Chevron Left
Retour à Learning How To Learn for Youth

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Learning How To Learn for Youth par Université d'État de l'Arizona

4.8
étoiles
1,285 évaluations
351 avis

À propos du cours

Based on the most popular open online course in the world, this course gives you easy access to the learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. No matter what your current skill level, using these approaches can help you master new topics, change your thinking and improve your life. This course explains: * Why sometimes letting your mind wander is an important part of the learning process * How to avoid "rut think" in order to think outside the box * The value of metaphors in developing understanding * A simple, yet powerful, way to stop procrastinating If you’re already an expert, these strategies will turbocharge your learning, including test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. We all have the tools to learn what might not seem to come naturally to us at first—the secret is to understand how the brain works so we can unlock its power. Filled with animations, application questions, and exercises, this course makes learning easy and fun!...

Meilleurs avis

SH

Jun 20, 2020

I learn so much from this course. It really helps me improving my learning and the way the message was conveyed really helps the youth to understand. Thank you so much for all the lesson and sharing!

LR

May 13, 2019

I am still seeing octopede/octopuses with tentacles in backpacks or lockers. Wonderful!!! I am a therapist who works with all age children and this will be extremely helpful! Thank you to all of you.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 349 Avis pour Learning How To Learn for Youth

par Licia R

May 13, 2019

I am still seeing octopede/octopuses with tentacles in backpacks or lockers. Wonderful!!! I am a therapist who works with all age children and this will be extremely helpful! Thank you to all of you.

par Deleted A

Feb 24, 2019

Totally enjoyed it. I had taken the Learning How to Learn and decided to listen to the version "for Youth" because I teach and want to implement these learning ideas.

par Ramanathan M

Sep 25, 2019

Excellent Course. One of the best courses I have ever attended inmy life. thanks a lot. Kudos to the Teaching Faculty - Muthiah Ramanathan, Chennai, India

par Hitesh B

Mar 30, 2020

Excellent Course! It actually made a lot of changes in my routine of studying. And I'm damn sure that definitely it will make focused to each of them who had completed this course honestly.

par Natalia R O

Feb 10, 2019

Although I'm not that young I found the course was a fun way to remember the key points of Learning how to learn, which are really useful in learning.

par Aman

May 25, 2020

The course is very fun because using a creative video performance and teach using methaphor or analogy, so it's made me not boring to watch the video and to studying.

And the website system is very sophisticated, that have a part to "save the note," that can save the notes with the text & the picture of the video, it's very cool feature.

The course itself has opened my mind about learn how to learn. Show me some of alternative learning method the i can used in my studying, that build my way how to upgrade my studying methods, like:

- Tommattos techniques: the secret tips that help to fight procrastination and make learning time is more fun.

- Methaphor & Memory Palacae Technique: the secret tips how to memorizing.

And some of new knowledge about how our brain is working.

Also the course courage me as a slow learner that slow learner can be success too, doesn't matter if slower then others, because the goal is to reach the finish line.

I want to thank you COURSERA who have give FREE class opportunity, also to thank you Dr. Barbara Oakley, Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, and Mr. Greg Hammons.

Best Regards,

Sulaiman Hassan

Jakarta, Indonesia

par Steven C

Mar 06, 2019

Although this is promoted as a somewhat simpler version of the popular MOOC "Learning How To Learn", I found the lectures, and particularly the examples and explanations much easier to understand and apply than those of the more detailed course. The use of all of the instructors in most of the videos instead of only having one in a particular video made the videos more interesting and memorable.

I HIGHLY recommend this course for ANYONE, but especially for ANY student, at any grade level from possibly third grade on up. Also take the original course too, for more details and references. But at a minimum, anyone who wants to learn more effectively should take this course NOW!

par Zhiqiang H

Sep 28, 2019

Thank you! This course is great. Before I study,I did not know why we can memory things.Through this course, I know the key word brain links.I get the knowledge of neuron, metaphor, memory palace and many. As a lifelong learner, I will check myself everyday, if my brain links are more and stronger.And I will use technology learned in this course everyday to become a better learner.

par SZESHEN C

Jan 03, 2019

I wish I have learned the learning techniques showing in this course when I was younger, so my study would be much easier. However, it is not too late, I will review the course videos a few more times and practice the techniques in a daily basic, until I have mastered the techniques. Thank you Professor Barbara Oakley, Professor Terrence Sejnowski, Greg Hammons and Cousera.

par Zachary B

Jan 15, 2019

great course really liked it

par 成文辉

Mar 18, 2019

I don't know why this course exists when <Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects> is already there.

par Jessica V

Aug 15, 2019

It was very helpful and fun, it's very straight-forward. I liked that they made mental pictures and pictures that you can see on the screen. If you're a visual learner, then definitely go through this course. I wan't to give a big thank you for all the people that worked on this course. I liked that they made it very interactive with the learners. Once again, a very helpful course.

par Anya S

Feb 25, 2019

Very easy, funny and extremely useful course for young people, parents and teachers. Taking this course you can get some basic knowledge how your brain and memory works. Learn some tricks how to fight your procrastination and successfully pass the tests!

par Madalina D L

May 09, 2020

highly recommend!! made me have a whole new approach on learning and was enjoyable and easy to follow. these tips that i have learnt are something that i will use in my whole life.

par Homma J

Jul 23, 2020

The course consisted of bite-sized videos and short, easy to solve quizzes and reading assignments. Great format for kids and adults if they find enthusiastic videos enjoyable.

