Chevron Left
Retour à First Step Korean

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour First Step Korean par Université Yonsei

4.9
étoiles
42,233 évaluations
10,723 avis

À propos du cours

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Meilleurs avis

PW

27 mai 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

DD

1 mai 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 10,000 Avis pour First Step Korean

par Thinzar W L

24 mars 2021

easy to understand

par Carolain G

11 déc. 2018

Excelente!!

par Diana M

17 janv. 2022

I really enjoyed this course! It's truly a great first step toward learning Korean! :-) Overall, the course has a very good structure, and the instructor in the videos is pleasant. Well done to the instructor and staff who put this class together! ^^

However, there are just a few minor details I would adjust regarding the order of content presentation to make the learning experience better. For example: In 1.2, the test which was about the different sounds was extremely difficult, and it would have been better if the Extended Exercise: Korean Basic Characters Practice with the interactive chart of Korean sounds had been presented before the test, not after it. If it's presented before the test, it will help students to learn and master the sounds before taking the test, so that many more will be able to pass the test on the first try and not feel discouraged and feel as if Korean is too hard to learn.

Also, one or two test questions had errors; I submitted some feedback about them when I took the tests.

I don't agree with what Professor Kang said at 5:03 in the Lecture 1.3 video, that ㅐ sounds like the short "a" in cat. (I think that ㅐ rather sounds more like the short "e" in "get," but not like the "a" in cat.) However, what she said about ㅐ did help me very much to understand and distinguish the slight difference between the sound of ㅐand ㅔ.

Moreover, I think it would be really great if we could have a complete "Korean vowels and consonants" interactive sound chart which includesㅐ and ㅔ and combinations of all the rest of the other vowels and consonants (including the final consonants that change sounds, from lesson 1.4), similar to the Korean Character Practice Program page.

I hope this feedback is helpful. Thank you very much for this course! :) It was excellent and helped me to learn Korean a little bit more. And I really appreciate that it was offered for free! 고맙습니다! ^_^

par Debi

25 févr. 2016

It is a very good course for everyone to learn basic of Korean. For me who have learned Korean by read Korean lesson book somehow this course not give much thing to learn.

GRAMMAR (5/5)

This course is good because it give me more insight about Korean grammar (difference between normal. formal, and informal speech; the using of 예요/ 이에요, 이/가, etc).

THE TEACHER (5/5)

She explain clearly and give some exercise in the video to make us practice. I like the method.

VOCABULARY (3/5)

There were not much vocabulary in the course. I hope Yonsei University would add more new vocabulary in the course.

TEST/ ASSIGNMENT (3/5)

I've taken another language online course at another site that similar to Coursera. That site's assignments more complex than this course's given. This site only test our reading and listening but there were not speaking aspect that scored here. And I wish you will add writing aspect to the course.

LESSON (3/5)

The lessons those given here really simple. They were easy to understand, but I hope there will be a sequel of this course that will give us more advance lessons.

Recommendation:

- add more vocabulary,

- add speaking and writing assignment,

- a sequel of this course.

Thank you for coursera and Yonsei University for giving me an opportunity to learn Korean Language for free.

par Athiyya A R

4 janv. 2021

I have learned to read and write basic korean and i am very happy with this progress. The course is easy to follow and gave a lot of information. I would love more conversations to be included in the course. I believe it will benefit a lot

par Valentina G

15 nov. 2021

I don't know if I think this course is good or bad, but it will definitely require a lot of commitment and effort on the student's part because it has a huge ammount of information. A lot of the times I felt It was too much to process in each video, and the suggested pace at which we are supposed to complete the lessons was way to fast. Some lessons include several topics in one video, so it's kind of hard to follow, but I guess the fact that something is hard, doesn't necessarily mean it's bad. I sudied with this course almost everyday for over a month in order to finish it, and I don't feel like I master its contents, because, again, it's a lot of content. However I'm definitely in a better place than before I started so I would recomend taking it.

par Patrick F

29 oct. 2020

I have two concerns with the organization of the course. My first concern is that the "review" lessons at the end of each unit were not actually review; most of the time, they were simply additional new content that was added. While this was not a major detriment, it did mean there is functionally no review at the end of each unit. My second issue is with the quizzes. Even the final quiz (lesson 4 of unit 5) still had questions where we were essentially being asked if we understood "yes/네" and "no/아니요". The questions on the quizzes usually required very little testing of the concepts we had just learned, and almost every single quiz had a question where the only difference between the two answers was "yes" or "no" being at the beginning.

par Vi O

3 mai 2018

This course is nice, because you can learn a lot. And it's really nice. If you finish this course, and you study it, i'm sure you will speak very well.

