Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Computer Programming

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Computer Programming par Université de Londres

4.3
étoiles
396 évaluations
124 avis

À propos du cours

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Meilleurs avis

GT

Jun 09, 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

RC

Sep 23, 2019

An excellent way to introduce newbies to the programming world. I did not know a thing about programming. However, I've acquired the necessary skills to understand the basics of it!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 124 Avis pour Introduction to Computer Programming

par Christen E

Dec 12, 2019

I have taken several programming courses over the years, and this course guides students through the dirty details in a very straightforward manner. The instructor videos are a great reference, and being able to view transcripts, go back to answer questions, or review materials are valuable. I accidentally completed all of the programming challenges at the beginning - then realized the supporting coursework followed. If that organization could improve to have the sleuth challenges with the material - it may be more useful.

par Georgij Č

Oct 04, 2018

Liked quizzes a lot.

Some basic concepts (e.g. variable) and data structures could be described in more details, but this will require basic hardware lectures as well. Maybe JS is not the best language to explain such concepts due to the lack of explicit pointers, heap and stack management.

Overall the course is more about learning p5js library than computer programming. And considering that JS is a very dynamic languages in which libraries and frameworks tend to change quite often as well as the language itself the material could end up useless.

Disliked Sleuth 101 series... unfortunately, they were too repetitive and don't involve any programming creativity.

par Giulia F A

Sep 01, 2019

The instructor are good and the basic learning is ok.

There is a bit of an error in the organization of the course. The Sleuth game is in Week 1 and it says you haven't passed it until you complete 80%, however, 80% is not the requirement for Week 1, it's the requirement for the whole course. So if you do it all in Week 1, the course will say you're done even though you haven't even gone through Weeks 2 and 3.

par Faustino R F

May 12, 2020

It's REALLY BORING and BAD, more if you already are a developer. It tries to teach you the base of development (not all the important and it does it in a weird way, doesn't teach arrays, loops, conditionals, classes, even FUNCTIONS.... way to basic). It looks more like a tutorial on how to use p5.js. I just did this course as part of a computer science specialty, in my opinion, it should have an option to skip this section. Also, the assessment is a waste of time, it's way too long and with a weird p5.js game (3h 🙄), IT'S A MESS, it gives you a problem and instead of checking the values of the result, it forces you to have their solution(example: update a = 3 to be 5. Solution 1 -> a = 5. What they want a = a + 2. Why do you want me to do that if the result it's okay??????) . I was planning to do the BSc, I hope the rest is not like this one.

par Heather S

Feb 07, 2020

This is the worst course I have ever taken from Coursera. I needed help installing their recommended software, and no on got back to me. I ended up, after much frustration just quitting this class and finding one that uses better software, and hopeful a human. If your computer does not support their platforms, try another class.

par Kyle K

Oct 13, 2019

If i could i would give it 0 stars. The most awfully ordered course. Week 1's assignment is impossible to complete due to the fact that you are taught the skills required to complete the assignment in weeks 2 and 3. This course must be made by brain dead fools.

par Alan J

Apr 08, 2020

Sleuth Game was very frustrating, asked you to complete it in week 1 when in actual fact you need all 3 weeks theory to complete it. Otherwise a good course. This needs fixing though

par Alicia H

Feb 10, 2020

Waste of time, unless you want to be doing repetitive assignments with childish stories where you're expected to use information that hasn't even been properly explained yet.

par Bingxin Q

Apr 16, 2019

The part of sleuth was too boring...

par Basil S

Jan 15, 2019

professionally flawed

par Aly t

Mar 11, 2020

hard

par Vanessa D

Aug 03, 2019

I'm an absolute beginner.

The Sleuth game was the most challenging and should have been assigned at the end of week 3. All the concepts needed to solve the cases were taught in week 2 and week 3 lessons.

After struggling through the game, the Sleuth forced me to do a lot of hands on coding and made me familiar with a lot of concepts in coding i.e. declaring and initializing objects. For me that was exciting because I felt like a coder.

par Yvonne S

Jan 21, 2020

Highly recommend this course if you have never done anything programming related. The instructors explain every aspect necessary to get you started on assignments. Additionally, the assignments are the perfect level of challenge as you progress through the topics. I never once thought "I have no idea where to start," which is a commonly discouraging thought -- thank you for that!

par Sergio F C C

Aug 11, 2019

Love it, got introduced to javascript in an easy way. One tip is to watch all the videos FIRST! Do the game LAST! You are going to need material from weeks ahead to complete all of the game. The game is your only graded assignment, so once you finish it you pass the class.

The game should be at the end, but that's a minor problem, what matters is the content is GOOD!

par JeanCarlos T

Jan 10, 2020

Easy to follow along, one tip I would say, rather than completing the Sleuthing activity in week 1, look at the videos in week 2 and 3 to get a better idea of what the assignments are asking. Otherwise, I found the course challenging enough to make think think critically, but engaging in a way that I wanted to improve my scores on the quizzes. Highly recommend.

par Awe D O

May 03, 2020

This is a very interesting and demanding course, just the right platform for all beginners like me who want to take computer programming as a career. There are lot of class works and assignment that makes sure you are learning every-time. Such wonderful instructors too, very expressive and elaborate.

par Bui L C B

Jan 23, 2020

I already have basic knowledge about programming but I have to say this course gives you an interactive and fun way to learn to program than ever before. A big thanks to Dr. Simon Katan and Dr. Edward for giving me the strength I needed to take the next steps toward my dream of programming.

par Avery K S

Jul 18, 2020

I had no experience in programming but am planning to pursue a Master's in Computer Science. This program was an amazing introduction into the basics and presented small challenges throughout. Anybody who is curious but doesn't know where to start should start with this course.

par Mazen P

Nov 20, 2018

it was a massive challenge for me as first time coding the sleuth game was full of fun and really stressful game, i hope that you give more time and a few more tips for the game it was not easy to complete this course, thank you so much

par Juan A R

Jun 27, 2020

This has been a great course, though not much it is explained in it and there is a lot of self learning through other means that is required I think it helped me a lot to discover that I am capable of facing this coding challenges.

par Rampart D S D K

May 24, 2020

Excellent course with great activities. Assignments are made in a attractive way. This course made me love cording. Thank you very much for your effort. Learnt so many things and hope to follow more of your courses.

par Ibico A R J

Jul 03, 2020

Good course to learn how to deal with single variables and objects. It also was a good opportunity to do programming with p5js javascript library which I consider such a nice way to draw over html pages or images.

par Miguel A T

Jun 21, 2020

Very good and straightforward course. I really learned a lot. ( I really wanted to get 100% but it seems that the main assessment has a minor error which for sure will be fix. Hopefully it will ). Thank you.

par Tsegay m A

Dec 29, 2019

Coursera is a great online platform which is having skilled instructors and helping lots of students to grasp skills and be employable in different industries.

Thank you so much!

par Rodrigo T C F R

Sep 27, 2019

Excelente curso para começar a programar, os professores desenvolveram um método muito criativo e adequado. As noções básicas sobre programação são bem ensinadas.