Chevron Left
Retour à Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1 par École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
étoiles
505 évaluations
115 avis

À propos du cours

Sustainability, Resilience and Efficiency are fundamental considerations for city managers in managing urban infrastructures. Today, more than 3.9 billion people, making up more than 54% of the global population, live in cities. Urbanization is expected to continue in the coming years, raising the urban population to 6.0 billion by 2045. This dramatic increase in urban populations will inevitably increase the demand for energy, mobility (transportation), water, and other urban services in every city around the world. Without functional governance and management structures that ensure efficient, resilient and sustainable performance in cities, the current urbanization growth might become a catastrophic risk threatening the quality of life of the humanity. Sustainable development in 21st century can only be realized by introducing innovations in both management and operations of urban infrastructures systems. Developing management practices that effectively integrates the processes of urban planning with urban infrastructures planning and management is a challenging goal that many cities are struggling with nowadays, but is a must for transforming cities to sustainable and resilient engines of growth in both developing and developed economies. This course will provide you with the basic principles of urban infrastructure management that are fundamental for building prosperous cities that are sustainable, resilient and efficient. In order to obtain a certificate for this course, the participants have to pass four graded quizzes and complete four mandatory assignments, plus a final exam. In addition to the graded assignments students have the option to write a 7-10 page peer-reviewed case study about management of energy OR transportation system in their city (on your own choice). The best case studies will be also evaluated by our jury at IGLUS and the authors of the 3 best case studies will win a full tuition fee waiver scholarship to enroll in the IGLUS professional training program in Spring 2017. You can also pre-enroll in our upcoming MOOC on Smart Cities now. Find our more here: http://iglus.org/smart-cities-mooc/...

Meilleurs avis

ST

Feb 23, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

GR

Jul 28, 2019

This course gives you a deep insight into Urban Infrastructure system and its management. The key challenges to operate any city are being discussed in detail. So overall good experience.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 113 Avis pour Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

par Baswara K

Apr 20, 2020

Magnifique!

par Muhammad Y

May 11, 2020

exccellent

par Shaik A H

Jul 08, 2018

Very good

par Mubarak S

Aug 23, 2017

Very Nice

par Carolina P P M

Apr 22, 2018

love it

par Sihyun L

Nov 06, 2016

GREAT

par Viacheslav B

May 11, 2019

good

par Oriana C

Apr 15, 2016

S

par Lorenzo R

Jun 30, 2016

I learned a lot about Urban Management. I already loved the topic and during the course I liked to see what I studied in my city. I will write the final exam statement about the study of my city as soon as I can. Thank to the professor and to the EPFL for the course.

par Ahmad S

Dec 02, 2017

It gave me insight into what it means to have a functional city, and also to appreciate the efforts of the municipal authorities. Indeed, knowledge gained here is indispensable and shall be applied in my desire to see my city become efficient and functional.

par Sarath B M G

Mar 23, 2019

This is very good course. Through this course, I'm able to logically connect the problem of city infrastructure and derive sustainable solution of the issues faced by the city. I will strongly recommend to all the urban practitioners.

par Niyati C

Sep 29, 2016

Great course to understand the different aspects of urban infrastructure namely, energy and transport. It talks about various actors playing the role of managers and operators and the challenges faced by them. A good course overall.

par Patricia A R

Feb 15, 2017

¡Un curso muy interesante! Los estudios de caso son muy útiles para entender mejor los temas tratados en cada unidad.

Very interesting course! Case studies results very useful to understand better the issues explained in each unit.

par Prathamesh J

May 27, 2020

Course is optimum in terms of clarifying basic concepts of urban infrastructure management, more implemented examples should be given while explaining the concepts. Had fun learning the course! Thanks prof. Matthias!

par Andres S

Apr 17, 2016

This is a great introductory course which lets anyone learn the layers, management styles and agreements that all have to work together in order to provide an effective and concise Infrastructure model.

par Ali M

Jun 15, 2017

It was really interesting course, full of interactive lectures presented by famous professor of EPFL. I wonder why there is "part 1" endorsement at the title of the course, when there is no part 2.

par Rajat T

Dec 31, 2016

Course was very nice but you could have added details about other infrastructures. I was expecting information about other infrastructure will be in week five but in week 5 there was only exam.

par Philip H

Jun 13, 2016

Very interesting course, that covers the broad fundamentals of Urban Infrastructures. I liked how the content was made relevant by case-studies and quizzes that focus on your city.

par Yoann H

Jun 07, 2018

A good overview of urban infrastructures in the world, independently of national contexts. A good start to pursue then with specific features or contexts of urban infrastructures.

par eder a r c

Dec 17, 2016

Curso básico para entender sobre la administración de la infraestructura urbana. Recomendado.

par Luis Z

Feb 20, 2017

It was a very good overview of the aspects of Management of Urban Infrastructures.

par Ryan F

Nov 11, 2017

Great case study reading notes, videos could include more engaging speakers.

par immanuel j n i

Sep 07, 2019

Very good course. Gives a very good intro to urban infra management.

par PRABHANSHU K

Jun 22, 2016

Course is very good waiting for next in the series.

par Olumayowa A

Sep 11, 2018

Great course, learnt a lot on management process.