Chevron Left
Retour à Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.4
étoiles
309 évaluations
41 avis

À propos du cours

This course examines macroeconomic performance in the short run and the long run based on the economy’s institutional and policy environment. The first module develops a model of macroeconomy in the short run when the price level has its own momentum and does not respond much to supply and demand forces. The model enables one to see how GDP, interest rate, and exchange rate are determined in the short run and how they respond to macroeconomic shocks and policies. The second module starts the analysis of long-run equilibrium by examining the foreign exchange market. It then connects the long-run outcome with expectations about the future trends in the exchange rate at each moment, which constitute a key driver of the spot exchange rate in the short run. The methodology developed for this purpose can be applied to expectations concerning other macroeconomic variables as well. Finally, the long-run foreign exchange model is employed to derive a number of important lessons for the long run trends in currency values and competitiveness of producers in various countries. The third module examines the drivers of aggregate output in the long run and the mechanisms of adjustment from the short run to the long run. The model provides insights about why some countries are much richer than others and why some economies grow faster than others over decades. The analysis also sheds light on why inflation varies across countries or over time in the same country. The model is employed to analyze the sources of macroeconomic instability and the roles of fiscal and monetary policies in stabilization or destabilization of the macroeconomy. The final module discusses the characteristics of desirable macroeconomic policies and the reasons why actual policies deviate from them. It connects these deviations to country characteristics that one needs to take into account when assessing a country’s long-term macroeconomic environment. The module ends with a discussion of the institutional conditions that help bring about better fiscal and monetary policies. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how the market for aggregate goods and services interacts with the money market to shape the macroeconomic equilibrium that determines income, interest rate, and exchange rate in the short run. • Understand the links between the short-run and long-run processes. • Assess the dynamic effects of macroeconomic policies and understand the roles of globalization, government policies, institutions, and expectations in macroeconomic outcomes. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Meilleurs avis

VS

Jul 10, 2018

Great course! Gives you a great start to understanding the rationale underlying economic events in the country and the world! Excellent complement to MicroEconomics

JK

Jul 08, 2019

Very informative and educational. After taking this class I understand more about the news and economy than ever before.

Filtrer par :

26 - 40 sur 40 Avis pour Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance

par Nela N

Dec 09, 2019

Giving a lot insights on policy making area especially in country level economics

par Jacques P P

Feb 18, 2019

Interesting material and a couple of useful practical exercises

par Eliane D

Mar 11, 2018

It was not easy to understand but good to know.

par Romain V

Oct 07, 2016

Interesting course which goes one level dee

par KIRK H

Jan 03, 2020

The Instructor is monotone in delivery.

par Chris M

Jul 07, 2018

Better than the previous

par Andras I

Dec 16, 2019

I was looking forward to this course as the next step in the Managerial Economics. Little did I expect that after the brilliant Microeconomics (Firm Level Economics) course it will become such a chore to get through.

There are multiple issues with this course:

1, The presentation style: whereas in most courses you get to engage with the presenter, here there is too much screen time for not well edited, overly verbose slides that just get read out by the Professor. So it's a double distraction...you just keep staring at the same text as he mumbles on. I put it to 1.5x speed just to get through faster (and I'm taking notes on paper, still not too fast)

2, The material is not very well structured: in the first lesson I thought, we have a lot of definitions to get through...but it just keeps going like a huge, growing list of unstructured "stuff" the whole time. There is no weighting of higher level concepts, just a flood of information. Maybe also doesn't help that the videos are longer than the usual Coursera lesson(18-20 minutes vs 6-7 minutes) without much rhythm to them. So I just ended up watching a week's videos then from the notes tried to piece it together into a cohesive point.

3, Narrow minded look: I'm also not sure if forcing the Keynesian thinking all across the course in such tedious detail (and wasting time on useless, incoherent views about politics affecting economics) is more useful than mentioning other alternatives like the AD/AS model, neoclassical model, Money View (great course on Coursera, highly recommended!) or just in general open up from the dogma and try to make sure students understand that they're all modeling the same economic reality with different tools.

The good:

The quizes make you think and force some usage of the otherwise dry material.

The assigments are not bad but a bit on the simple side but unfortunately on Coursera longer submissions cannot be expected to be properly reviewed anyways.

Unless you really have to (as specialisation or iMBA requirement), I wouldn't recommend taking this course, you're better off reading a book (Theory and Applications of Macroeconomics or the OPENSTAX books - both free) or watch the (free) Khan Academy course, while they cover the same material (and more), they're much more engaging.

This was the hardest course for me to follow (not the content, the format) until I put it on hold and learned the material from other sources to come back and finish.

Although I really like Coursera and the format/content it offers, this one I cannot recommend. Such a shame...

par mujtaba s

Aug 18, 2019

I enjoyed this course but sometime I struggle with course material - I read the PDF material, watch youtube materials but I coupon figure out why some of my calculation questions were wrong.

par Keith M K

Dec 22, 2016

Instructor is very dry. Needs better on camera presence and ability to communicate the ideas. There should be more homework for practicing the material covered.

par Aneliya M

Oct 23, 2017

Both courses of Country level economics i found confusing and boring. Lectures are based only on ppt and felt like professor just read his text unlike firm level economics courses and statistics.

par Kausar K

Jul 10, 2019

The content is extremely dry, difficult to follow, and creates no excitement on the topic. The concepts are not well explained. There is no interactive material.

par mohyeldin r

Jul 05, 2019

Awful instructor with zero ability to explain even the easiest subject.

par Jenn H

Jul 12, 2019

professor is so incredibly boring. the sound effects are childish.

par Steve W

Jul 09, 2018

An interesting, relevant subject that is made dull by dron

par Alaa E

Jul 09, 2018

Very poor