Chevron Left
Retour à Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data par Université Duke

4.7
étoiles
2,887 évaluations
513 avis

À propos du cours

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Meilleurs avis

CT

19 juil. 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

GB

29 mars 2017

Good and practical training approach to solve real worlds problems. Assignments and quizzes are quite challenging and interesting. Greatly motivates us towards programming and problem solving skills.

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 511 Avis pour Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

par Maria M

26 août 2016

Good

par PIMPHISA L

11 janv. 2016

good

par Gagan

5 juin 2020

..

par Erick Z

16 mars 2020

A

par Chiazo A

26 juil. 2018

As someone who had slight knowledge of Java and who is looking to study computer science, this course filled in the gap that IB Computer Science 1st Year couldn't do - I actually got to code and apply concepts like writing private vs public methods or using getters or for loops. I also had the luxury of having a free summer to complete this and with days of work ranging from 3-6 hours, I managed to finish the course in 26 days. I believe it relies a bit too much on its previous courses at times and the time needed to complete assignments is very off but this is a great way to actually see a project through and push yourself. Thank you Duke!

par Nguyễn T Đ

5 févr. 2022

The course is overall good. It contains not only many useful knowledge about Java and Data Structure but also a lot of practical problems for beginners. But still, I don't like using BlueJ as the environment to code as it's quite inconvenient. The exercises can be quite lengthy, so it would take a lot of commitment to finish (I spent the whole day to finish a week and felt like several days have passed :((). And, sometimes, the exercises and questions are a bit tricky (not by the complexity of the problem, but about the way that they are described, maybe because I'm not a native English speaker).

par Krisztian T

14 oct. 2018

Great problem sets for a beginner. Teaching good approach to the problems, good algorithm design and build technics. It has to added to all those previous thoguhts that they are hard not easy, so a lot of commitment is needed. This course is not about to make programming sympathatic but to show how to approach a seemingly impossible problem. A definite con of the course is that somewhat unreal with the BlueJ and custom edu libraries, but you can substitute those with real features if you have the commitment to do it by yourself.

par chandu r

11 déc. 2020

There is a need for help in the week 4 project and on adding to that we are facing a problem to get the first String to print as bluej not able to print all the texts it has a limit of lines to print suppose if we want to print 1000 lines while it can only print 500 lines then it only shows from 500 -1000 lines. so please change questions as to print the last line of the encrypted string. Over the course is superb but needed help in videos some much in the mini project.

par Trần C L

25 oct. 2019

This is a Dark Souls among courses, I git gud and failed lots of time which enhances my learning so I can debug, look up to stackoverflow and dissussion forums(but yeah I still mostly fail) . This time I passed, feel like a boss! 8/10 would recommend this to my fellow casual programmers what the hardcore one is.

(Edited) Did you guys set this course difficulty as beginner? Wait, that 's illegal!

par João T

15 mars 2019

This course optimizes your basics skills concerning programming with java and take you to the nest level. This course increases the workload, practicing and debugging your code.

New concepts are introduced like, Arrays, HashMaps, and object-oriented-programming.

Once more, the professors bring the extra quality and professionalism to this subject.

par Bealfan T

6 août 2018

I found some of the questions quite challenging as opposed to the programming concepts. The questions specifically in the 4th week Quiz need to be reworded as they are a confusing bunch. But thanks for making a great content and giving me the right amount of information and domain knowledge to understand some important Java concepts.

par Mingming L

21 févr. 2022

Overall this is a good course. But it is a little out-of-date as this course was recorded in 2014 and no updates are made to it. It would be great if Duke University can make some improvements on the course contents and update the IDE on which we work with. I don't like blueJ. It is easy to operate with but the editor is so bad!!!

par Aarya P

6 août 2020

The course is really nice and have some fun to do assignments as well. It helps in learning different data structure and the best part is using them in those assignments to answer the quiz. At times some of those lectures felt like they went to fast when describing what to do when you write the code. But overall a nice course.

par Urmi L

20 août 2018

The content of the course was great! The instructional videos taught a lot of concepts in detail, but some more, optional, assignments could have enhanced the course by providing extra practice for the concepts. Overall, I felt like I learned a lot in this course and would like to take the next one!

par Dinesh P

30 mars 2021

One of the toughest in the specialization! However I really enjoyed doing it!.it was challenging finding out the answers of the quizzes. One disappointing fact is that there are still few bugs in some of the answers. One piece of advice.. Always go through the discussion forums when you are stuck.

par Hanqi Z

25 avr. 2019

Useful course. Helped me gain a solid understanding of OO programming in Java, though I feel that the part where HashSet came up was too rushed (might want to reassure students that they will learn about why HashSet is faster when they learn about data structure in the future)

par Mark H

1 juil. 2020

The mini-project was good. I didn't like that so much of the code was provided, as I wanted to have to figure it out myself. However, I see why this is necessary as the weeks go by, since issues with code will propagate into the following weeks if it wasn't provided.

par Jose U

18 mai 2017

I found this course particularly tough. I had to take it slow because of work and family and rather than 4 weeks it took me 4 months. But in the end I felt I got the intended knowledge.

Some sections are hard without knowledgeable mentors in the discussion forums.

par Konstant K

20 juil. 2016

Thank you for the course. The professors explain things with great enthusiasm and artistry. The main topic of the course - breaking ciphers is very interesting for me. Because of this interest I was completely involved into the course.

Thank you again!

par Bryan Y

12 déc. 2016

The amount of learning in this module is huge! If you have never worked with HashMaps and don't know what this is, you may spend quite a bit of time trying to understand. That time will probably be spent reading material external to the course.

par UTKARSH K C

29 mai 2020

Its a great course! Assignments are really good and takes time. A bit lengthy and few things stretched out, apart from that a good course if you wanna practice and have time. learning content is less. Not for Beginners!

par Faizan S

17 juin 2020

Need sample code for mini project as sometimes it is difficult to understand what to do in assignments... Some functions code get complicated as to what our instructor wants us to do vs what we think is possible

par Doaa S M Y

30 mars 2020

this course It contains many new information about it, the difficult and difficult Java also, the duties need a lot of thinking and research, but all of this helps in a deeper understanding of the Java language

par Pawel D

13 déc. 2015

The course is ok, but some lectures seems to be too slow paced, while the programming assignments tend to be difficult for a beginner programmer, since some issues are not covered in the lectures.

par Jaerong A

4 sept. 2020

Learned a lot from the course, but the amount of programming assignment and number of Qs to complete the module (especially week2) was absurdly large. Could be split into separate sessions.