Chevron Left
Retour à Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1 par École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
449 notes
100 avis

À propos du cours

Sustainability, Resilience and Efficiency are fundamental considerations for city managers in managing urban infrastructures. Today, more than 3.9 billion people, making up more than 54% of the global population, live in cities. Urbanization is expected to continue in the coming years, raising the urban population to 6.0 billion by 2045. This dramatic increase in urban populations will inevitably increase the demand for energy, mobility (transportation), water, and other urban services in every city around the world. Without functional governance and management structures that ensure efficient, resilient and sustainable performance in cities, the current urbanization growth might become a catastrophic risk threatening the quality of life of the humanity. Sustainable development in 21st century can only be realized by introducing innovations in both management and operations of urban infrastructures systems. Developing management practices that effectively integrates the processes of urban planning with urban infrastructures planning and management is a challenging goal that many cities are struggling with nowadays, but is a must for transforming cities to sustainable and resilient engines of growth in both developing and developed economies. This course will provide you with the basic principles of urban infrastructure management that are fundamental for building prosperous cities that are sustainable, resilient and efficient. In order to obtain a certificate for this course, the participants have to pass four graded quizzes and complete four mandatory assignments, plus a final exam. In addition to the graded assignments students have the option to write a 7-10 page peer-reviewed case study about management of energy OR transportation system in their city (on your own choice). The best case studies will be also evaluated by our jury at IGLUS and the authors of the 3 best case studies will win a full tuition fee waiver scholarship to enroll in the IGLUS professional training program in Spring 2017. You can also pre-enroll in our upcoming MOOC on Smart Cities now. Find our more here: http://iglus.org/smart-cities-mooc/...

Meilleurs avis

ST

Feb 23, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

GR

Jul 28, 2019

This course gives you a deep insight into Urban Infrastructure system and its management. The key challenges to operate any city are being discussed in detail. So overall good experience.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 97 Examens pour Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

par Sihyun L

Nov 06, 2016

GREAT

par Watson C S

Mar 25, 2017

Conocimientos precisos y simples. vale mucho la pena

par Gundala G n

Jul 08, 2018

Good to learn

par Julia K

Sep 12, 2017

Very good course. I learnt a lot although I had only a minimal background on the subject matter. The course is not too complicated, however I felt it gave a sufficiently good introduction to all major aspects so that I can know where and what to look for personally, if needed.

The only thing I thought was missing, was peer reviews of the short question exercises - basically at this point it seems that as long as we submit a sufficient number of characters, the question is considered correct. Some peer review would have made it more interesting and challenging.

Thanks for the great course - I continued straight to part 2 - managing smart cities.

par ANIN J P

Sep 01, 2016

très bon cours

par Shabbir a

May 24, 2018

one of the toughest :3

par Mikaela P

Apr 20, 2018

Realy relevant and good course!

par Yassine M

Jun 20, 2016

Million thanks to share this treasure with us ,very very interesting

Thank you EFL

par Dr. N F (

Jan 22, 2018

High level of quality. Scientific approach and the same time easy to understand, what a Manager of Urban Infrastructures must pay attention. Very god quality of videos and used easy to understand words.

EPFL, prof. Matthias Finger and all professors and specialists, succeeded to make this course to be a very good choice for professionals and also for people who just wanted to know by an accredited source, the main points of attention and the way infrastructures must exist, work and interconnect.

This reason I took this course is that I needed to be sure about all operations of a big city, in order to adopt these operations in my case study for emergency management of critical infrastructures, in a case of a physical catastrophe or in a human-made disasters as is a terror attack or a war.

Thank you for this wonderful course.

par HAMAYADJI E

Feb 02, 2018

Un excellent cours multilingue !

par Conor C

Feb 21, 2017

I liked the theory and the structure of the class, especially how it had people comping in from industry to speak.

par Montagnier

Feb 27, 2017

Cours très intéressant

par Shaik A H

Jul 08, 2018

Very good

par Lu C

Aug 23, 2017

Great course!

par Alex P M

Oct 26, 2016

Excelente curso, recomendable para los gestores de ciudades.

par Jihed M

May 12, 2018

Very interesting course

par Elizabeth O

Mar 21, 2016

Great course. Love it and would definitely recommend

par Nash M - S

Jan 15, 2017

Absolutely Fantastic period.

par Mubarak S

Aug 23, 2017

Very Nice

par EDUARDO G

Feb 29, 2016

Excellent content, excellent instruction!!!!!! Also, the interviews are a very valuable and informative,,,

par Bogdan G

Mar 11, 2016

Waiting for part 2 to be created and released :)

par Issa C

Mar 22, 2016

This course is great. The Professor and the guests are professionals. They went through the topics nicely. I encourage people to take this course because they can't regret it.

par Benjie L

Jul 01, 2016

Good teaching. I hope to have a certificate for this course.

par Luis

Jun 04, 2016

Really interesting course. I enjoy the lectures because they are well explained and full of important material. I recommended to anyone that have some knowledge or basic knowledge about infrastructure.

par SunXiaotao

Oct 26, 2017

Thanks for your courses. It help me understand the Urban Infrastructures and its important role in cities. It really help me so much in my study!