Chevron Left
Retour à First Step Korean

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour First Step Korean par Université Yonsei

4.9
étoiles
46,197 évaluations

À propos du cours

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Meilleurs avis

RN

6 oct. 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

CS

6 janv. 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 10,000 Avis pour First Step Korean

par Patricia

30 nov. 2018

¡Muy chévere el curso! Me motivó a continuar estudiando el idioma coreano. ¡Gracias!

par fernanda g

7 févr. 2021

Da muy buenas explicacione y los test son muy buenos es el mejor curso

par Miss. W W

26 juil. 2020

Really good caurse for beginners like me.

par Pinyarat T

4 mai 2020

너무 감사합니다. 지금 처는 한국어를 알겠습니다. 열심히하겠습니다. ^_^

par 横山纯一

23 janv. 2020

非常喜欢学习语言,这是我学习韩语的第一步!有时间将会继续学习!谢谢延世大学!

par Andrea L

5 déc. 2018

Un curso muy completo y que recomiendo

par Henry

26 juil. 2020

Great for learning basic Korean!

par Thinzar W L

24 mars 2021

easy to understand

par Carolain G

11 déc. 2018

Excelente!!

par Diana M

17 janv. 2022

I really enjoyed this course! It's truly a great first step toward learning Korean! :-) Overall, the course has a very good structure, and the instructor in the videos is pleasant. Well done to the instructor and staff who put this class together! ^^

However, there are just a few minor details I would adjust regarding the order of content presentation to make the learning experience better. For example: In 1.2, the test which was about the different sounds was extremely difficult, and it would have been better if the Extended Exercise: Korean Basic Characters Practice with the interactive chart of Korean sounds had been presented before the test, not after it. If it's presented before the test, it will help students to learn and master the sounds before taking the test, so that many more will be able to pass the test on the first try and not feel discouraged and feel as if Korean is too hard to learn.

Also, one or two test questions had errors; I submitted some feedback about them when I took the tests.

I don't agree with what Professor Kang said at 5:03 in the Lecture 1.3 video, that ㅐ sounds like the short "a" in cat. (I think that ㅐ rather sounds more like the short "e" in "get," but not like the "a" in cat.) However, what she said about ㅐ did help me very much to understand and distinguish the slight difference between the sound of ㅐand ㅔ.

Moreover, I think it would be really great if we could have a complete "Korean vowels and consonants" interactive sound chart which includesㅐ and ㅔ and combinations of all the rest of the other vowels and consonants (including the final consonants that change sounds, from lesson 1.4), similar to the Korean Character Practice Program page.

I hope this feedback is helpful. Thank you very much for this course! :) It was excellent and helped me to learn Korean a little bit more. And I really appreciate that it was offered for free! 고맙습니다! ^_^

par Debi

25 févr. 2016

It is a very good course for everyone to learn basic of Korean. For me who have learned Korean by read Korean lesson book somehow this course not give much thing to learn.

GRAMMAR (5/5)

This course is good because it give me more insight about Korean grammar (difference between normal. formal, and informal speech; the using of 예요/ 이에요, 이/가, etc).

THE TEACHER (5/5)

She explain clearly and give some exercise in the video to make us practice. I like the method.

VOCABULARY (3/5)

There were not much vocabulary in the course. I hope Yonsei University would add more new vocabulary in the course.

TEST/ ASSIGNMENT (3/5)

I've taken another language online course at another site that similar to Coursera. That site's assignments more complex than this course's given. This site only test our reading and listening but there were not speaking aspect that scored here. And I wish you will add writing aspect to the course.

LESSON (3/5)

The lessons those given here really simple. They were easy to understand, but I hope there will be a sequel of this course that will give us more advance lessons.

Recommendation:

- add more vocabulary,

- add speaking and writing assignment,

- a sequel of this course.

Thank you for coursera and Yonsei University for giving me an opportunity to learn Korean Language for free.

par Athiyya A R

4 janv. 2021

I have learned to read and write basic korean and i am very happy with this progress. The course is easy to follow and gave a lot of information. I would love more conversations to be included in the course. I believe it will benefit a lot

par Josy R

17 oct. 2022

The course was extremely intensive, which is a plus, however I had to replay some parts because the audio wasn't clear between some pronunciations. I wish when the professor taught, that they wrote out the romantization of words. I know it can be seen as a crutch, however in the beginning iit would have been great to know if she was saying a hard K or a soft K, a double s, or one s. I had to review a lot of the lessons to listen again. Also, the section about time was confusing, especially the explanation of Arabic counting (I'm not 100% sure if I even heard that correctly) versus Chinese counting. She did a great job in the beginning of explaining King Sejong and the alphabet's history, but in the later weeks that history was not convered. Finally, when I completed the course it was pretty abrupt, no message from the professor congratulating us or anything? I found mysef looking for the Next button for the following lesson, only to realize it was all over!

par Valentina G

15 nov. 2021

I don't know if I think this course is good or bad, but it will definitely require a lot of commitment and effort on the student's part because it has a huge ammount of information. A lot of the times I felt It was too much to process in each video, and the suggested pace at which we are supposed to complete the lessons was way to fast. Some lessons include several topics in one video, so it's kind of hard to follow, but I guess the fact that something is hard, doesn't necessarily mean it's bad. I sudied with this course almost everyday for over a month in order to finish it, and I don't feel like I master its contents, because, again, it's a lot of content. However I'm definitely in a better place than before I started so I would recomend taking it.