But i would like to say something. This course could be boring, and a little tired. I finished it, but i feel i didn't learn so i'm repeating it again, okay if i didn't learn it's my fault, but i don't feel motivated with this course. I think Suzi is a little boring. She's good. But you can feel tired. Depends the person. Regards! :D

par Mohamed E

26 janv. 2020

A great teacher and a great design . but the curriculum is devoid of beginner's grammar and jumped suddenly to complex sentences and the course ended without me knowing what even the personal pronouns are, which is ridiculous . at least I got used to the reading and learnt some vocabulary so Thank you for that ^^

par Daryl Y J

11 oct. 2020

Very informative I picked up a lot of Korean vocabulary but difficulty retaining the information due to a lack of practice partners. I enjoyed this course a lot and I am looking forward to seeing what else Yonsei University has in store.

par Astin P

18 avr. 2021

While the teacher is very good, I have struggled immensely with the lack of phonetic translations included in the notes, particularly for consonants that have more than one pronunciation (something that was an important part of learning Japanese at high school, & I was expecting for a course teaching a language that uses a character-based alphabet). As an absolute beginner, this has made the course quite stressful & frustrating, particularly when trying to learn the vocabulary sections of the lectures.

Instead of being able to learn proper pronunciation with the aid of phonetic translations written in English, I'm having to work out each individual character myself, then listen to the lecture again & hope that I've gotten it right (& sometimes it's difficult to tell, particularly for sounds like 'g' & 'k').

I'm only on week 2, but I've already had to decide to stop trying to keep up in order to complete quizzes, as I don't feel like I'm learning properly.

If you're a BEGINNER beginner to the Korean language, & still want to do this course, I would highly recommend trying to find some additional resources that will help teach you the correct phonetic pronunciation, rather than relying on self-translation from the lectures alone.

par Elena H

14 mars 2017

Los subtitulos en español en los ultimos modulos del curso no estaban funcionando.

par Sherin

16 juil. 2020

vEERY HARD TO FOLLOW IN THE LIMITED TIME. HOW CAN I UNENROLL??

par Minyoung C

24 mai 2021

Not good at all. It's Okay for intermediate/advanced reviewing BUT it's very aged and doesn't teach what is common these days. You are essentially teaching elementary grade material to pre-schoolers. You also do not go too much into the grammar and important things that Korean learners should know. Because of this, people do not know what they are learning. Thank you for taking your time to teach this 선생님 but I think this course needs a MAJOR revamp. One thing I did like is the pronunciation sections. As an intermediate learner, I thought those were more valuable. But the fact that you are teaching things that are too difficult to beginner learners is not good. This is class is called "first step in Korean". You shouldn't be expecting people to know something they don't. If a Korean Learner were to take this course for the first time, I would feel extremely bad for them.

par Сундет К

26 juil. 2020

Above all, I would like to thank Yonsei University and Professor Kang for the opportunity to get acquainted with the Korean language precisely in the way we did through the course. This course is very useful for absolute beginners as I was. I did not know even a letter in Korean and used to think that Korean alphabet was extremely difficult which, by the way, prevented me from studying it. However, this course helped me to realize that “Devil is not black as he is painted” and it is not that hard providing one will make enough effort. Regarding the course itself, video materials were very informative even though they normally lasted 10-12 minutes. I liked the way professor explained themes during all 5 weeks and of course additional materials attached after each lesson. Learning any foreign language requires A LOT OF practice and all quizzes, short dialogues and vocabulary in this course help me to do so. I keep studying Korean via different social networks and I feel deliriously happy when I encounter there some words, grammar rules that I’ve learnt thanks to this course. I highly recommend it for people who want to start studying this beautiful language from the very beginning and considering any free course available. It is definitely the best option! Good luck everyone!!!

par Swati T

18 juil. 2021

I was interested in learning different languages as a part of my hobby and Korean is one of them. Before I started with this course, I have already seen many K Dramas and have listened to many K songs as well, which eventually made me interested in learning Hangul. This course helped me to understand Korean language in a very easy and effective way, teacher explained each and every topic superbly. As a student, flexible timings of this course allowed me to have my focus and to get enough time for me to study my main content. Quizzes are kind of easy but they are very much required to test our knowledge regarding what we have learnt and practice will make things perfect for us. I really enjoyed learning this language course. The best part of language learning for me was that it made me active, multitasking, efficient towards my work more than usual. I have shared about this course with many of my friends who are interested in learning different languages Thanks to the Yonsei University and special thanks to our teacher. I will be covering rest of the courses, regarding Hangul as well.

par dtsyi100

27 févr. 2016

First Step Korean is a really good beginner course to start learning Korean. The lectures are structured in a clear manner that gives the learner ample examples to understand the usage of the language and allows the learner to practice along very naturally with Prof. Kang.

Personally, when I learnt basic Korean through Korean TV shows and classes in a community club, it was hard for me to grasp the grammar as it was pretty confusing. This basic course allowed me to understand the usage of grammar, such as 이, 가, 은, 는 and transforming basic form verbs.

The lectures are delivered in a way that allows you to learn in a gradual manner and frequently review what you have learnt in previous lectures. The subtitles and notes make the lessons really easy to understand and follow.

