Chevron Left
Retour à Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
579 évaluations
107 avis

À propos du cours

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

Meilleurs avis

ER

1 nov. 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was fantastic, the lecturers explained well.\n\nPlease come and enroll for this course, it was great and there was alot of interaction between other learners

GW

18 févr. 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 103 Avis pour Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

par Malik A H A

21 août 2021

excellent

par IRFAN M

27 sept. 2020

Awesome

par Humam H E

10 oct. 2019

great

par Phạm N T

3 nov. 2019

good

par 于泽众

13 sept. 2017

nice

par Γεώργιος Κ

24 mai 2020

This is definitely a good and useful capstone but a 5-star rating is maybe too much. The main disadvantage of the course is that it has not enough support from students or mentors in the discussion rooms. The second disadvantage is that building continuously on the top of other classes adds complexity to the final project. For one who has finished all 4 previous courses, I definitely recommend that course as a must.

The course should be supported by the creators and further improved because this is one of the best specializations. The concept of it is to guide you from a non-programmer to a junior java developer by focusing on fundamental structures of programming.

par Peter G W

14 janv. 2019

This whole series really challenged me but I've learned more from this course than any of my other previous attempts to learn programming. I feel a lot more confident now taking on more challenges in software development. There were some homework problems near the end that could have been explained a little better (sometimes I was overthinking it). I also felt that perhaps instead of BlueJ, I would've liked to use something like Eclipse in order to better understand the main() function. All in all, I would definitely recommend this course for those interested in programming or wanting to learn Java.

par Muhammad F B J

21 mai 2020

It was a good summary of everything that was taught. However due to the long gap from the initial exposure to CSV parsing and html table to now, it was not easy accomplishing the tasks as a lot of external reference was required to solve the problems given. Some of the exercises were phrased sort of ambiguously which made it hard to comprehend

par Md. A

14 juil. 2020

The capstone was helpful for learning core software development practices. One can learn interface, abstraction, recommender system implementation and many more from the course. But, some instructions were pretty unclear and specially the peer reviewed assignment submission instruction was vague.

par Shaun R

28 mars 2019

Most everything was good in this course. There were a few things that they didn't explain how to do ever throughout this 5 course program which was frustrating, but other students helped to fill the gaps on that part. Otherwise it was a great course that helped me put all of my knowledge to use.

par Michael B

6 mars 2016

Great conclusion to the courses in this Specialization. I would not recommend it for those already (very) familiar with Java but for those starting out with Java this Capstone is just difficult enough to be challenging yet not too easy.

par Guangchen X

1 mars 2019

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

par SHREYANSH J

21 oct. 2019

Wonderful course learned a lot by making a recommendation system...but some assignments are bit hard to understand what they want from you but everything else is fine. Everyone must take this course

par Deepika J

29 nov. 2020

We can view this project only using Duke's Platform. It would have been much better had this capstone guided us in deploying our project in the form of a web-app.

par Kerstin K

28 mai 2017

Course was good, great programming assignments.

But you can forget the discussion forums. No Mentors or Staff really present.

par 罗杰彬

11 févr. 2016

It's a great course. Students build a simple search engine step by step in the course.

par FANGRONG P

19 févr. 2016

The project is a little bit easy yet tedious, a good practice of using Java though.

par Alexandre C

16 juin 2017

Nice introduction to Java and programing principles in general

par Roberto R

9 mars 2017

it was another nice exercise

par Lei H

10 juin 2018

Very interesting project!

par William G

15 nov. 2020

This is the only course I didn't like in any way. Enforced bad naming conventions to make a programme already built run with a website is more like three steps back than any steps ahead. For those who don't care about completing a specialization I would advise to spend your time somewhere else. You won't learn anything from this course. But it does get you that nice certificate - worth it? You decide.

Course 2-4 of the specialization are amazing though.

par Ahmed N A

5 sept. 2019

Once again the lecturers decide to give you 30% of the project and tell you to complete it. The first two weeks tells you to build a flimsy base for your application and the other two tell you to pull your crap together and go back and fix it. I don't understand what the point of that was, why didn't you make me do it right from the start? It was more frustrating than helpful but it wasn't a bad project, just poorly handled. Hard to call it my own when

par Martin G

18 juil. 2018

Didn't liked this course. Maybe I excepted more from the idea to build a recommendation system

par Katrīna K

9 juin 2022

Beginning (course 1 in the Java specialization) was promissing but very fast the concepts became not understandable. Videos explain less and less but tasks become more and more complicated. In my opinion this course (and all Java specialization) is not ment for the beginners. This doesn't explain the most basic concepts a person that doesn't have IT background should start with.

par Dionte J

17 mars 2020

I submitted a question to the forum back in Oct. 2019 for assistance with the last course in this specialization. It's now March 2020, I have gotten no feedback from moderators or course instructors, and this was the last course I needed to complete to earn my certificate. However, I refuse to continue paying a subscription fee for a course that isn't monitored or maintained.