Chevron Left
Retour à Le demi-siècle d'après la mort de Kennedy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Le demi-siècle d'après la mort de Kennedy par Université de Virginie

4.6
étoiles
381 évaluations
111 avis

À propos du cours

When John F. Kennedy entered the presidential limousine at Love Field in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963, he began his ride into history. That journey continues even today and we call it the Kennedy legacy. This course will explore the Presidency, assassination, and lasting legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Students will learn how JFK’s life, administration, and tragic death have influenced the general public, the media, and each of the nine U.S. presidents who followed. Understanding the Kennedy legacy and being able to identify elements of his legacy within the context of modern politics helps understand many of the vexing problems that developed over the last half century as well as many of the challenges that confront us today. November 22, 1963 was so powerful a moment that in the fifty years since the assassination, every U.S. President that followed JFK has used Kennedy’s words and actions in an effort to craft their own political image. Why does Kennedy’s influence persist, and will it continue? What are the effects? We’ll address these questions and more as we explore The Kennedy Half Century. Follow on Twitter: @JFKclass....

Meilleurs avis

JN

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

KS

Oct 22, 2015

I really loved this class! Professor Sabato taught this class so eloquently and so well. I have studied the JFK Presidency and Assassination for years, and I loved learning more from this course.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 111 Avis pour Le demi-siècle d'après la mort de Kennedy

par Michelle M

Jan 01, 2019

A fairly well rounded course on JFK and his legacy. Some new information interwoven with some traditional history on JFK. Overall an interesting course.

par David H

Oct 08, 2019

I found the course very insightful when considering the huge influence JFK had on future presidents and policies. I do believe he rocked too many boats and it cost him his life. Professor Sabato has put together a well organized and chronological timeline before,during and after JFK's Presidency. Further reading is definitely required and a good start would be Sabato's book, which he repeatedly endorsed. Overall an enjoyable and informative course.

par John C

Feb 25, 2019

Extremely informative course. I especially liked the fact that it showed JFK in a humanistic and real light rather than how he was often romanticized by the general public. I also liked that LBJ was talked about in some positive light, illustrating that he was the forerunner to many of the policies set up by JFK.

Very informative and very educational and entertaining.

J.C

par Amelia R

Feb 01, 2016

Great course! I definitely enjoyed watching every single video and doing my own side reasearch on things I wanted to learn a little bit more about. I did buy the book, but that is also something I didn't like about the course. It seemed like the course's sole purpose was to get us to buy the book. There were so many moments where it would have sufficed to expand or explain something a little further, instead of just giving us an inconclusive idea and then tell us to check the book. This made it look and feel more like an advertisement for the book. But despite all that, I learned a lot and it was a great topic and wonderfully prepared. You just have to ignore the book deal.

par jean j

Oct 15, 2015

good course. professor tries to sell his book too much. it's emba

par Manuela P

Sep 29, 2015

I wish a more extensive exam was administered. I think it was far too easy to pass. Gives the impression the course was not to be taken seriously, while, quite on the contrary, it was interesting and would deserve much effort.

par michael m

Dec 14, 2016

Subject matter was well presented except too many stops to push his book.

par Marco B

Oct 06, 2016

An interesting documentary but I wouldn't call this a university course. Quite annoying the continuous advertising of the professor's book.

par Keith R

May 26, 2016

Seems light on material. Professor misses no opportunity to pitch his book.

par Leah G

Apr 07, 2017

I enjoyed the course and the book very much. Kennedy's life, presidency, and legacy is a fascinating topic in modern American political history, and Professor Sabato took an interesting approach to it. I'm too young to have as visceral a reaction to the stories as my parents do, and partly I wanted to understand that generation of Americans and the effect that these events had on them better. Also, the Kennedy years were such an interesting historical moment, a time of great change and great potential (for both good and awful things). It was very interesting to listen to the professor trace the historical effects of many of the events of those days, and to see him measure the impact on later presidencies and world events. It was a brief class, and even the book couldn't go into enough detail for many of these topics, but I thought this was a good overview, and it merely sharpened my interest to learn more from other sources with other perspectives or areas of focus in the future. A very interesting and stimulating course.

