Chevron Left
Retour à Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software par Université Duke

4.6
étoiles
4,070 évaluations
835 avis

À propos du cours

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Meilleurs avis

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filtrer par :

601 - 625 sur 822 Avis pour Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

par Prashanna A

Apr 24, 2020

This course has helped me get insights of Java Programming. Most importantly, it has taught me how to solve any problems using the seven step approach. The course has made me a better programmer, increased by problem solving skills and increased by ability to make algorithms.

par Nguyen N T

Feb 27, 2020

For programming, it's always important to have hand-on experience which can only be acquired by diligent practice. And through this course, I have my skill sharpened after completing each small project. It's also really fun to have a chance to work on real-world problems.

par Raahim S

May 23, 2020

Course length a bit misleading. Practice exercises rated for 10 mins were actually several hours long. Otherwise the course material was quite in depth, though I felt they focused too much on just CSV files. Things got a bit repetitive after a while.

par Md. Z M

May 15, 2016

Might seem a bit overwhelming to beginners, but at the same time, a useful course to practice writing code on real-life data sets, for experienced learners.

The library used here is useful, but not reusable in general.

Overall, a nice experience. :)

par John K

Nov 09, 2015

Good course, it seemed too easy at times since they provided alot of guides to solving the programming problems but I might be biased since I have some programming background. Overall I would recommend for beginners interested in learning java.

par Gágik A

Jul 16, 2016

I liked the Course, it developed my skills of thinking as a coder, but I did not like the BlueJ programming environment, as I think it required to many clicks to accomplish simple debugging tasks and didn't have user friendly interface.

par Mario B

Apr 02, 2020

You should declare earlier, why a File is marked as a Failure. Caused by the missing import.

Other without this knowledge will get frustrated and quit...

Also sometimes the code disappears behind the prof. But the rest is super!

par Utkarsh C

May 18, 2020

Its a great course for intermediate coders! good for practice in java and assignments are really good and requires effort. you can not just sleep on this! for Java or oops the complete specialisation is the best choice.

par Krishna K

Jun 15, 2019

Pretty basic course if you have done any programming. It is pretty well designed. I don't recommend programming in bluej if you done some programming before. The environment is pain to use. Text editors all the way!!

par Ahmed Y

Feb 26, 2017

The course is well prepared and paced. It's a problem based learning course. It will teach you how to target various range of problems appropriately. Some lessons and exercises however needed longer time frame.

par Tim A

Dec 06, 2015

A good intro into Java. As this is Part 2 of the Specialization, I would have liked to have seen a greater introduction into more of Java's collections than just String manipulation and CSV using an apache lib.

par Yi-Chia C

Feb 11, 2016

Great opportunity to learn java and put it into use to solve the real world problems. But it's a little hard for people who haven't learned java at all, but only learned C#.(object-oriented programming).

par João T

Feb 26, 2019

A basic practice approach for solving problems with a 7step formula for any kind of problem set, for any kind of programming language you use. A very basic approach to JAVA syntax and semantics.

par Jeongryul K

Sep 02, 2018

The Assignment explanations are little bit tricky. However, I love the professor's explanation, and I learned a lot about Java Programming. I really appreciate to learn from very nice professor.

par Weiqi Y

Aug 23, 2017

definitely not for beginners with 0 background. But it was just good on me. (make sure you know something about any kind of programming language first, or this course could be challenging )

par Michael V

May 13, 2020

Instructors are very clear & examples are helpful. The example data for assignments sometimes did not match the assignment examples. This is a good introductory course for Java programmers.

par Federico C

Dec 12, 2018

The course and the instructors are very good, especially for people who have a minimum experience in programing. Consulting other resources (e.g. the Oracle Java Tutorial) might be useful.

par Aistis R

Oct 22, 2015

Thank you for the course, the only improvement i could think of is to improve contents for non English speaking people. E.g. You say decimal places, we say numbers after comma.

Thank you!

par Kailash B

May 06, 2020

Java programming course was great , I really Liked it but one thing I don't understand is why BlueJ software ? why not any other IDE such as esclipse ? beside it was really Helpful : )

par Jean O M

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. coming back to review this as it has made great impact on my everyday coding. Been a while since i completed it but it is arguably some of the best content on JAVA.

par Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

par akash v m

Apr 13, 2020

Great experience!

During the course session i have gain lots of knowledge about debugging as well as improving the skills to learn more details in terms of CSV ,etc..

par Sumit K

Jun 03, 2020

There was some technical problems during the examinations..!! But overall helped me alot :)

Thanks to all the team members its been an honor to learn from ya'll . :)

par Sachin

Mar 14, 2017

Very good videos .. assignments were tough and few were confusing especially in strings .. I was challenged and got through the quiz with 100% which was satisfying

par Christopher D

Mar 04, 2020

The course provided a well paced and logic approach to introducing progressively more complex problems. I look forward to the new course in the specialisation.