Chevron Left
Retour à Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition par Université d'État de l'Arizona

4.9
étoiles
5,896 évaluations
1,776 avis

À propos du cours

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Points forts
Applicable teachings

(121 avis)

Creatively designed course

(270 avis)

Meilleurs avis

AA

21 juin 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ

10 juin 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,759 Avis pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

par C. C

9 janv. 2016

It is a very enjoyable course, and anyone should take it even if only for the entertainment value! The professor is a stellar actor and the lesson plans are very well-made. That been said, the final exam is not easy! But it's worth it! :) I smiled so much all throughout this course, having this professor as a teacher was a real treat!

par Cynndi N

23 déc. 2018

If you have gotten this far - MY ADVICE: Don't cheat yourself; dismiss any excuse or obstacle that prevents you from continuing because it is SO WORTH IT!! You will have fun in finding out more about yourself and the feedback from peers is so worth you taking a second look at what you thought you were doing 'right'. A++ ASU courses!

par Justin I R

11 juil. 2017

It provided me with a clear view of what is going on in the teaching world. Before I had seen teachers that stubbornly prefer one approach. Now I understand the purpose of different approaches and can better fit them to the students I am teaching. Understanding the purpose, I feel I can better understand how to teach each approach.

par Bohdana Z

18 avr. 2016

I really enjoyed this course. Professional, fun, filled with tons of useful information. I recommend to take the Lesson Design as well. Then it really clicks, all the theory they teach you is actually applied to all the courses of this Specialization in the videos, the assignments...reinforces the message😉 Great job team ASU👍😊

par Joshimar E d l R

3 avr. 2019

Excelentes cursos, antes de tomar los cursos que eh llevado hasta ahora no creia que se pudiese aprender tanto de cursos en linea, pero vaya que estaba equivocado, el Dr. Dixon y su equipo tienen la medotologia perfecta para transmitir sus conocimientos a traves videos y las practicas que se llevan a cabo en los cursos de TESOL

par Mudita G

11 août 2020

I really like this course. It offers theoretical background and concepts in Second Language Acquisition in a simple way for everyone who may have or not have an academic background. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to be a well-prepared teacher and for any professional who wants to refresh and strengthen their knowledge.

par Roohi R D

8 déc. 2019

A comprehensive, elaborate course which effectively contrasts, compares and lays down techniques that modern teachers could use in their language teaching classroom. The teaching models used and demonstrations are praiseworthy in terms of their effectiveness in communicating the gamut of information necessary for the course.

par Reenie P

14 avr. 2021

This course was very enlightening for me as a teacher! It has lots of history explained in a way that is concise and entertaining. It´s interesting to see how a course designed for teachers is so well thought out, it can be used as an example of how true teaching and lessons with adequate planning lead to a great experience!

par Theresa M

15 déc. 2015

The instructors' videos are hilarious, making the content memorable. Well worth paying for this course just for its comedic value alone. Unlike the first course in the specialization, which focused on students speaking through video recordings, the second course focuses on writing short answers to demonstrate comprehension.

par Konul H

22 févr. 2021

My dear teachers!

You are amazing! Energetic, enthusiastic, well-educated, and professional!

You motivated me and I have learned a lot of techniques and strategies.

I can compare all the techniques and choose the best one now.

I appreciate your effort and hope I will be as professional as you one day God willing.

Thanks a lot.

I

par John K S

4 août 2018

This course is personal, fun, and well-paced. It has filled gaps in my understanding of how to teach English as a second language. The presentations are documented, so I have been able to read beyond what was presented in the course. I'm surprised how much I like to review what other students write about the material.

par Thu H N

31 août 2021

The course's contents are so well-organized and well-presented that I, as a learner, consider completing this course an enjoyment instead of a task. The knowledge gained from this course is absolutely helpful for me as an English teacher to enhance my professional expertise. Thanks for the wonderful lessons, lecturers.

par Leo S

14 juil. 2020

I have taken a lot of online courses but definitely this is the best course, it is excellent for many reasons, the methodology of the instructors, the material of content, the videos, the inspiration and passion of the theacers, I recommend this course for every teacher, not only languages teachers but for all of them.

par Deonne R M

9 févr. 2018

This course offers deep insights on the specifics of how to prepare students to maximize language acquisition skills. The content and techniques are appropriate and very relevant to real life. The presenters are quite knowledgeable and enthusiastic in delivering each lesson.

I highly recommend. Thank you Coursera!

par Sutiksha D

14 juin 2021

A wonderful course which has carefully created content just apt for online learning platform. I like the way it is presented by the awesome teachers. Not even for a minute is it boring or dragging anywhere. It actually motivates one to inculcate all the principles and new techniques learned in your everyday teaching.

par Yara N

2 juil. 2019

The course is a collection of the most wonderful videos that present information in a creative, fun and beneficial way. I enjoyed the lectures and learned a lot of valuable information. besides that I gained many useful new techniques to apply in my own classroom. Thanks to everyone that helped creating this course.

par Anna N

5 oct. 2021

This course is really helpful to me. I have applied some approaches in this course to my class. I have learned some more great approaches from history. I can combine these approaches to my class to help students acquire the language easily and feel more interested in studying languages. Thanks a lot for your help!

par Janette H

2 nov. 2016

This course was quite enlightening. Having "traveled" and compared the various approaches to learning a language - even teaching a language has provided me with much insight. I am delighted that I made the time to listen and observe the practical strategies presented by the very enthusiastic Dr. Dixon. Thank you

par MICHAEL N R

6 mai 2020

This course was well thought of. As I went through the modules, I was learning while enjoying. I admire the effort the team put into it. The manner they organized the topics was of a high international standard: clear, direct and substantial with perfect consideration of time vis a vis learners' attention span.

par Xiangyi L

22 mars 2020

I am watching this course just at week2, usually I don't comment till I finish but I must say this is an excellent course, and the delivery of this course is really interesting. the acting of different roles really made me laugh so much. thank you for making effort of making this MOOC all faculty in TESOL ASU!!

par Tatiana

11 déc. 2017

The second part of the course is absolutely fantastic. I really enjoyed the videos thanks to the presenters' acting skills and charisma. There was plenty of valuable information which is essential for my work as a teacher. The course provides a lot of fresh ideas about our work and giving our students the best.

par Sney

2 mars 2021

Dear Teachers I am so glad for this course but especially glad for your knowledge and abilities you are sharing here) It is my great chance to be introduced absolutely other sides of teaching English with such incredible teachers! Wishing all of you great health and further more success)))

best regards Nurshat

par 艾美WU

7 août 2019

It's a very great course for having a good understanding of the theories of SLA. If you are one of the teachers who want to know how those SLA theories evolved and what are their merits and demerits and what you can learn from those theories to improve your quality of teaching. I highly recommend this course!

par Dmitrii K

28 déc. 2020

The history of ESL is presented in a way that helps students retain information and use it later to improve their teaching skills. The assignments are thought-provoking and challenging. I recommend this course to anyone who would like to improve their understanding of what they can do in a classroom and why.

par José E B H

20 juin 2022

I cannot thank enough Coursera, Arizona State University, Dr. Shane Dixon and everyone involved to make this happen! I was able to start my classes on a professional level, with deeper insight in what it means to be a teacher nowadays. I look further to keep learning and acquiring more skills and knowledge!