par J P W

Aug 18, 2015

This is a fabulous course, covering the political career and tumultuous personal life of the enigmatic and iconic figure JFK. The course presented in a thoughtful and reflective manner which offers valuable insights from an individual who is not only well versed in the field but who also adds a charming sense of personal involvement spiced with his own insights and recollections from the period. relevant, interesting and informative, this is a true learning experience and one of the most interesting courses I have undertaken to date.

par Scott M

Jun 06, 2020

Having been born in 1955, I have childhood memories of the Kennedy Administration, especially the Cuban Missile Crisis and the assassination. This course has helped me to understand the perspectives and experiences of those who were adults at that time. The only thing I don't quite like is the amount of time Prof. Sabato spends promoting his own book. I'm not sure that is really appropriate for Coursera. But the course is still a masterwork among Coursera courses.

par Darlene M

Mar 14, 2016

The legacy and assassination of JFK impacted my life greatly. As a 7th grader in my grade school, we held an election and I ran and won the election as JFK. I remember exactly where I was when the assassination occurred. I have studied President JFK ever since so this course was highly interesting to me and appreciated hearing a new perspective on his legacy and learning of his influence on his presidential successors.

par Mauricio E

Jul 31, 2020

Very well organized, enough information and good narrative.

I like the comment that Kennedy has been more recognized and admired not for his realizations but for the tragic event of his death on the top of his career, something similar occurred with the beatles, they continued been famous due to his abrupt split on the top of their career.

Thank you for give me the opportunity to learn about the history.

par veronique

Aug 18, 2015

Liked the course a lot, very nice instructor who you like listening to. he articulates very well and has a good voice and pace of speaking.

my suggestion would be to include subtitles for the video's of the speeches of JFK, or the intervieuws with former presidents, because the audio is not that clear and for non-native English speakers, difficult to understand.

Many thanks, very good course!

Veronique

par Yolanda C L G

Nov 21, 2016

Fabuloso, excelente. Me encantò este curso. Es ameno, bien explicado, completo, imparcial. Muchas gracias, profesor Sabato. En mi familia siempre hemos admirado a John Kennedy, pero a partir de que tomè este curso, le admiraremos màs. Su curso ademàs me motivò a superarme en todos aspectos. Kennedy no era un conformista. A mi nivel, tampoco debo serlo yo.

par Jeff H

Nov 04, 2015

Thank you very much Prof Sabato for a very interesting course. I found the historical videos fascinating and your clear explanations and personal memories very effectively brought back a very important chapter of world's history. Thank you also to the other members of Virginia university were involved in the organization of this course.

par Joni P

Jul 07, 2020

University of Virginia Professor Larry Sabato gives a fascinating series of lectures about the influence of JFK. I was acquainted with much of the material about Kennedy's life, but not as aware of the deceased president's large influence on his successors. Who knew Ronald Reagan was such a big JFK fan?

Highly recommend course!

par Maddison C

Jul 13, 2017

Really interesting and enjoyable. I really liked the wide range of topics the course covered from JFK's entire political career to his legacy all the way up to Obama. The course has enough detail to remain interesting the entire time yet is brief enough that the course can be completed quickly.

par Simon E C

Jun 26, 2020

What an outstanding course full of interesting facts and beautifully presented by Professor Sabato who is both articulate and eloquent.Of all the history courses I have studied on Coursera this is without doubt thee best.I have recommended this course to all my friends and colleagues.

par Flavia C

May 19, 2020

This was a very interesting course! The professor is knowledgeable, engaging and clearly passionate about the topic. Strongly recommended for history lovers, or for those who seek a greater understanding of the Kennedy legacy and its endurance.

par Julie A N

Oct 25, 2016

WONDERFUL course! Mr. Sabato does a fabulous job. I have an undergraduate degree is US History with a focus on the 1960s. This course provided me with a much deeper understanding of the impact and role JFK played. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

par Jo A B

May 07, 2020

Excellent! I would also encourage anyone taking this course to read, Professor Sabato's companion book, "The Kennedy Half Century" which goes in depth with the life of John F. Kennedy's . An excellent read! BRAVO, Prof. Sabato!!!

par Stacy L

Apr 26, 2020

This course was very well-organized and focused on JFK's politics, policies, and legacy through the politics and policies of those who followed. I look forward to reading the book, which is authored by the course instructor.