Chevron Left
Retour à Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.7
474 notes
103 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Meilleurs avis

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 98 Examens pour Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

par Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

I've taken several investments classes on Coursera and this is the best presentation of CAPM I've seen. Really systematic and entertaining presentation. I will recommend it to friends.

par Sachin P X

Nov 10, 2018

One of the best courses across platforms- classroom or online that I have taken. Huge real life value addition. Professor Scott has worked incredibly hard in putting this valuable content.

par Vivek B

Nov 17, 2018

Excellent course. Thank you for introducing to great world of investments.

par Kedves H

Dec 19, 2018

Profound, a lot of information, nice presentation, helpful Professor, lighthearted style.

I can only recommend it.

It takes time, but it definitely

worth it!

par Kenny S

Dec 19, 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

par Stella A

Jan 02, 2019

Very useful course! Many thanks to Scott.

par Ponciano R

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course full of detailed and well explained examples!

par Noah M

Nov 21, 2018

Well done!

par Bo L

Nov 21, 2018

love the course! professor is very funny and extremely knowledgeful! very educational, learned alot in the class.

par Deepen ( J

Nov 21, 2018

I learned a lot from this course. This course has fundamentally changed the way I understand investments. I hope to apply my knowledge in real world situation.

par Noah M S

Nov 21, 2018

Insightful, informative, and entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

par Ray S

Nov 06, 2018

Great Course

par Rajesh J

Nov 14, 2018

Outstanding course. The best amongst all Coursera courses I have taken so far. The course was very comprehensive and had a great amount of detail. Looking forward to enroll in the second part of the course.

par Aashish S

Feb 10, 2019

Amazing course. Gained a lot of insights regarding investments.

par Keith K D

Dec 14, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot of new things

par Natalia M G A

Nov 17, 2018

Really good course

par Michael S Y

Aug 12, 2018

An excellent course! loved the material, great assignments, built my fundamentals in investments in a great way. Professor Scott is great man.

par Anuar

Oct 01, 2018

G

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

!

par Rohiet R S

Oct 02, 2018

scott you are too good

par Irfan K

Oct 27, 2018

A great course for learning the fundamentals of Investments and an equally great instructor.

par Partha G

Nov 04, 2018

Great learning experience. Thanks !!!

par Trungnhan P

Mar 22, 2017

Thank you, Professor Scott Weisbenner, for an excellence course that you put your heart and passion into.

par Pierre L

Dec 09, 2016

Absolutely excellent course. Excellent introduction to investment even without a background in Finance.

par Vivek V

Mar 05, 2018

All the examples were helpful in providing a lot of real world perspectives and was beneficial to someone who had already done a similar course.

par Wei D

Dec 08, 2016

Fantastic course. Leaned a lot!