Chevron Left
Retour à Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life par Université Yale

4.7
étoiles
334 évaluations
93 avis

À propos du cours

Journey of the Universe weaves together the discoveries of the evolutionary sciences together with humanities such as history, philosophy, art, and religion. The course draws on the Emmy-award winning film, Journey of the Universe, and the book from Yale University Press. Journey explores cosmic evolution as a creative process based on connection, interdependence, and emergence. It examines a range of dynamic interactions in the unfolding of galaxies, Earth, life, and human communities. It investigates ways in which we understand evolutionary processes and the implications for humans and our ecological future. The Journey course, thus, is based on a new integration that is emerging from the dialogue of the sciences and humanities. Journey tells the story of evolution as an epic narrative, rather than as a series of facts separated by scientific disciplines. This changes our perception so that we begin to see ourselves as an integral part of this narrative. By situating ourselves within this story we can better appreciate the complexity and beauty of processes such as self-organizing dynamics, natural selection, emergence, symbiosis, and co-evolution. As we discover these intricate processes of evolution, we awaken to the beauty and complexity of our natural environment at this critical juncture in our planetary history....

Meilleurs avis

DS

May 05, 2020

Very, very insightful. Best course that I participated in. I simply loved it. And if you (the reader of this review) have any sort of curiosity regarding reasons of existence, this course is for you.

DH

Oct 21, 2018

I love everything about this. Plan to go back sometime later and explore more of the websites and links that are referenced. I especially enjoy material from the American Museum of Natural History.

Filtrer par :

76 - 90 sur 90 Avis pour Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life

par jeetendra k

Aug 06, 2020

tq

par T.J. E

Jun 16, 2020

This course is at times thrilling and mind-expanding, at other times repetitive and dull. The topic, most of the readings, and about half the videos, are captivating and exciting and world-view changing. But the material (internal readings followed by video lectures followed by video interviews followed by video excerpts from a documentary followed by external readings, etc.) do not, in my opinion, compliment or add to each other so much as simply keep repeating the same thing in multiple medias. So, in this way, the course somehow achieved to be both thrilling and dull at the same time. However, the course is well worth it if you are interested in big ideas like deep history, human capacity for story-making, meaning-making, and mythology, and the human spirit. Despite the title, these are the big themes, while actual cosmology or astronomy are secondary (though important). I give a big thanks to the creators of the course for exposing me to Wendell Berry and this big idea of Cosmological storytelling.

par Al A

Oct 22, 2017

I liked this course however it seemed to center on the film as the core content, sometimes feeling like an elaborate advertisement for the film/book. It would be great to have a course that went deeper into the scientific findings that are described, and didn't draw on only the film as the source material.

par Susan H

Feb 23, 2017

Awesome documentary! Just sad that we can't do this course without having to subscribe. Is there any way to make it more accessible? Such as allowing the non-paying students to submit quizzes and assignments?

par Vedant A

Dec 25, 2017

Great course for understanding history of universe.

par Aahan R

Aug 21, 2020

Quite brilliant actually.

par Miracle

Sep 20, 2017

interesting hh~

par Yashaswi s

May 09, 2020

.

par Kenneth R

Jun 11, 2017

I appreciate the great amount of thought and effort that the instructors put into this course, but to me, it fell flat. I did not learn a great deal that was new, and certainly nothing in any great depth. If you have been keeping up with popular accounts of science in newspapers, magazines, or on the web, you probably are familiar with all the scientific concepts that the course presents. And the framing of those concepts in the course simply bothered me. The instructors can't help mixing notions of purpose and intent into science, as if that is necessary to experience what they value so highly: wonder. In fact, you can understand, wonder at, and value life without bringing in teleology. Sometimes looking for purpose distracts you from beauty. I would advise potential students that their time would be better spent taking a more traditional natural science course. Have patience. Study deeply. You will find beauty there. As Darwin wrote, about the study of evolution, "There is grandeur in this view of life ...."

par Leslie G

Jan 28, 2017

The material was amazing (thank you!), but for those who audit, being excluded from the discussions and the tests at the end of each unit made for a "less than" experience. Please don't call yourself a MOOC if the free content is so different from the paid version. I'd like for my Coursera listed courses to show this as complete (but without the badge or Yale specific recognition) but it shows that I didn't complete the course, didn't meet the deadlines because I can't do (although I can see) the needed assignments. For me, I don't need badges or certificates, but I do like being able to access and do everything within a course. This "less than" experience isn't how most Coursera courses work. If the content wasn't so amazing, I would have given even fewer stars.

par Juan M

Nov 04, 2016

The basic ideas exposed during the course are interesting and good food for thought. However the course contents practically depend on the film and book by Swimme and Tucker; so at the beginning of the course one is shown the complete film, and over the ensuing weeks a particular book chapter and its corresponding fraction of the film is presented again; the quiz (which is very little demanding) at the end of the week is basically based on those contents. I paid for the certificate since the idea of a "specialization" appealed to me, but I am not sure it was worth.

par Curt H

Apr 12, 2017

The content is really great....However, you can buy the book for $15 and get almost all of the same information — in sum, the class is essentially chapters from the book, the movie and a bunch of links to websites with relevant content.

par Yuhua Y

Aug 14, 2017

It is not so academic as I thought. Thomas Berry is an extraordinary scholar undoubtedly, but the lectures put too much personal affection onto Thomas Berry, which makes me uncomfortable.

par Peter M

Oct 14, 2020

If you like 5th to 6th grade level material presented in the spirit of an Allen Alda type on a PBS special then this is for you. I cant believe Yale would sponsor such dribble.

par Joy S

Jan 28, 2017

The gobbledygook mooc. Worst bunch of talking a lot and saying nothing I ever encountered.