Through Coursera's online platform, the video lectures allows easy review of the lecture without having to physically sit through a class. I'm glad and grateful that First Step Korean is offered on Coursera and I hope there's a Second Step Korean in the near future for us to carry on with intermediate learning.

par Lauren R

23 juin 2019

I have been self-teaching myself Korean for about 6 months and have found it extremely difficult. This course offered me the ability to listen to a native speaker and to communicate and practice real time. I love it so much, my only complaint is that it did not go into depth on the honorifics. I am advanced enough that I have a good grasp on basic speech and I have a large vocabulary, I just lack the ability to use appropriate honorifics. That being said, I learned something new every lesson and got a good grasp on the concept of time and questions that I have been having trouble on. I would highly recommend this for someone who has just started learning and has begun to familiarize themselves. For someone totally new to the language, it might be a bit overwhelming, but it worked great for me and the basic knowledge I already acquired. Also, Mrs. Seung is an amazing instructor and her voice kept me focused and helped me to learn!

par Maryam N

30 juil. 2021

Hello This is Maryam. I love to learn Korean. Every time I used to trouble while watching Korean movie or Korean drama. So decided to learn Korean and I've searched for a free and interesting Korean learning platform but all are in vain. For free learning every platform is not good so.

Then I came to know about Coursera and I searched for free platform. I really love studying Korean from Yonsei University. It was quite interesting and I love my journey of learning Korean. I learned more from here. It's fun. When I come to Korea I hope to visit Yonsei University at least once and I really like the Professor Seung Hae Kang<3....Lots of love professor and I'm really thankful and grateful to that professor And I hope any day, at any place I would like to meet and appreciation you! It's all thanks to that professor and her skill of teaching I really loved and Had fun. Thank you

par Rugveda R B

17 sept. 2020

To be honest, initially i was very aversive of completing this course. I thought that a new language that too with an all new script to which i am unfamiliar. Plus, being deriven from chinsese characters it may have many characters with different sounds. But as i am Indian and Marathi being my mother tongue, learning the pronounciations of the hangeul became pretty simple, which i think may not have been as simple if i would have learned it based on english phonetics. However, talking about the facilitator of the course, Miss. Seung Hae Kang was absolutely amazing. She would pronounce the alphabets very clearly, her speech was very lucid. Plus she would remind from time to time the uses of the particles very clearly. The course design was very feasible. I am very grateful to Yonsei University. This university's certificate has great value. Thank you so much!!!!

par Suzette N

12 avr. 2020

It was a very informative course that taught the Korean language in a fun way. I was so immersed in the subject, that I would just keep studying almost all the time. The way the classes were executed was very skilled, where the teacher explained everything so detailed and in a clear way. She also dove into the pronunciations of certain words (since the way you pronounce Korean is very important). Moreover, you can feel the support of the mentors who were there to help and answer any question any of us had in the forum section, this also gave me some sort of confidence and reliability, it encouraged me to continue studying knowing that there is someone out there ready to help and there are also other learners in my position as well.

Thank you very much for everyone for this beautiful course! Very well recommended! You really won't regret signing up!

par Jacinta H

15 janv. 2021

Buen día, dándole mil gracias a esta bella familia de COURSERA.ORG., por haberme permitido aprender con ellos este nuevo idioma. Es así que me hago presente en este momento para decirles mil gracias, y que desde el interior de mi alma, deseo de corazón para ustedes muchos éxitos, progreso y bendiciones venideras. Papito Dios siga guiándolos y permitiendo que así como yo, muchas mas personas se unan a esta bella experiencia de querer aprender algo nuevo, útil y divertido como es la Cultura Coreana.

PD. Mil gracias a esta bella Maestra que imparte las clases, ya que no me canso de decir que usted si es una Maestra de verdad y no una profesora, porque me doy cuenta por mi misma y por los comentarios. Es así que en este corto tiempo considero que he aprendido mucho, ya que yo no sabia del Idioma Coreano. Mil bendiciones. Ecuador.

par Jolie J

18 oct. 2020

I highly recommend this course for those trying to learn Korean who are just starting out. I already knew hangeul, so that part was slightly repetitive for me; but, it would be very useful to those who don't know hangeul. The units are set up in a logical order and they contain vocabulary, grammar, and example sentences that are useful for basic conversations. The grammar was well-explained and the examples were interesting to me as well. I also liked the videos of example dialogue. The actors were slightly awkward but much less so than others I have seen. My only issue is that she doesn't give much time during the repeat after her parts or during the exercises, but that can be solved by pausing the video. I enjoyed this course and learned a lot. 9.9/10; would recommend to those who want to learn Korean.

par Camila

1 mai 2021

I think this is a great course for beginners. It may take you a little longer than 5 weeks to complete if you didn't know ANYTHING about Korean before like me, but it's still rewarding and fun. The only thing I'd improve upon are the subtitles. I wish it didn't say [FOREIGN] when Korean subtitles could've been provided to keep up more easily with the teacher.

The quizzes are hard enough but not impossible, you truly exercise what you learned in the unit. The teacher's pace is good to keep you motivated, even though I did see myself going back to check on something more than once because this was my first aproach to the language after all.

Overall, I recommend this course to anyone interested in Korean culture who wants to learn the basics in a fun, rewarding and changelling way