Chevron Left
Retour à Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1 par École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
451 notes
100 avis

À propos du cours

Sustainability, Resilience and Efficiency are fundamental considerations for city managers in managing urban infrastructures. Today, more than 3.9 billion people, making up more than 54% of the global population, live in cities. Urbanization is expected to continue in the coming years, raising the urban population to 6.0 billion by 2045. This dramatic increase in urban populations will inevitably increase the demand for energy, mobility (transportation), water, and other urban services in every city around the world. Without functional governance and management structures that ensure efficient, resilient and sustainable performance in cities, the current urbanization growth might become a catastrophic risk threatening the quality of life of the humanity. Sustainable development in 21st century can only be realized by introducing innovations in both management and operations of urban infrastructures systems. Developing management practices that effectively integrates the processes of urban planning with urban infrastructures planning and management is a challenging goal that many cities are struggling with nowadays, but is a must for transforming cities to sustainable and resilient engines of growth in both developing and developed economies. This course will provide you with the basic principles of urban infrastructure management that are fundamental for building prosperous cities that are sustainable, resilient and efficient. In order to obtain a certificate for this course, the participants have to pass four graded quizzes and complete four mandatory assignments, plus a final exam. In addition to the graded assignments students have the option to write a 7-10 page peer-reviewed case study about management of energy OR transportation system in their city (on your own choice). The best case studies will be also evaluated by our jury at IGLUS and the authors of the 3 best case studies will win a full tuition fee waiver scholarship to enroll in the IGLUS professional training program in Spring 2017. You can also pre-enroll in our upcoming MOOC on Smart Cities now. Find our more here: http://iglus.org/smart-cities-mooc/...

Meilleurs avis

ST

Feb 23, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

GR

Jul 28, 2019

This course gives you a deep insight into Urban Infrastructure system and its management. The key challenges to operate any city are being discussed in detail. So overall good experience.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 97 Examens pour Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

par Todor K

Apr 13, 2016

The course is very well-structured and informative. For me, as a specialist educated in the field of urbanism was very intriguing to get a glance of the work behind the management of the urban infrastructures as in many Masters the focus on planning and design does not cover the specifics that are revealed during these four blocks. I am really hoping that the organizers and the people from the Polytechnical University of Lausanne are going to successfully release a second part of this course. I highly recommend the course based on the fact that much useful knowledge can be learnt even for specialists, already educated in the field of urban development.

par Bogdan G

Mar 11, 2016

Waiting for part 2 to be created and released :)

par Issa C

Mar 22, 2016

This course is great. The Professor and the guests are professionals. They went through the topics nicely. I encourage people to take this course because they can't regret it.

par Shahram S

Dec 15, 2016

perfect!!!!!!!!!

par Benjie L

Jul 01, 2016

Good teaching. I hope to have a certificate for this course.

par Edmundas R

May 31, 2016

Great course! Recommend it!!

par Carolina P P M

Apr 22, 2018

love it

par MUHAMMAD I B

Nov 06, 2016

An excellent course offered by the institution.I appreciate Profesor Mathias for this wonderful content.I am waiting for the next block of this MOOC. Thanks to the Coursera Team too.

par James B B

Feb 20, 2017

This is a modular course for management urban infrastructure of the 21st century

par Furdu C

Aug 22, 2018

Very useful and interesting information about how digitalization is implemented in urban infrastructure.

par Inès A

May 03, 2019

Very good course

par Amy B J

May 09, 2019

Very informative. Thank you very much!

par Viacheslav B

May 11, 2019

good

par Nesru H

May 12, 2019

I learnt a lot from this course. It's very engaging. Prof. Matthias teaches in a simple and understandable manner. He is great. I enjoyed the course. Thank you.

par Upasana A B

Jun 25, 2019

Great course, learner oriented and easy to grasp

par Gaurav R

Jul 28, 2019

This course gives you a deep insight into Urban Infrastructure system and its management. The key challenges to operate any city are being discussed in detail. So overall good experience.

par Ratna G

Jul 30, 2019

This was my first external online course, and I definitely enjoyed and found the course very useful.

par Shannon T

Aug 13, 2019

Excellent course. My one small problem with the content is that the the course is very focused on terminology and not technical skills. We learn about problems and solutions but do not receive practice in situations where we would need to apply the knowledge. However, very good course for an introduction to terminology and key components/ stakeholders/ issues relating to urban infrastructure management. (4.5/5 stars so I just give it 5)

par Gustavo M d L

Sep 04, 2019

I have enjoyed and learnt a lot about the principles of smart cities and their management.

I need this step to drive and boost my career towards the smart cities management.

par Sarath B M G

Mar 23, 2019

This is very good course. Through this course, I'm able to logically connect the problem of city infrastructure and derive sustainable solution of the issues faced by the city. I will strongly recommend to all the urban practitioners.

par Olumayowa A

Sep 11, 2018

Great course, learnt a lot on management process.

par Enrico R

Mar 17, 2016

Excellent short introduction to the topic.

par Lorenzo R

Jun 30, 2016

I learned a lot about Urban Management. I already loved the topic and during the course I liked to see what I studied in my city. I will write the final exam statement about the study of my city as soon as I can. Thank to the professor and to the EPFL for the course.

par PEREZ J

Dec 22, 2017

Cette première partie est intéressante, merci.

par Ali M

Jun 15, 2017

It was really interesting course, full of interactive lectures presented by famous professor of EPFL. I wonder why there is "part 1" endorsement at the title of the course, when there is no part 2.