Chevron Left
Retour à Logic for Economists

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Logic for Economists par Université d'Amsterdam

4.4
étoiles
201 évaluations
49 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides a very brief introduction to basic mathematical concepts like propositional and predicate logic, set theory, the number system, and proof techniques. At the end of the course, students will be able to (1) detect the logical structure behind simple puzzles (2) be able to manipulate logical expressions (3) explain the connection between logic and set theory (4) explain the differences between natural, integer, rational, real and complex numbers (5) recognise different basic proof techniques...

Meilleurs avis

CJ
17 déc. 2019

This was a testing introduction, but I found it very useful to getting to grips with the basics of logic. I very much enjoyed the assignments presented and hope to revisit them at some point.

NS
13 juin 2020

This course is really helpful and informative but it lacks to provide practice sums and course should have suggested some preference book which can be helpful for problem-solving.

Filtrer par :

26 - 48 sur 48 Avis pour Logic for Economists

par KOYA R N

8 oct. 2020

Good

par Manoj K S

31 mai 2020

Good

par Teresa C

22 août 2020

Lots of good info and examples of applying logic.

I've always regarded myself as a strongly logical thinker but I found this course very challenging based on more mathematical complexities.

While the processes involved in solving these complex problems was quite well presented, retaining those theoretical processes and applying them to other problems is a whole other challenge. Hopefully I will find the time to work through these videos a few more times over the coming weeks and months to gain a better understanding of the math involved.

par Aarjav T

15 août 2020

The course content is really great. It provides a comprehensive and quick overview of all the logical arguments out there. The only criticism I have with the course is that the number of practice questions is a bit on a lower side. Also, a pyramid based learning pattern is not strongly adhered to, which might upset a few learners.

par Ellie P

11 juin 2020

The course was great, the lectures are super helpful however the assessments are poorly worded and the automatic grading system doesn’t work the best. However you can repeat the assignments as many times as necessary so it’s not the biggest issue and the information learnt in the lessons is very valuable and well taught.

par Johannes d W

31 août 2020

It is a short, but informative course. For me, a philosophy student who wanted to renew my knowledge of propositional logic and predicate logic, the logical foundations of mathematics, taught in week 2 were a bit too challenging. I did however manage to pass the final test without a problem.

par Sebin B N

7 oct. 2020

The course approaches the material well and explains it well. But, the problem sets are much harder than the level of discussion in the videos. Overall, I found the course challenging.

par samuel c j

4 juil. 2020

It was great, it reviews some important concepts in propositional logic and methods for formal proofs. But it was a short course and intermediate level more than advanced one.

par Tanmoy C

26 juil. 2020

Content is good but more elaboration would be more helpful .. Logic part is very difficult but though it is explained well.

par george w

27 oct. 2020

TIGER AND LADY PROBLEM MAY NEED MOR EEXAMPLES.

par Young

18 août 2020

It's a little bit short.

par Sachin S

5 oct. 2020

Very good

par Dr. R S

6 juin 2020

Excellent

par Dr V V

20 juin 2020

nil

par Sean M

25 juin 2020

I found this course to be only okay - definitely lower quality than other courses I've taken on Coursera. The lectures were decent and I definitely learned about logic, although they were very dry and slow. The assignments are poorly worded, which can be particularly important when you're trying to solve a logic problem where the meaning can change depending on the wording. Some assignments also didn't provide sufficient feedback for you to learn from it if you didn't get it perfectly right.

par Fred V

17 juil. 2020

Handwriting on a blackboard: slows the rhythm, and not always fully legible. Would there be an issue with using good old PowerPoint? The course should address a few more topics of observational economics, such as logic of statistical inference, rather than axiomatic of basic mathematics.

par Omar K

29 avr. 2021

This course has a lot of potential for economists (especially for economics students). However, the course does not provide enough resources, the videos are not enough, and there is absolutely no reading material provided. I had to learn the theory by searching in Google.

par André A

2 janv. 2021

It is a good course, very basic, it tries to cover complex topics but does it in a very superficial way. In my opinion the idea of the course is more than interesting, but it should be a bit broader and dealt with in greater depth

par Lizette J J

24 sept. 2020

The video lectures need improvements but overall, this course in informative.

par Amy C

16 août 2020

the video lectures are not that good.

par Ridhi N V

4 juin 2020

Good

par guz d

17 nov. 2021

Quiz is so much harder than what is covered through the courses. 2nd question in the quiz is wrong I think, and the 6th question is irrelevant with the courses focus. Overall, the course was okay, but the questions need to be more clear and they should have 1 obvious answer rather than 2-3 or more answers

par Andrew U

28 déc. 2021

Way too abstruse even for someone like myself who has studied critical reasoning. The course must decide if it is a beginner or advanced course and presupposes too much knowledge. I suggest extending it over several weeks.