Chevron Left
Retour à Digital Media and Marketing Strategies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Digital Media and Marketing Strategies par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.5
étoiles
2,433 évaluations
572 avis

À propos du cours

The proliferation of digital technology gives businesses a diverse new set of tools to reach, engage, monitor, and respond to consumers to an unprecedented degree. The aggregated and voluminous digital data can also be leveraged to better target specific consumer segments. Following the Digital Marketing Channels: The Landscape, this course aims to give you a deeper understanding of core processes of planning a digital marketing campaign and the role of various digital channels in an integrated marketing communication....

Meilleurs avis

JJ
30 août 2020

I think this course is much better than the Digital Media and Marketing Principles course. It gives us the opportunity to create our own digital marketing strategies and the reasons behind our choices

GC
20 déc. 2020

great course gave a whole new insight on this part of the course I will highly recommend to others . the instructor teach it very clearly and the examples are really applicable. Learned a lot from it!

Filtrer par :

526 - 550 sur 560 Avis pour Digital Media and Marketing Strategies

par P.R.

18 juin 2020

There is good and bad - assuming you read this - I think it will genuinely help.

Good:

-This was better than Professor Yao's last course - though it was largely reading from a script. He does not connect well with viewers.

-I looked up his rating online. It was good -but there was only one. It is hard to know what others think.

Bad:

-There are a few ways in which the course could be MUCH better. As a licensed teacher, and having prior Internet experience including running a Fortune 500 Internet division. (I am taking this for an update), I suggest the following. The reason for these suggestions is THAT THE COURSE IS NOT THAT APPLICABLE ONCE TAKEN. IT DOES NOT ALLOW A STUDENT TO REALLY DO THINGS.

I suggest:

-More attention to the basic math of digital marketing. He does it for a minute or two - but gives a lot of defintions. This is largely direct marketing - but he is not giving the basics of direct marketing - how to calculate the numbers for what to do and how to measure.

-He needs more flow charts - most of what Yao says can be summarized in a few charts with notations. These should be downloads as should be the equations.

Also - Yao said the funnel no longer matters. That is totally wrong - from someone who has sent out about 5 billion emails, paper letters and other things. I get the point that it is different than in the past, may not be linear, etc. That is obvious. However, the question becomes how do you judge the filter through which all leads go through - whatever they are - via social media, a circular path, etc. This is all, in the end, numerical. Essentially he says there are now many more channels and it is not linear. So what - it still can be represented by numbers and flow charts so that the entire concept can be understood and communicated.

The guest speakers could be better.

par Reynaldo V

10 avr. 2016

This "planning" course was slightly better than the preceding "landscape" course, but it was still underwhelming. The instructor seemed better prepared with her presentation, but her dependence on the textbook and speaking style still made it seem as if she lacked mastery of the subject. The course did touch on the important subject matters at hand, but since the textbook was so old (practically outdated by digital media standards), it missed or made little mention of so many innovations and best practices that are now the rule for digital marketers. For example, the increasingly crucial role of marketing automation platforms like HubSpot, Dynamics Marketing and Marketo and how CRMs like SalesForce and Dynamics are driving both marketing and sales strategy. Another example is how email marketing has moved to rules-based and triggered workflows. Again, there's a definite need for this course. I would actually recommend breaking out social, SEO and online advertising into their own courses, rather than squeezed into small segments. Finally, the "putting it all together" section is vital for anyone who wants to work in digital marketing, but the coverage here was much too general.

par Pascal A S

22 janv. 2018

Lecture videos are fine but very high-level. Nothing you cannot learn from reading a book.

The home work assignments are solid. As always, it is motivation that makes the difference. If you are motivated to lear something, the assignments are a good way to get you started thinking about things. But the could be better and/or more relevant.

The quizzes are the clear low point. There is sometimes a selection of answers that is so similar, yet only one answer is true (because it is the word used in the book). Often, they ask for knowledge-based questions that are completely useless for advancing your career, e.g. to know who EA Sports teamed up with for a campaign.

par Harikrishna P

5 juin 2018

Great study material.

However, the course seems over reliant on the e-marketing book by Rob Stokes. It is exhaustive (and exhausting!) and provide great concepts/models/frameworks for the learner.

Video lectures are mostly highly condensed form of the same book. For someone who goes through the text diigently, there is no need to see the video lectures.

I feel the video lectures must offer more value add that just repetition of the concepts explained in the e-book. Video must give real life examples of the concepts based on the faculty's experience/ research.

par Nick S

22 déc. 2017

This course has definitely been the low point of the Digital Marketing Specialization offered through University of Illinois. The quiz questions are too granular and don't accurately test on the knowledge you should have gained from an overall perspective. I've also found that the lectures are just summaries of the textbook and other content you're asked to read, adding nothing to what you've already spent time learning.

