Chevron Left
Retour à Material Behavior

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Material Behavior par Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
étoiles
505 évaluations
102 avis

À propos du cours

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Meilleurs avis

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 99 Avis pour Material Behavior

par Вэнго Б В

Oct 22, 2017

I'm from Russia, and this course was difficult because of language. But i got it, that was amazing experience. I want to note the definition of the teacher's speech. Also i learned a lot of new things. I will advise this course to my friends. Thanks for that!!! GL!

par Matias D d A

Feb 08, 2018

Good Introductory course, but with very few demonstrations of the formulas that were used to describe many of the physical phenomena. Such derivations are very usefull in understanidng the physical concepts at play.

par Srinivasan L

Jul 20, 2017

It is a good course. While the amount of substance covered is impressive, unfortunately it has to be said that the instructor style is quite boring and devoid of enthusiasm.

par Chisom A

Oct 02, 2016

It's satisfactory but I recommend reading the book.

par amged a

Dec 09, 2016

The course is very hard due to the difficulty of the explanation. The course has a lot of points to cover with few explanation

par Isabel W

Apr 23, 2016

Professor speaks too slowly most of the time but then quickly glosses over complicated equations without much explanation of what the equation is or what the variables are or labeling the equations (he has multiple equations on one slide when talking). Some videos are 2 minutes, some are 11 minutes. Quizzes are exceedingly simple - 10 questions with only two possible answers each. 100% of the time, there is at least 1 question with the wrong answer. There have been no TAs to help answer questions or to rectify these wrong answers. All the while, Coursera keeps asking if I want to pay $45 to verify for this course. Ha!! You have to be joking. This class was disappointing. You'd almost be better off reading Wikipedia articles or a book.

par Francis D

Jun 20, 2016

Excellent course. A very good review for me. Having left material Engineering for some years and spending my time on hydrometallurgy, this was good material to review in catching up.

Thank you for the class and hope to see more in this area. An excellent Professor.

par Reddy P

Sep 25, 2017

I really loved and enjoyed taking up this course. It helped me a lot to understand different concepts of materials. Thanks to Proffesor. Thomas Jr. for making an excellent teaching pattern. It was a great online learning experience.

par Krushi B

Oct 09, 2016

Wonderful lectures with great demonstration and the tests also helped analyzing my grasping. The last week of the course was a really deep content which develops in us an interest to pursue research in materials engineering.

par Aditya U

Jul 19, 2017

Highly comprehensive course! I am pursuing a B.Tech in Polymer Science and Chemical Technology from Delhi Technological University, New Delhi but have never seen such clear and holistic explanations of abstruse topics.

par Sazzad H S

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

par Jeff L

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

par Elizabeth F

Jul 05, 2019

This course takes you from a general point of view of the behavior of materials to their paticularities. Definitions well explained and exemplified. I really enjoy it.

par Nando S S

Apr 02, 2018

Excellent course. I am graduated in Materials Engineering and enjoy ths course. Amazing review and I have learnt ohter concepts. I recommend !

par Ramprasath K M

Oct 09, 2018

Very Nice Course .This will be very useful for mechanical and civil engineering.It was very interesting with lot of examples for each topics.

par Ravindra K

Jun 04, 2017

Very useful primer of a course. It refreshes a lot of the fundamental concepts in the Materials Science. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

par Siddhesh C

Sep 18, 2018

This course is very much informative and I learned so many basic concepts which are related to actual behavior of different materials.

par Tainá G R

Sep 17, 2019

Excellent course with an exemplary explanation about the relation between the microscopic and the macroscopic materials properties.

par 付郁磊

Feb 14, 2019

it's a pretty good class which contains a wide range of professional knowledge of MSE,I really appreciate this course and teacher.

par Vishnu B

Apr 02, 2018

It is very useful for a mechanical enginner

Im sucessfully completed this course but i cant purchase the course pls help me.....

par S V K

Aug 20, 2018

This course is very fundamental and useful in understanding the different types of materials structures and their requirment

par Yasir M A

Jan 22, 2019

I really enjoyed and interested in this course, lots of information about the Materials behavior, and their properties.

par Eduardo J M S

Jan 05, 2019

Very illustrative course, good for civil engineer that want to know about material behavior, the strength and proccessing

par Aarsh n

Apr 01, 2019

exceptionally well taught.

language very simple and concepts greatly explained without making the learner loose interest

par Faiz K

May 16, 2019

Excellent content, delivered very effectively. Both presentations and narrative by Professor Thomas were excellent.