par Patrick F

29 oct. 2020

I have two concerns with the organization of the course. My first concern is that the "review" lessons at the end of each unit were not actually review; most of the time, they were simply additional new content that was added. While this was not a major detriment, it did mean there is functionally no review at the end of each unit. My second issue is with the quizzes. Even the final quiz (lesson 4 of unit 5) still had questions where we were essentially being asked if we understood "yes/네" and "no/아니요". The questions on the quizzes usually required very little testing of the concepts we had just learned, and almost every single quiz had a question where the only difference between the two answers was "yes" or "no" being at the beginning.

par Daryl Y J

11 oct. 2020

Very informative I picked up a lot of Korean vocabulary but difficulty retaining the information due to a lack of practice partners. I enjoyed this course a lot and I am looking forward to seeing what else Yonsei University has in store.

par Kathryn S

7 mai 2017

Teacher was a little boring at times, without any emotion in her voice or movement in her body. I felt she went quite fast, especially when asking to repeat things. For example, she would say an entire sentence and ask us to repeat instead of breaking the sentence apart for us. All in all, I felt I learned a little something but the course moved so quickly I felt myself getting frustrated at times, making it harder to focus and learn.

par Anastasia T

18 juil. 2020

Course not very helpful, because it is assumed that students will grasp Hangeul at a glance. No English (latin script) pronunciations are provided. Discouraged me from learning Korean.

par Elena H

14 mars 2017

Los subtitulos en español en los ultimos modulos del curso no estaban funcionando.

par Sherin

16 juil. 2020

vEERY HARD TO FOLLOW IN THE LIMITED TIME. HOW CAN I UNENROLL??

par Minyoung C

24 mai 2021

Not good at all. It's Okay for intermediate/advanced reviewing BUT it's very aged and doesn't teach what is common these days. You are essentially teaching elementary grade material to pre-schoolers. You also do not go too much into the grammar and important things that Korean learners should know. Because of this, people do not know what they are learning. Thank you for taking your time to teach this 선생님 but I think this course needs a MAJOR revamp. One thing I did like is the pronunciation sections. As an intermediate learner, I thought those were more valuable. But the fact that you are teaching things that are too difficult to beginner learners is not good. This is class is called "first step in Korean". You shouldn't be expecting people to know something they don't. If a Korean Learner were to take this course for the first time, I would feel extremely bad for them.

par Maryam H

30 avr. 2020

Its hard for a beginner to understand

par Сундет К

26 juil. 2020

Above all, I would like to thank Yonsei University and Professor Kang for the opportunity to get acquainted with the Korean language precisely in the way we did through the course. This course is very useful for absolute beginners as I was. I did not know even a letter in Korean and used to think that Korean alphabet was extremely difficult which, by the way, prevented me from studying it. However, this course helped me to realize that “Devil is not black as he is painted” and it is not that hard providing one will make enough effort. Regarding the course itself, video materials were very informative even though they normally lasted 10-12 minutes. I liked the way professor explained themes during all 5 weeks and of course additional materials attached after each lesson. Learning any foreign language requires A LOT OF practice and all quizzes, short dialogues and vocabulary in this course help me to do so. I keep studying Korean via different social networks and I feel deliriously happy when I encounter there some words, grammar rules that I’ve learnt thanks to this course. I highly recommend it for people who want to start studying this beautiful language from the very beginning and considering any free course available. It is definitely the best option! Good luck everyone!!!

par Swati T

18 juil. 2021

I was interested in learning different languages as a part of my hobby and Korean is one of them. Before I started with this course, I have already seen many K Dramas and have listened to many K songs as well, which eventually made me interested in learning Hangul. This course helped me to understand Korean language in a very easy and effective way, teacher explained each and every topic superbly. As a student, flexible timings of this course allowed me to have my focus and to get enough time for me to study my main content. Quizzes are kind of easy but they are very much required to test our knowledge regarding what we have learnt and practice will make things perfect for us. I really enjoyed learning this language course. The best part of language learning for me was that it made me active, multitasking, efficient towards my work more than usual. I have shared about this course with many of my friends who are interested in learning different languages Thanks to the Yonsei University and special thanks to our teacher. I will be covering rest of the courses, regarding Hangul as well.

par Tan S Y D I

27 févr. 2016

First Step Korean is a really good beginner course to start learning Korean. The lectures are structured in a clear manner that gives the learner ample examples to understand the usage of the language and allows the learner to practice along very naturally with Prof. Kang.

Personally, when I learnt basic Korean through Korean TV shows and classes in a community club, it was hard for me to grasp the grammar as it was pretty confusing. This basic course allowed me to understand the usage of grammar, such as 이, 가, 은, 는 and transforming basic form verbs.

The lectures are delivered in a way that allows you to learn in a gradual manner and frequently review what you have learnt in previous lectures. The subtitles and notes make the lessons really easy to understand and follow.

Through Coursera's online platform, the video lectures allows easy review of the lecture without having to physically sit through a class. I'm glad and grateful that First Step Korean is offered on Coursera and I hope there's a Second Step Korean in the near future for us to carry on with intermediate learning.