Depending on the age and previous knowledge of the person planning to take this course, it could be extremely helpful, unhelpful or somewhere in-between. I fell in the in-between section.

I knew some of the techniques and information mentioned but I still benefited from the course. It didn't take long to finish (3.5 hours with breaks in between) so it's worth a try if you're on the fence about getting into the course.

par 竺介

Jun 12, 2020

A very good course, but some are too popular, too much use of metaphors, and too little introduction to the underlying cognitive psychology principles.Although easy to understand lowers the threshold, it also reduces the information density and accuracy. Some knowledge is esoteric and abstract and cannot be simplified. Once it is simplified, it will change its flavor.In addition, from the perspective of "memory", the difficulty of knowledge processing is inversely proportional to the difficulty of extraction.In other words, the more easily a knowledge is absorbed, the easier it is to forget.

par Candice W

Aug 28, 2020

Very insightful! This course was taught in a fun and simply way, the teachers have constantly reinforced key ideas in the videos, which not only taught me how to learn, but also taught me how learning could be so easy given the right techniques. The teachers also used these learning techniques to teach us how to learn. All the things I have learned in this course will stay with me throughout my life because the key ideas were mentioned so many times and in so many fun metaphors that I don't think I would ever forget them. I would very much recommend this to my family and friends!!

par Paulo R

Dec 13, 2018

Esse curso é excelente! Traz muitas dicas de como podemos aproveitar mais a nossa capacidade cerebral para aprendermos de forma mais profunda e mais rápida. Técnicas como fazer a recordação depois que ler uma página, praticar a resolução de muitos problemas sobre determinado assunto e usar a técnica do pomodoro para combater a procrastinação foram os pontos mais interessantes para mim. Se inscreva neste curso e você aprenderá sobre isto e muito mais com excelentes tutores. Obrigado.

par PallaviPandavula

Jul 16, 2020

I feel it's an amazing course.It would help any person who wishes to learn anything in best ways possible.The concepts of learning were explained crystal clear in easy ways to understand.The metaphors,analogies and fun in the course not only helped to learn this course better but also exampled how learning could be both fun and effective.I really loved it a lot.Quoting Terry sejnowski"Learning makes you smarter.Learning how to learn would be a best thing to do."

par Полшкова Д О

Apr 22, 2020

This course was surprisingly spectacular. Using simple words, instructors were able to tell about difficult things. Many people suffer while studying because of lack of knowledge about their brain's work. I've got much useful (!) information which helped me to understand my mind better. The lessons were funny, easy to understand and helpful. I will try to use all the methods mentioned in course throughout my daily routine, Thank you!

par Shivani G

Jul 24, 2020

This course has enhanced my learning skills. I have always been a topper in my academics, but later on after joining engineering I really found it difficult to learn efficiently. But this course has definitely charged up my neuron system and now I really feel confident that once again I will be able to learn and focus on my academics efficiently. I really thank all the mentors for making it easy to understand and fun to learn.

par Ghada K

May 21, 2019

I am so grateful for having taken this course. It has been really helpful to me on both personal and professional levels. I loved that the instructors could simplify lots of scientific material about how our brain works through the learning process, and they made it really easy to understand. I also found the content relevant, applicable and clear. And I will recommend it to everyone I know, whether they are students or not.

par Abdulrahman S H

Dec 18, 2018

It is really helpful, thanks so much to all the professors teaching here, and to everyone who participated in teaching this awesome course. I noticed there is a similar course provided by McMaster University & University of California San Diego, i would have enrolled on that one if it is not that my exams are heading and it seems it is longer and has more material on it, I consider taking it later.

par Lukas U

Mar 28, 2020

It helped to understand my learning behavior and change it for the better.

On a side note, the closing survey about the course was not available for me to see; there was just a blank space. Even the report error option did not work because the options to choose from were supposedly outside of the window of the website. Even zooming into and out the website did not help. I am on Win10 using Firefox.

par Ania

May 31, 2020

This course was very helpful. All of the information was explained very well. It was easy to follow. Tests were not hard, all the answers were in the videos. Many interesting techniques were explained. Some of the information I already knew(because of the prior interest to this subject). In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this course to my friends.