Chevron Left
Retour à Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition par Université d'État de l'Arizona

4.9
étoiles
5,159 évaluations
1,570 avis

À propos du cours

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Points forts
Applicable teachings
(121 avis)
Creatively designed course
(270 avis)

Meilleurs avis

NZ
10 juin 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

ZY
10 oct. 2018

Teachers are great. The course is fun and informative. I love this specialization. I look forward to completing all the courses as soon as possible. I highly recommend this course and specialization.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,529 Avis pour Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

par Catherine M D

14 août 2017

I loved this course so much that I continued and finished it within a couple of days. The information that I learned here was quite intriguing. The instructors made the course engaging and made me want to learn more about the different learning approaches. Thank you so much for such a great course!

par Jacqueline K

24 oct. 2016

Excellent and comprehensive course that goes into detail about ESL teaching theory. Manageable workload and plenty of time and resources to complete assessments. I have recommended this to all of my linguist and TESOL friends who are lacking a certificate. It is a phenomenal course and opportunity.

par Glenia L

10 janv. 2016

I am about to finish this course and I loved it. It is a great overview of the theories of SLA and although it says it takes 6 weeks, as I am on vacation now, I ended up finishing it in four days, working for about 4-5 hours/day. So, I highly recommend it to anyone interested in teaching languages.

par ELMA J C

12 avr. 2021

Very informative and easy to follow procedures. A good review of the theories of SLA and how to teach in an SLA-oriented classroom. At some point, I tend to not focus on the theories and the theorists of SLA, however, learning them is a great tool to guide oneself and reevaluate goals of teaching.

par Cherry A V

16 févr. 2021

Our dearest TESOL instructor is really great Dr. Shane Dixon and Ms. Jessica Cinco for unselfishly sharing their knowledge and wisdom to us. This is best achievement for us to be part of this scholarship grant. Additional knowledge and it makes our time worthy in this time of pandemic. Thank you

par Joshua L

9 mars 2021

Module 2 required substantial effort and the challenges presented helped you grasp a deeper understanding of teaching ESL. Also, the provisions listed in the techniques are in strong correlation to those in Module 1 and can help you develop a wonderful technique that can be used in the classroom.

par M. C

17 sept. 2018

I have completed courses 1-3 in the first sequence of courses of the Teach English Now! program and all of them have been phenomenal! The program is extremely well constructed and the teachers leading the courses are dynamic, funny, and dedicated to the art of teaching. I can't wait to take more!

par Ahmad A F

2 avr. 2017

Beautifully compiled course by the team at ASU. Bite-size pieces on some wonderful content relevant to each teacher ACROSS THE WORLD. How can something this nice be practically free! :) Thank you ASU! keep up the good work - you are enriching & empowering the lives of teachers all over the world!

par Angelyn C L

18 janv. 2020

I really learned a lot from this course. I thought I knew many things about this already but no. This helps me a lot especially as a teacher it refreshes and it adds a lot to what I know.. This course is very worth to take. Double thumbs up to very good instructors and developers of this course.

par Fatih

6 janv. 2020

it is very nice. but like in any other subject history and theories they are really boring. it is very necessary to learn and get lessons from those. however teachers did great job by explaining very smoothly and professionally. appreciate the expertise.. great job. Dr Shane and Jessica..Cheers.

par Andres F L V

11 août 2019

Very dynamic and interesting way to learn about the different approaches to teaching languages. It is a historical voyage that takes us to different teachers, theorists and scientists who discussed who learns the language, why he learns it, why and how it is taught and which materials are used.

par Sadia M

7 août 2016

Love the way Dr. Shane is representing different approaches with appropriate dress code & dialogues from previous eras.. I have learned all these methods before in my TESOL course of final year Literature studies. Its like revising all the knowledge that I had learned 6 months back in 2015. (Y)

par Iman H A A

6 janv. 2021

Although I hate theoretical study material, yet enjoyed the course. I am a banker and like numbers! But honestly it was interesting. Thanks professor Shane you made something interesting form a tedious theoretical study material. I liked the noble you arguing with the devil.

God bless you all.

par Partha S

16 août 2016

Awesome, I only need just one word "awesome" to express what I think of this course. With ease, I've learned about all the historical approaches of language learning; although, I've read these approaches before, but I never understood them so well until now. many thanks to ASU and Shane Dixon.

par Christina F

13 févr. 2016

This course was really time taking as in it required a committed time to read through and analyze different approaches. I felt like a student after a long time. Thank you Dr. Shane for your different avatars and Ms. Jessica for a very clear summarization. Thanks to all the teachers involved.

par N N S R

20 oct. 2016

This is course is useful for teachers who are interested in teaching English as a second language and particularly who wish to use combinations of historically evolved methods in contemporary teaching. I derived a lot of benefit from the course. I thank all the teachers for their inputs.

par Lindemberg P d S

23 avr. 2019

Awesome!!! It's pretty interesting to know the development of teaching a foreign language since 19th until the present days! I believe that every foreign or English teacher should have, at least, a basic knowledge of ESL language learning in order improve their skills and lessons better.

par Marina H

29 nov. 2017

As teachers we have to know differences between Approaches in order to make a class productive. All of these simulated possible activities and techniques for learners to use in our own classes.This course help us how can we implement these ideas . It`s very interesting, funny and useful.

par Monica P C C

3 févr. 2019

Very good course! I learned the different approaches that an ESL tecaher uses in their courses. Although I instinctively knew some of them, I did not know where they come from or why, and it helped me clarify those doubts, as well as learning many new techniques I can use in the future.

par Konstantin U

17 oct. 2018

Wonderful! I love how informative and fun the instructor and his team have made the course. The reenactments and role-plays are awesome. The instructor is not only a great teacher, but also a talented actor! The information in the course has substance and is also practical for teaching.

par Lingling Y

14 févr. 2020

Very enjoyable especially with the time machine going back in time where Dr Shane dressed for the era. Excellent effort. Learnt a lot through the evolution of the theories in language learning. It helps me to recall some of the things i had learnt 6 years back in the Teaching College.

par BUNYAMIN C

16 avr. 2017

Every lesson I have faced new useful and effective information... Generally this course we have seen some Approaches, I mean methodology... As you know methodology is a very boring issue but I have seen and gotten them very enjoyable way in this courses' videos. Thank you very much

par Nafisa A

1 oct. 2020

I would like to thank all the staff of the Teach English Now course staff. The courses are very informative and helpful. Thank you for giving us such a great opportunity to learn online and take courses from professional teachers. I'm very grateful being a part of this community.

par VICKY K

13 févr. 2016

The way the theories are represented in such a funny way ,it catches your attention.It was a very interesting course in which I learnt the basic theories of Second Language Acquisition and I understood how these theories have formed the current way of teaching.Excellent work!

par Nancy E M

18 janv. 2016

Absolutely brilliant course. Covers a wide range of language acquisition techniques through the years and the advantages and disadvantages of each, as well as how each one may look like today, what has been kept, and what my be modified and how for use in today's classrooms.