Chevron Left
Retour à Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life par Université Yale

4.7
étoiles
343 évaluations
95 avis

À propos du cours

Journey of the Universe weaves together the discoveries of the evolutionary sciences together with humanities such as history, philosophy, art, and religion. The course draws on the Emmy-award winning film, Journey of the Universe, and the book from Yale University Press. Journey explores cosmic evolution as a creative process based on connection, interdependence, and emergence. It examines a range of dynamic interactions in the unfolding of galaxies, Earth, life, and human communities. It investigates ways in which we understand evolutionary processes and the implications for humans and our ecological future. The Journey course, thus, is based on a new integration that is emerging from the dialogue of the sciences and humanities. Journey tells the story of evolution as an epic narrative, rather than as a series of facts separated by scientific disciplines. This changes our perception so that we begin to see ourselves as an integral part of this narrative. By situating ourselves within this story we can better appreciate the complexity and beauty of processes such as self-organizing dynamics, natural selection, emergence, symbiosis, and co-evolution. As we discover these intricate processes of evolution, we awaken to the beauty and complexity of our natural environment at this critical juncture in our planetary history....

Meilleurs avis

DS
4 mai 2020

Very, very insightful. Best course that I participated in. I simply loved it. And if you (the reader of this review) have any sort of curiosity regarding reasons of existence, this course is for you.

DH
20 oct. 2018

I love everything about this. Plan to go back sometime later and explore more of the websites and links that are referenced. I especially enjoy material from the American Museum of Natural History.

Filtrer par :

76 - 92 sur 92 Avis pour Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life

par ERICK A G

2 août 2020

Great!

par Dibyanshu S D

22 juil. 2020

Great

par JEETENDRA K 1

6 août 2020

tq

par T.J. E

16 juin 2020

This course is at times thrilling and mind-expanding, at other times repetitive and dull. The topic, most of the readings, and about half the videos, are captivating and exciting and world-view changing. But the material (internal readings followed by video lectures followed by video interviews followed by video excerpts from a documentary followed by external readings, etc.) do not, in my opinion, compliment or add to each other so much as simply keep repeating the same thing in multiple medias. So, in this way, the course somehow achieved to be both thrilling and dull at the same time. However, the course is well worth it if you are interested in big ideas like deep history, human capacity for story-making, meaning-making, and mythology, and the human spirit. Despite the title, these are the big themes, while actual cosmology or astronomy are secondary (though important). I give a big thanks to the creators of the course for exposing me to Wendell Berry and this big idea of Cosmological storytelling.

par Al A

21 oct. 2017

I liked this course however it seemed to center on the film as the core content, sometimes feeling like an elaborate advertisement for the film/book. It would be great to have a course that went deeper into the scientific findings that are described, and didn't draw on only the film as the source material.

par Susan H

23 févr. 2017

Awesome documentary! Just sad that we can't do this course without having to subscribe. Is there any way to make it more accessible? Such as allowing the non-paying students to submit quizzes and assignments?

par Andrew V

29 nov. 2020

This course has been a beautiful elucidation of the creative and self organizing nature of the evolution of the cosmos and of life itself.

par Vedant A

25 déc. 2017

Great course for understanding history of universe.

par Aahan R

21 août 2020

Quite brilliant actually.

par Miracle

20 sept. 2017

interesting hh~

par Yashaswi s

9 mai 2020

.

par Leslie G

28 janv. 2017

The material was amazing (thank you!), but for those who audit, being excluded from the discussions and the tests at the end of each unit made for a "less than" experience. Please don't call yourself a MOOC if the free content is so different from the paid version. I'd like for my Coursera listed courses to show this as complete (but without the badge or Yale specific recognition) but it shows that I didn't complete the course, didn't meet the deadlines because I can't do (although I can see) the needed assignments. For me, I don't need badges or certificates, but I do like being able to access and do everything within a course. This "less than" experience isn't how most Coursera courses work. If the content wasn't so amazing, I would have given even fewer stars.

par Juan M

3 nov. 2016

The basic ideas exposed during the course are interesting and good food for thought. However the course contents practically depend on the film and book by Swimme and Tucker; so at the beginning of the course one is shown the complete film, and over the ensuing weeks a particular book chapter and its corresponding fraction of the film is presented again; the quiz (which is very little demanding) at the end of the week is basically based on those contents. I paid for the certificate since the idea of a "specialization" appealed to me, but I am not sure it was worth.

par Issam C C

1 déc. 2020

I just was at the wrong place. I was looking for a more "crude" scientific subject. I'm sure the info in this module are valuable, but from the first week it sounded like the "fine tuned universe" theory... Just passed all the quizzes without even looking into the videos/readings.

par Curt H

12 avr. 2017

The content is really great....However, you can buy the book for $15 and get almost all of the same information — in sum, the class is essentially chapters from the book, the movie and a bunch of links to websites with relevant content.

par Peter M

14 oct. 2020

If you like 5th to 6th grade level material presented in the spirit of an Allen Alda type on a PBS special then this is for you. I cant believe Yale would sponsor such dribble.

par Joy S

28 janv. 2017

The gobbledygook mooc. Worst bunch of talking a lot and saying nothing I ever encountered.