Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems par Université de Californie à Irvine

4.7
étoiles
9,124 évaluations
2,353 avis

À propos du cours

The explosive growth of the “Internet of Things” is changing our world and the rapid drop in price for typical IoT components is allowing people to innovate new designs and products at home. In this first class in the specialization you will learn the importance of IoT in society, the current components of typical IoT devices and trends for the future. IoT design considerations, constraints and interfacing between the physical world and your device will also be covered. You will also learn how to make design trade-offs between hardware and software. We'll also cover key components of networking to ensure that students understand how to connect their device to the Internet. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define the term “Internet of Things” 2. State the technological trends which have led to IoT 3. Describe the impact of IoT on society 4. Define what an embedded system is in terms of its interface 5. Enumerate and describe the components of an embedded system 6. Describe the interactions of embedded systems with the physical world 7. Name the core hardware components most commonly used in IoT devices 8. Describe the interaction between software and hardware in an IoT device 9. Describe the role of an operating system to support software in an IoT device 10. Explain the use of networking and basic networking hardware 11. Describe the structure of the Internet 12. Describe the meaning of a “network protocol” 13. Explain MANETs and their relation to IoT...

Meilleurs avis

ME

Sep 18, 2017

good course :)\n\nplease review my assignment to complete my course :(\n\nhttps://www.coursera.org/learn/iot/peer/qYW91/module-1-peer-review-identify-and-analyze-a-device/review/VBUuMpl_EeeuPhL2ByDlUA

SD

May 29, 2020

This couse is full of benefit. Content of the course is very accurate. Teacher who was teaching was also good. I would suggest to all the beginner to learn this topic who are interested in IoT field.

Filtrer par :

1801 - 1825 sur 2,325 Avis pour Introduction to the Internet of Things and Embedded Systems

par Atthipatla R M

Jan 25, 2019

Good for beginners who wants to get overall idea about what are IOT and Embedded technologies with real time examples. instructor also explains networking basics with few protocol architectures. at the end of this course we can analyze packet transmission using wireshark tool.

Thanks coursera ..!!

par Prabhakar

Jan 24, 2018

Course is explanatory and explains all basics, which is expected at introductory-level. However, there is less usage of illustrations & graphics and more verbose lectures via video that sort of puts monotone into learning. There's a huge scope for improving the content.

par PADHI S R

Jun 22, 2020

good course overall. However areas where it could improve are - incorporating more graphical and animated slides for teaching, more articles and videos for further reading IoT, embedded systems and computer networks ; increasing no. of questions in quiz to atleast 20.

par RMILI O

May 09, 2020

This is an interesting course in which I learned new things from the world of IoT and the embedded one, a small remark concerning the network part, is better to talk about the different types of networks used in IoT like HomeRF, ZigBee Bluetooth. Thanks.

par Rushikesh A P

Jun 02, 2020

Okay its an honest opinion, the course was well organized and good enough professor delivered wholesome knowledge but i think if you are really new to it i highly recommend this course to you and i expect more such practical oriented sessions further..

par Gokula K S

Jul 15, 2020

Way of explanation is good but we need some more examples for some topics. In last module Networking concepts need some more real time examples to clarify even more clear. Overall course is very nice if you are newbie to IOT and embedded system

par Johnson N

Nov 08, 2017

Great introductory class that teaches you about technology and the impacts in the developments mpu have had in our everyday life. The only gripe I have is that assignments are marked by peers. This makes it problematic when timing is not good.

par Jussi S

Nov 14, 2015

I think this is easy introduction to the topic and assignments put you to think. If you're more seasoned with the topic or you have background in e.g. embedded systems this course does not bring much to you but can be used as easy refresher.

par Cecil S

Nov 30, 2016

My first on-line course ever. I didnt know what to expect however, I have learned a lot of new concepts. This intro course have me pumped to see whats next. I already ordered my Arduino on Amazon. I dont know what to say but, I'm excited.

par Sergey L

Sep 27, 2017

A good overview course on the Internet of things. I liked the lectures very much, but did not like the tasks in which you need to write a lot of text. It seems to me that this is not the best type of task for technical specializations.

par AASTHA A

May 25, 2016

I loved the way Prof. Ian Harris teaches. It is so easy to understand. This is a nice introductory course for IoT and Embedded System. An easy one!

Except for second week's assignment (which was slightly vague), rest was all good!

par Paulo A

Nov 30, 2016

Good introductory course that gives you an overview to what you should know before starting other courses in the specialization. Some of the contents are a bit too obvious to someone with a previous background in IT.

par Abdul A N S

May 26, 2020

This course enables me to judge things embedded near by me and what devices can be controlled can be converted into IoT, I am an Electrical Engineer and it has made me aware about the dos for my future goal/studies.

par VAISAKH U

May 03, 2020

This is a very good foundation course.I learned some basic terms about IoT and Embedded Systems.I hope I can do better in the coming courses.This course is recommended for those who want to learn from scratch.👍

par Stephen B

Nov 29, 2016

Good course taught in an interesting and engaging way. Quite high level; I'm looking forward to diving deeper in to the subject int he upcoming courses. A few places where the assignments felt a little tedious.

par Omkar R

May 14, 2020

Thanks to coursera for giving me the oppourtiny to learn IOT and Embedded systems form very basics. The instructor explained the concept in very systematic way which would be helpful for easy understanding.

par Godswill I

Jul 08, 2020

Great course on the introduction to IoT. I was only recommended by my school to take just this course in the series but I'll complete the specialization because I love the lectures. That's how good it is!

par Farheen A R

Aug 06, 2020

Nice course for beginners to get a brief idea about what exactly an IOT device is. Why do we use IOT devices and also it gives a good description on various technical terms we hardly get to understand.

par Gaurav V

May 29, 2020

Key points were mentioned regarding Connectivity. Also need and selection microprocessors were told in addition to merits and demerits of IoT application in real life. Suggested to go for the course

par Anish M

Nov 09, 2019

The course covers the basics of the Terms which are used in IoT systems and introduces you to some networking terms. Not a lot of hands-on stuff. Expecting a lot of stuff in the upcoming courses.

par Carlos E C V

Jan 25, 2017

This course does a great job introducing terms of embedded systems and IoT. Although the week 4 about internet protocols needs more lessons and lectures to get clear ideas before the final work.

par Nitin N

Jun 21, 2020

Comprehensive coverage of basic terminologies and an introduction to network protocols necessary to understand IoT and Embedded Systems. Serves as a good base to develop further knowledge.

par Tarun P M

Jul 05, 2020

Overall the course was good, But the only limitation which I felt was that the instructor was teaching in a very fast pace. So I had to repeat viewing certain videos with a new concept.

par Liu W L A

Jul 05, 2020

It is good to understand more about the IOT and embedded system as well as internet. As IT industry is changing everyday, the course gave some idea of the new things of the world.

par Mathew W C

Aug 23, 2018

Great overview. A little basic, but most likely a solid foundation for individuals with absolute zero IT experience/knowledge. Regardless, a good course. Thanks for the effort.