Chevron Left
Retour à A Law Student's Toolkit

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour A Law Student's Toolkit par Université Yale

4.7
étoiles
1,282 évaluations

À propos du cours

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Meilleurs avis

HK

28 mars 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

CT

14 oct. 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 369 Avis pour A Law Student's Toolkit

par Loulou d S

29 avr. 2018

This course was one of my best opportunity in life. Practical and rich, worth every minute I spent. You really learn to understand the moves of good and capable lawyers, by the end of this course. The professor did an excellent effort to keep this course logic and the sessions independent. Haven't enjoyed such exceptionally simple (but not easy) presentation of mind twisting knowledge in years. Highly recommended. Thank you.

par Kathryn S

14 juil. 2020

I highly recommend this course! The video's are short and engaging and it is packed full of basic information for a person who is interested in law. We read a wide range of real life legal cases and judges decisions/opinions. We were given the opportunity to think deeply about laws and court procedings. There is too much to put in a short review, so take the class and see for yourself!

par Zarina

27 mai 2017

A Law Student's Toolkit is my first course taken on Coursera. I am beyond grateful to both Professor Ayres and Coursera for an opportunity to obtain useful knowledge in a convenient, clear, and concise manner. I really liked Quizzes and Written Assignments. Also I liked that we - the students - graded each other's assignments and provided reviews for future improvement. Thank you!

par Sudeepta S

28 oct. 2021

It can be challenging for first-comers but this course is extremely insightful into the world of law and designed to accommodate everyone - returning or prospective lawyers. The theories and concepts explored in this course are a great benchmark to see if anyone is intrigued by the idea of studying law in their tertiary studies. Great course, great lecturer!

par Cloe Z

7 janv. 2016

This is really a good set of tools for law students. I have finished the first week, and it really helped a lot already. The videos are not very long, so you can just spend 30 minutes everyday for one or two small videos. The professor uses formal legal language that may require extra work but if you like the legal reasoning, it's such a wonderful exercise!

par Anton V

7 juil. 2017

This is very good course. You actually have to use your brains for a change and compare to some other courses and it is not trivial especially for somebody who is begginer in law. I also like very much the material, lectures and how they were lectured. Profesor is very good and very clear at explaining and it is fun and pleasure to listen to him.

par Saidazim S

21 mai 2020

This course gave me so many new helpful skills and opened insights that I will employ in my future career. A lot of thanks to professor Ayres! His lectures were very effective and interesting. Do recommend this course to everyone who associates his life with law. Thanks Coursera for providing this course for everyone from all over the globe!

par Neri R

13 oct. 2020

This is an excellent course. The explanations were really clear. I confess that I had some struggles at the beginning trying to understand Legal English and the perks of Common Law and resolutions (my country uses Continetal/Roman Law). I found it as a experience full of professional growth and development of English Language Skills.

par Marianne

5 juin 2016

The course covers basic topics and tools to help excel in Law School. It's suggested reading and assignments shed more light on the issues discussed and gives a broader look into them.

The Professor is brief and provides examples for every topic learned.

If you are interested in Law school or Law in general then this is for you!

par Rachael W

29 mars 2017

Excellent course! Just what I needed to get back into the academic mindset before going back to school.

The readings are lengthy and difficult, but it's worth it.

The only change I might suggest is balancing the workload better between the three weeks. There are 4 assignments due in week 1, 2 in week 2 and only 1 in week 3.

par Karen C

4 juin 2020

Excellent course. I am an RN interested in the legal arena. I was very pleased with the knowledge acquired. If planning to attend law school, this certainly would have set the stage and provided a good informational pre-course.

I would recommend this course to any first-time law student in preparation for law school.

par Aleksei K

4 juil. 2019

I was very lucky to discover this course which combines fundamental law and economic concepts into one hilariously interesting sequence of lectures, readings, and discussions. I would make it a 'must' for all economics undergraduates and those interested in the topic. P.S. Be prepared for a lot of long-reads.

par Fred V

14 juil. 2022

This course entails a cavalcade through a few issues of legal reasoning. It takes the talent of Pr Ayres to make it a stroll, although challenging at times, but always interesting. The delivery is in a pleasant, conversational style, which is easy to listen to and follow. What more to ask? Only more of this.

par JOSÉ S M M

16 août 2020

Great course, apt for Law students/ professionals and everyone who is interested in knowing about the study of the Law. It was not a difficult course but it needed commitment, because the evaluations are many times in relation with some reading (that take time to understand to be able to answer correctly).

par Atreya T

17 juin 2020

It was a fantastic experience of about learning the basics of law and the judiciary system. And that law can be learnt and understood in a easy way by the tools which Prof. Ian Ayres was taught us in this course

And a big thank you to Coursera and Yale University for offering such an fantastic course.

par Shunyo M

31 août 2019

The Proffessor is the most engaging, examples of more difficult concepts given, along with simple often cute, humorous, hidden simplicity. Read the material. especially Ward Farnsworth..Fellow classmates supportive, and Proffessor accepting. Best Class!!!!Thank all.

par Kunal B

1 août 2017

If law is a cake then this course is an icing. It's a wonderful course which just teaches impeccable dichotomy which ultimately leads to better interpretation skills. I highly recommend this course for a law student. Cheers to Prof. Ian Ayres for the great work. :)

par Ruturaj J

15 janv. 2017

No one teaches this in Law School. You can learn this on your own, sure, but Prof. Ayres reduces the work of years into 3 weeks.

Click now, get to doing, and I guarantee that after three awesome weeks you will love the law, and the law will love you back!

par Richard J G

10 juil. 2020

Like the content. Lectures are very effective. I have done some law units so I wasn't surprised by what I found. The tasks are well-organised and the peer-assessment works surprisingly well. Good to get a window on the U.S. system and approach as well.

par scalesr4

5 août 2017

I found this course to be engaging on many levels. I'm in a subsection of this discipline professionally and any information and or tools that I can utilize are appreciated. I thought the Professor's love of the law showed! Thanks Yale and Coursera!

par Andrés M R

15 juin 2020

Muy bien curso, sin embargo yo creo que si necesitas saber algo de derecho para completarlo, y si eres de otro país es aún más difícil ya que al menos en mi caso obviamente no se parece nada al derecho en mi país, fue como estudiar desde cero.

par rami a

22 avr. 2020

It is absolutely fabulous course. Gave the initial information I needed to have an opinion about law and even acquire knowledge that is definitely going to help me a lot. I am amazed by the course and I will be more than happy to take it again

par Line R

22 mars 2016

Very good videos of Professor Ayers explaining everything in a way that makes you understand everything a bit better, than when reading it yourself. Definitely useful for people who is going to law school or want start at law school.

par Anthony L C

8 janv. 2020

This course is very thought provoking as a person who holds a degree in Government, as well as Social Policy. I am rarely challenged by intellectual pursuits yet this course has commanded a lot of my attention and focus. I love it!

par Rajesh S

22 juin 2021

This is such a informative and well presented course. A must for all law students, it touches upon the fundamental issues and basic topics that form the foundation of various subjects during the law degree course.