 24, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 3,205 Avis pour Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

par Jitendra V

Apr 09, 2020

A very well designed course for beginners. This course takes you from the very basic to a stage where you will be able to instruct a computer to solve iterative problems or at least you will be able to counter them on your own, thanks to MATLAB documentation. The Assignments are very well designed and those at the end of the course are very challenging (well.... at least to me for being a beginner) which encourages you to explore and built algorithms in MATLAB on your own. Thanks for providing this valuable course.

par Khoa d

Jul 03, 2020

Loved this course. I was really put off of Matlab programming during college because I couldn't understand anything my professor was saying in terms of the functionality. While the explanations in these videos can feel like they are unnecessarily detailed, it was those details that filled in all of the gaps left by my previous professors. If I had videos like this while taking my college coursework, I could have been doing amazing things in Matlab by now. Thank you for putting this course together the way you did!

par A. S M S H

Mar 10, 2020

This course is thoughtfully designed and carefully structured so as to provide a through concept as well as first-hand experience of coding to any level of learners, especially the beginners. I myself had been introduced to and using MATLAB for some time now, but this course has redefined my idea about MATLAB about using it as an object-oriented numerical programming tool. Furthermore, I gained insight into the professional scriptwriting style and documentation both inside and outside of MATLAB built-in functions.

par Abedeera J S P N

Nov 23, 2017

The best course which I would recommend for any of beginners in programming with MATLAB. Though i had little experience in MATLAB while I am completing my M.Sc. course work, there I did not get an opportunity to learn the basic stuff. I had the thought of filling the gaps in my knowledge and followed the course. Actually, I learnt a lot and to the best level which anyone can have knowledge of the basics. Thank you Coursera and Vanderbilt university. Special thanks goes to chief instructor Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick.

par KHALEEL U R K

Apr 13, 2020

This course covers all the basic knowledge you need to start programming in Matlab. This is an introductory course. It will definitely lay a strong foundation in Matlab. All the assignments are on a range of easy to moderate. I found the last three assignments a bit tricky and time-consuming. The instructors and support staff all are doing a fantastic job. The support staff is active and helps us during the course. I took this course before taking a Matlab course at my institute and it proved to be very helpful.

par Tianyi S

Aug 29, 2019

I greatly enjoy my time taking the course, and the professor's way of explaining the MATLAB codes throughout the course is good (esp. of his cold jokes lol). I cannot imagine that I registered the course during the first sem of my freshman year, and now I am entering into my final year of my college study. I cannot think of any better examples of how my procrastination is always switched on. But anyways, thanks to coursera and many thanks to the instructors. I hope that I can finish my other courses on coursera.

par Vignesh B

May 09, 2020

Prof.J. Michael Fitzpatrick is certainly one of the most engaging instructor and I'd straight up recommend this online course to anyone who not only aims at learning Matlab but also having a fun interaction with the course staffs who are kind enough to sit all day on queries and questions. I'd give a 6 star if I was handed an option just for how the course videos were produced and compiled and yes, I did tear a bit at the tail end of the course since prof.mike was an integral part of my routine the past month.

par DRIPTA D

Nov 09, 2018

I was looking for a basic course on Matlab for a long time until I came across this one on Coursera. For every beginner who wants to learn Matlab, this is where you should start. Well paced course, with attention to minute details that would help every novice to not only learn how to code but more importantly how to avoid bugs. The difficulty of assignments rise gradually, which again is a sign of how amazingly this course has been designed. Kudos and thanks to the team of Coursera and Vanderbilt University !!

par Huanglei P

Jun 08, 2017

The course is well organized, and the instructor gives nice lecture and clear examples. The mentors are very conscientious and helpful, when I met troubles in homework and put them on the forum, the mentors answered my questions very quickly, which surprised me a lot! Some assignments in homework did struggle me for a long time, but when I finally solved the problems , I was ravished with joy just like completing levels in games! In a word, I really enjoy the process of programming with MATLAB in this course.

par Eric B

Jul 02, 2019

I've used Matlab for over 20 years, but I have never really tried to program with it. Truth is, I haven't really tried my hand at any programming after my first course in programming (C++). If I had taken a course taught like this one, I might be a programmer today! The lectures are entertaining and interesting, and the assignments are difficult enough that you have to do research (well, I did), which I believe is appropriate for a course like this. Than you for helping this old dog learn a few new tricks!

par Dhilip K

May 15, 2020

A very good course especially for beginners like me who don't know anything about the computer science the other computer science languages. And I loved the course so much. Thanks to the Professors for making the course in the easier way. And also Thanks to Instructor Brandon sir who helped me to find out the mistakes made by me. Because of this course I have planned to do more courses related to Matlab and now I'm interested in learning other CS languages. And now I'm confident in Matlab. Cheers!!

par Sumit P

Apr 17, 2020

Very informative course. although I was using Matlab since last six months the course has added learned lot of concepts in my programming knowledge.

I have a suggestion as I'm a undergraduate mechanical engineering student, I use matlab for subjects like Numerical methods,CFD,FEM. So if you ca start a course on use of matlab in such streams it would be very helpful for students like me.

