Chevron Left
Retour à Linux Server Management and Security

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Linux Server Management and Security par University of Colorado System

4.6
étoiles
613 évaluations
181 avis

À propos du cours

Whether you are accessing a bank website, Netflix or your home router, chances are that your computer is interacting with a Linux system. The world runs on Linux. In this course, we will dive into how Linux works from an enterprise perspective. In week 1 we will look at what Linux is used for in the enterprise. By the end of week 1, you will be able to differentiate between different versions of Linux and understand how they are used in an enterprise environment. In week 2, we will explore how Linux systems are configured. By the end of week 2, you will be able to demonstrate different Linux commands and how they are used. You will also be able to interact with a Linux system. In week 3, we will explore Linux authentication mechanisms and how to add users and user controls to a Linux system. By the end of week 3, you should be able to demonstrate how to appropriately add users to a Linux machine and secure them. In week 4, we will explore how to harden a Linux system. By the end of week 4, you should be able to classify different technologies to secure Linux and differentiate access control methods for Linux applications....

Meilleurs avis

AA

May 13, 2018

Truly enlightening course. Can be taken by novices who want to get started with Enterprise Linux and also by professionals looking to up their skills. Highly recommended.

HP

Feb 02, 2018

The course was excellent and the instructor was amazing. The course material was well prepared and very clear. I strongly recommend this course!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 181 Avis pour Linux Server Management and Security

par David B

Mar 30, 2020

Overall poorly scaffolded learning with little practical value.

The lectures were the best part, though the instructor brought up very complex topics without diving into them. There were some good resources and links to documentation, but just reading docs would have been more valuable than the class, which doesn't cover anything in much depth.

The assessments were terribly written, consisting of several multiple choice questions that often tested irrelevant trivia rather than important concepts (e.g. "what is the name of XYZ distribution's tool for ABC?", rather than "what is a secure procedure for doing ABC?"). The final project was poorly specified: beyond the usual "make reasonable assumptions to fill in the gaps", it didn't even specify what certain types of end users were trying to do in the system it asks you to design. The peer grading instructions did not provide a good rubric or example answers for orienting one's judgement and expectations of other students answers. All in all, as a former teacher, it feels as if the assessments were likely banged out by an inexperienced TA in an afternoon.

Lastly, for this type of course, it's inexcusable that prebuilt virtualized environments and practical problems weren't provided or used in excercises. I came to this course as a developer looking to broaden my ops side experience; I know that the way everyone in industry actually learns things is by experimentation, trial and error. A strong course would have practical labs to create and then pen test the security features discussed; it might ask students to spin up broken images, investigate problems, and fix them to a specification. I've frequently done similar training at tech conferences; it's not hard to design this. Unfortunately, the course design smacks of laziness and unwillingness to put together the materials necessary to actually have students learn and retain the topics.

par Rashad K

Aug 27, 2019

I don't think I learned much from this course.

The course was boring a little.

The instructor didn't prepare what he needs to talk in the lecture and he was thinking on the fly which I think is not good for teaching.

The course was not practical in my opinion.

par Vladislav L

Sep 30, 2019

There's no practice and there is not enough info for a subject review neither. It's no for beginners(there are some complicated mechanisms introduced) and it's not for experienced(there are simple things introduced)

par Amin F

Oct 19, 2018

Complete garbage! Too complicated for those not comfortable with GNU Linux and too basic for those who are!!

par Anthony A

Mar 29, 2019

Most of these Linux commands are depreciated/obsolete and the course is a bit wrong and the questions need to be updated. I work on Linux everyday and this isn't correct information. I would first read a book then try this course and you'll notice the errors

par Ayorinde A

May 13, 2018

Truly enlightening course. Can be taken by novices who want to get started with Enterprise Linux and also by professionals looking to up their skills. Highly recommended.

par Hector P

Feb 02, 2018

The course was excellent and the instructor was amazing. The course material was well prepared and very clear. I strongly recommend this course!

par Aman U

Apr 23, 2020

It was very productive and informative course and the way of learning online was very comfortable

par Maricris N

Aug 10, 2018

I loved the fact that the course presentations are also downloadable for review. The readings are also on point and not too long for supplementary reading. Finally, I like the peer graded assignment. It made me think creatively and the support to upload an optional diagram was great

par Archit V

Mar 04, 2019

The best one I ever had. It included theoretical concepts along with practical knowledge. The trip to the servers was awesome. I have been learning datacenters but after watching this I finally grasped what a data center is. Loved the material

par Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

par Hooman A

Apr 05, 2020

One of the best Linux tutorials that someone could present. Instructor covers lots of important materials and also he gives you some hints and insights that helps you to search for and learn more, if you want.

par Luis R B

May 05, 2020

Very good course for the basic user. Even for a user that has a few months of experience with Linux servers, there are some things to learn.

par Yash P

Oct 23, 2018

Its an awesome course for security enthusiasts a big thanks to the lecturer for taking us through this course making it look quite simple

par NEER G

Jun 07, 2020

It Help me a lot that how to manage the server and I like the explanation which was given by Grey Williams thanks you so much......

par Ganesh D

Jul 20, 2020

Overall good course with lots of knowledge about the linux server management and security, it's help me clear the basic concepts.

par soufiane a

Oct 17, 2019

simply i would like to thank the university of Colorado the supervisor of this course and Coursera for the quality of this course

par Dvir R

May 10, 2018

Overall excellent way to build a foundation, informative with good examples to follow... wish there were more practical examples.

par YEJARLA M R

Jan 02, 2019

Good explanation.as a admin how manage the security and implement security here learned.thanks for providing this course

par Lucas A

Mar 23, 2018

Great, I knew most of the content but was really good to remember and learn new ways to understand the environment !

par ANUP K

Apr 13, 2020

its very interesting courses i have learned . i also suggest to learn this course.

very thankful to coursera team.

par Aravinda D

Apr 07, 2020

This course teaches me a lot of things about Linux server security. I think that I have got maximum out of it.

par Sizolwethu D

Dec 06, 2018

Very intense course on Linux Installation, enterprise setup, management and practical security implementation.

par Pavel S

Nov 19, 2018

It Is a very interested course. This course helped me to understand Linux deeper and use it more effectively.

par STEPHEN G

Sep 11, 2020

Very good! excellent & clear instruction detailing all aspects of securing a Linux server Operating Systems.