Chevron Left
Retour à Julia Scientific Programming

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Julia Scientific Programming par Université du Cap

4.5
157 notes
54 avis

À propos du cours

This four-module course introduces users to Julia as a first language. Julia is a high-level, high-performance dynamic programming language developed specifically for scientific computing. This language will be particularly useful for applications in physics, chemistry, astronomy, engineering, data science, bioinformatics and many more. As open source software, you will always have it available throughout your working life. It can also be used from the command line, program files or a new type of interface known as a Jupyter notebook (which is freely available as a service from JuliaBox.com). Julia is designed to address the requirements of high-performance numerical and scientific computing while also being effective for general-purpose programming. You will be able to access all the available processors and memory, scrape data from anywhere on the web, and have it always accessible through any device you care to use as long as it has a browser. Join us to discover new computing possibilities. Let's get started on learning Julia. By the end of the course you will be able to: - Programme using the Julia language by practising through assignments - Write your own simple Julia programs from scratch - Understand the advantages and capacities of Julia as a computing language - Work in Jupyter notebooks using the Julia language - Use various Julia packages such as Plots, DataFrames and Stats The course is delivered through video lectures, on-screen demonstrations, quizzes and practical peer-reviewed projects designed to give you an opportunity to work with the packages....

Meilleurs avis

SP

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.

NP

Aug 06, 2017

It was very exciting. I widen further, my computing horizons\n\nHope, that the university will launch in the near future, a more advanced course of "Julia Scientific Programming"

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 51 Examens pour Julia Scientific Programming

par Paul F G

Jan 28, 2019

Great course, well taught and thorough. I would only add that it needs to be updated from the version in the course (0.4.6) to the latest, full version of Julia, e.g. (1.x). I would have given 5 stars but for that fact.

par Ian W

Apr 09, 2019

Very well designed and organized. Had a lot of fun learning with this course!

par Ehsan M

Apr 09, 2019

The course wasn't well prepared. There were two teacher with completely different pace of teaching. First one slow and the second one very fast. The content provided for weeks weren't balanced. the 4th week took 3 times more time compared to each of the first three weeks. The transition of the content to the new Julia version in the middle of taking the course made a lot of trouble. There were a lot of inconsistencies.

par Leonel M

Mar 21, 2019

Good Course

par João V d P

Mar 05, 2019

Curso muito bom, no entanto, falta atualização para Julia 1.0

par YinpuLi

Jan 20, 2019

It is very simple to get hands on with examples and practice quizzes. However, it will be so much better if updated with Julia v. 1.0+.

par A. C T

Dec 30, 2018

Good pace, materials and choices of problem sets.

par Subhankar

Aug 20, 2018

The course could have been much better if it was more aligned with the language itself instead of the epidemic and disease stuffs.

par Luis A C G

May 28, 2018

While it's indeed a very good introduction to Julia lang, it makes no sense videos are based on course notes. I paid for the course because it has very positive comments, but in my opinion it doesn't worth it.

par Jonathan K

May 21, 2018

Good introduction to basic julia.

par Peter D

May 13, 2018

Nice introduction into Julia. The content is well structured and provides enough details so you can write your own (basic) data science routines in Julia. I also liked the Ebola use-case and to learn about modelling such an outbreak.

Personally I would prefer more videos about some of the more advanced language features and less about plotting libraries and the likes. But I guess that really depends what you are looking for.

Overall a highly recommended course.

par Francois C

May 11, 2018

Nice introduction to Julia.

par MARIO Z A

May 09, 2018

Un excelente curso para iniciarse en la programación cientifica.

par Antonio P

May 07, 2018

Great course!

par Josué T C

Apr 06, 2018

It teaches the basics of programming in Julia and it is a good initation for getting familiar with Julia.

par Nuno G

Apr 06, 2018

I found this a great introductory course on Julia for scientists. I specially loved the classes about data frames, user-defined types, and the Gadfly package.

The course needs to be updated, though, videos, exercises and Julia notebooks. Nothing too serious, yet, but some of the contents need to be reviewed in face of the current development status of Julia.

I am looking forward to see a course on data science with Julia.

par Abdullah D

Feb 28, 2018

Good course with good content. I didn't like so much the grading with peer review, as it delayed my completion of the course. Nevertheless, a good course.

par Svyatoslav P

Jan 27, 2018

Excellent, engaging teaching that makes me want to use Julia language (and Jupyter notebooks) all the time. As the language evolves, you need to adjust to newer Julia versions - just a part of fun.

par 刘晶

Jan 16, 2018

It's a very good course for beginners of Julia, though I have learned Julia for more than one year, I still learned many useful things in this course. Julia is so beautiful, wonderful and powerful, and two honorable professors have deep insight about it, I hope there are more and more people will learn it through this course and make the world better.

par S S A R

Dec 25, 2017

Poorly organised course content

par 林胜义

Dec 07, 2017

本来对Julia一无所知,现在可以用Juila来一些数据处理,实现自己的一些想法,处理一些繁杂的数据,真正学到了一项技能

par Mark S

Nov 22, 2017

The course was excellent. Thank you for all the work that has gone into this. I recommend it for anyone who wishes to start using Julia or is simply curious about Julia.

par Ananda N

Nov 21, 2017

Wonderful course to know the basics of Julia progamming

par Arshpreet s

Nov 15, 2017

Amazing Explanation, in-Depth and concise, Well taught course, Loved the Julia Programming and it's inbuilt functions.

par Sergio-Feliciano M

Sep 05, 2017

This is a great course to begin Julia programming!