Thank you Mike fitzpatrick (your teaching style is awesome!!) and Brandon Armstrong for helping me throughout the course

par Yifan Z

Nov 03, 2017

I had used Matlab for my other courses before I signed up for this course, so I came with a little background of Matlab to this course, with the purpose of solidifying what I knew about Matlab. To my surprise, this course has taught me a lot of concepts that I've never encountered before! And I like this course especially because they provide their answers to each question. It is so helpful to learn how to write neat code from others. The discussion forums are helpful too! I wish you enjoy this course!

par TEJAS M

Mar 23, 2019

I had no prior knowledge of MATLAB , and was in search of a basic course for the same.One of my friend referred me this course and showed me few of the videos .The teaching style instantly attracted me and in no time here i am enrolled for the course.There is no one in this whole world who can teach better for this particular course other than the one in the video.I am like super satisfied by the course and thank you for your hard work put in to make us learn MATLAB with ease.Lots of love from INDIA.

par Junda L

Dec 19, 2016

Excellent course for the introduction to programming and MATLAB! The lecture is great and explains clearly though sometime it is a little boring. It covert a lot of details about MATLAB than the workshop taken at my home university.

The disscusion forum is one of the best I have experienced at Coursera. The reply by mentors is so quick to make the discussion forum really helpful.

The assignment is easy at first but it is a bit challenging in the end.

All in all , I strongly recommend this course.

par Justin L

Jan 06, 2020

Very enjoyable, after finishing this course I am much more familiar with how to program in MATLAB, and feel confident that I can achieve anything I want to do with it. The course starts off gently, but gets relatively steep in difficulty towards the end. The lead instructor had a dry but funny sense of humour which helped me stay alert whilst learning, and the staff in the forums were very helpful. If you want to learn a bit about programming and/or learn MATLAB, this course is excellent!

par Indranil G

Jun 20, 2020

I was a newbie to programming before this course. I took my time, re-enrolled several times in a time-span of 2 years and finally completed this course. I didn't delay completion because of lethargy, but because I was using MATLAB for my Masters thesis research, and hence learnt the skills when I needed them. It was fantastic! Professor Fitzpatrick has a very good sense of humor while his excellent grip on programming is apparent. I'm extremely grateful for this resource! Much love <3

par Jignesh P

May 31, 2020

Vanderbilt University and Coursera has offered a great opportunity to students who are interested in gaining an additional software skills. If you are a newly learner regarding computer applications, such a kind of will lead you to grasp the skill. On the other hand, MATLAB is a newly developed programming language used to solve numerical problems in technical world. Lastly, I would like to thank Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick for teaching the course very swiftly and making me a MATLAB nerd.

par David M C

Mar 12, 2017

Curso muy bien estructurado, con aprendizaje progresivo hasta obtener un nivel bastante elevado en las últimas semanas.

Los vídeos son amenos a la vez que útiles aunque los ejercicios son la base del aprendizaje de este curso.

Lo recomendaría a cualquier perfil cientifico-técnico que vaya a utilizar MATLAB a diario.

Aviso: los problemas requieren de conocimiento matemático notable, por lo que si flojeas en este ámbito te costará bastante resolver los problemas en el tiempo estimado.

par Mihir G

May 13, 2020

This was my first course on Coursera & I can say those 9 weeks were worth it ! The syntax of MATLAB and its various inbuilt functions were explained clearly by Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick. The assignments were relevant with a gradual increase of toughness towards the end. File I/O O/P functions couldv'e been explained a bit more in my opinion but overall it was a fantastic experience. I would like to thank Coursera and Vanderbilt University for making it available to us . Thank you.

par Mahmoosh A

Jul 07, 2020

It was an awesome journey, learning was made very easy and step by step counseling of Mike Fitzpatrick made it really interesting and programming with MATLAB was made enjoyable by him. I would thank VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY for giving a free course in such pandemic condition so that the time at home was made fruitful and help in improving MATLAB programming with the help of assignments and also provided their solutions so that i have multi concepts of solving a single problem

par Binay C

Feb 23, 2017

This is one of the best courses I have done so far. I am thankful to the entire team of Vanderbilt university and Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick for such an amazing course. The course content, delivery and specially Grader has been designed in a beautiful way that kept me moving with the flow and motivated me to complete all assignments. Hats off to Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick and entire team.

Request you to please come up with course on Advance Matlab programming and Simulink as well.

par Olajide O A

Aug 24, 2020

I used to think MATLAB was strictly for engineering calculations (cos that's all I ever used it for in my undergraduate years), but this course has indeed shown me that there is so much more MATLAB can do. Professor Fitzpatrick's approach to teaching it is also makes it so exciting and easy to follow. This course has piqued the interest of the otherwise unwilling programmer in me. I am really glad it came my way, and I most definitely will be taking the sequel courses.

par Lennart B

Apr 02, 2019

For me this was an excellent start using Matlab. The content was presented very concise and clear. The grading system is very nice and the homework assignments did match the increasing knowledge. Overall I really enjoyed this course and would therefor rate it excellent! Thanks to everyone how helped making this course possible.

If I could state what I missed: I know this course is meant to be an introduction but a few more real application examples would have been nice.

par Thierry C

Jun 25, 2020

If you never ever touch Matlab, but want to learn, then this course is for you. For years I had a Matlab book and pdfs training I never touch. This course give me the confidence to carry on. The teacher (in that instance Mike) is really good I teaching you how to use this software. I have to warn you that after lesson 5, it is really challenging and I spend even a day to find the solution. Do not let this to discourage you because at this end you will learn a lot.