I would not recommend taking this course, unless required to do so for the Specialization.

par Phyllis A R

26 janv. 2017

Not as good as the other courses. I do wish another instructor could have done the videos. I had a very hard time staying with this course due to my frustration with instructor style of communicating. I felt like to much basic info about marketing especially traditional vs digital advertising. Most of us, get that. I don't know when I've struggled so hard to keep my attention and focus on the material. This specialization starts with a bang and ends very boring and outdated feeling.

par Mandeep G

24 mai 2020

Redundant, stretched. lacking depth and without any practical training. Assignments aren’t thought through, in one case, it asks for us to research what website and blogs students of Illinois are visiting by reviewing their social media profiles!!!

Instructor kept saying the same lines spoken over and over to extend the course. Digital marketing principles and strategies could have been covered in 1 course of half the length if they had organized it properly.

par Guia G

5 mars 2017

The teacher needs to improve her delivery. The quizzes are also useless. They don't really add to important information that we need to remember. Instead, the quizzes usually have questions that make you gofer for irrelevant info, made to test if you've gone through the reading. Honestly, I barely listened to the teacher's videos. It wasn't all that helpful nor engaging. We got all the info from the readings.

par lance h

1 janv. 2017

This is clearly not the right medium for Prof Clifton. This was inferior to the first installment, which had a great many problems on its own. Poor on camera delivery, lack of familiarity with the material and a tendency to just read the PPT slide on the screen are just a few of the problems. While the content is good you really have to work to get through the presentation of the material.

par Karen H

28 août 2016

Disappointed by this class. Instructor and mentors added not value to course. The main reading "eMarketing" was good but all video content and assignments were directly from the "eMarketing" guide by Rob Stokes. Also ... they couldn't even get Rob Stokes name spelled correctly in the references.

par Amruta M

18 sept. 2020

This course is outdated (of 2017) and the course material is vague. 2 mandatory peer assignments are very challenging considering the course material. Completed the course only as it is mandatory to complete the specialisation.

par Carlos E L D

23 mai 2018

It looks like the latest two courses in the Digital Marketing specialization were done under a limited time frame, and therefore, aren't good modules at all. I did rate star 5 for the previous 3 courses in this specialization.

par Daniel A

4 nov. 2017

Instructor is mechanical, reads the material only; some topics that should be discussed in depth (like a building your site) are simplified to an extreme that is near useless and some articles and references are too old

par Renu M

6 sept. 2017

I found this module as well as the previous module rather dry and theoretical. I could have just read the articles, there were no experience sharing or practical tips that I found in either lecture

par Chandraprakash V

9 juin 2020

Contest was minimal and generic. For a beginner also could have added more. Peer evaluation for the plan was not so useful. Most of the feedback were single word replies.

par DANIIL M

8 mars 2017

Very general information with too much dependance on the textbook for the course. You might as well just read the book.

par Bharat M

28 janv. 2018

This is a very basic course. It is good only if you know nothing about digital marketing

par moodissa@gmail.com

1 août 2017

Still reading from the book. and her skills in delivering the message is not good.

par Gaurav B

27 sept. 2019

No PRACTICAL Example.

Full portion covers theoritical Knowledge.

par Victor C

1 déc. 2016

I did not like the teacher but I did like the course material.

par Sandor A M

26 avr. 2020

As a data scientist I really missed a well traceable logical structure, that might help to understand better the relations between the key elements of the marketing toolset. The same applies to the provided lecture notes. It would be much easier to recap on the topics with a good summary pdf on each lecture just as we had with Kevin Hartman. In some cases the shared supplementary content (e.g. youtube videos) was missing, that would be great if those would be updated. Thank you for the course.

par Vincent F

4 oct. 2020

Absolutely terrible course and professor. Throws generic, outdated, and macro-level marketing ideas on and slides and then proceeds to read them to you. Not indicative of the real world. Quizzes have typos, and don't cover the exact content from the videos. You'd be much better off watching TED Talks from respected business leaders than to waste your time and energy in this course.

par Cem U

16 juin 2020

Professor is like reading the a text from somewhere. It is not natural and keep monotony through all course. It was the same for previous course from same professor. Nobody speaks like this normally. One could read a book or text instead. It doesn't motivate and make it difficult to follow.

par Francesca

18 nov. 2020

i am unable to check and view my certificate without verifying my ID although i completed the course with 97% grade.

and i'm having problems with verifying my ID

it is unfair to work so hard without being able to have my certificate

so disappointed !!!!!

par Linda D

17 nov. 2015

The two or three minute videos were annoying. I understand that this is what video marketing is about and, PS, not too many people truly watch the videos. Lessons should be 30 minutes each.