Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Calculus

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Calculus par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
2,861 évaluations
871 avis

À propos du cours

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Meilleurs avis

AF

8 avr. 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

CN

13 nov. 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement\n\nmy will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 883 Avis pour Introduction to Calculus

par Erqing X

8 oct. 2019

Very participant-friendly course with excellent teaching and gradual difficulty adding, but some parts seem to be too basic, especially for Chinese students in the pre-calculus part, which undermines the efficiency of teaching.

par John F

2 juin 2020

excellent review of major concepts. some of it required multiple viewings, but otherwise, it was fine.

par ZapperonUXVero

18 mars 2020

It is a great and efficient introduction to the basics of calculus!

par Bashir A

20 oct. 2021

A fantastic course. It helped me to self-study calculus.

par Euan B

17 janv. 2021

Well constructed with useful information and a good lecturer. Was very fast paced however, and struggled grasping key concepts that were important to deeply understand before moving on to future topics due to the overall speed of the course. In summary, a good course.

par Sam P

30 mai 2021

N​ot very well taught. It was not explained thouroghly enough, I had to use 2nd party sources to learn the material. But I was able to learn the basics.

par Stephanie P

27 juin 2021

they really really need to show how to execute the problems in the examples instead of saying "therefore it is this___"

par Angelica N

8 mars 2021

he should explain how to do the actual problems. I have a hard time with the tests bc he just went over the basics and not the more complicated stuff

par RAJESH K C

15 sept. 2020

Many Quiz Question are not completely given.

par Karin S

28 juil. 2020

This course is extraordinarily tough. I thought the illustrations were very helpful with connecting concepts and there were times I got excited seeing where things were going mathematically. The professor is very helpful and is very excited about the subject, which I greatly appreciate.

My only thing is that this course is horribly misnamed, but maybe the US and AUS have different standards for what is considered to be an introduction to calculus. You pretty much have 2 weeks pre-calc and then cover all of calc I over 3 weeks, plus some extra things to where I found it a bit overwhelming at times. If you're looking to level up your skills, he gives you some very helpful tools with which to do so.

par Soohyun Y

5 juin 2021

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn calculus or brush up on their calculus. This course is so well designed and taught. The notes were incredibly helpful, and I feel that Professor David Easdown did a great job of explaining concepts and challenging his students. Furthermore, serious kudos to the video editor (and if it also happen to be the professor, double kudos). The visualizations were incredibly helpful in understanding the concepts faster. This course really boosted my confidence in learning while enjoying the process. If Professor David Easdown and his video editor were to do another collaboration, I think I would take the course regardless of the subject.

par Suren S R

23 sept. 2021

I had learnt elementary Calculus in college. Later in my MBA, I had to apply calculus and I realised that the way we had been taught calculus in college was very mechanical. Learn formulas, techniques and diifferentiate or integrate. This course was indeed an eye opener. May be a little late in the day, since I am 62, but I could understand how immensely helpful Calculus can be in solving real-life problems. Amazing that Isaac Newton and Leibniz thought through and developed this really brilliant branch of mathematics so many years back.

My complements to our teacher of this course. He is absolutely superb. Thank you Univ of Sydney for offering such a great course in Coursera.

par Marwin d C

28 mai 2021

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken on Coursera. Professor Easdown explains the subject clearly and with great passion. The accompanying notes are excellent. Every bit of the material is explained in details and you will be able to solve the assignments and quizzes with the knowledge provided by the videos and notes. Note, however, that this is a short but dense course. You will probably have to invest a great amount of hours per week if you want to finish it within 5 weeks. But be assured that this is a GREAT investment of your time. I now feel ready to go deeper in calculus taking some more advanced courses. Thank you so much Professor Easdown

par Abhay V R

4 juin 2021

Going into the course, I hadn't done calculus in over 13 years, and I was quite nervous about whether I'd be able to get my head around these topics again.

Thank you so much Prof. Easdown for creating a fantastic course - while I can't claim to have mastered everything on offer, I do believe I am now more than proficient at basic operations, and better yet - my fear of calculus has been replaced (at least partially) with curiousity. I'm really excited about using this knowledge to do well in grad school, where I will be pursuing a master's degree in environmental management.

Thank you so much once again Prof. Easdown.

par Adam M

19 févr. 2022

Great course! Professor David Easdown has a great way of communicating information, is enjoyable to listen to, and has a very enthusiastic attitude towards teaching, which makes this course even more enjoyable. Eventhough this is listed as an intermediate mathematics course, David Easdown made it easy to understand every step in working, and has put a lot of effort into the notes accompanying every video to supply even more information and understanding, with plenty of examples to see how certain techniques work. Overall, I am really pleased with this course and how much I've learnt.

par William H

17 mai 2021

What an amazing course. David's step by step approach combined with geometric visualization helped make challenging concepts as easy as possible. Historical context spanning thousands of years, as well as brief profiles of key figures led to a deeper appreciation of mathematics in the course of human history. The many real-world examples were key to a deep understanding of what are some complicated and abstract concepts. David's enthusiasm for the subject matter and teaching was energizing and inspiring! I hope to see more courses in Mathematics led by Prof Easdown!

par Yuk M I L

8 avr. 2022

An excellent course for anyone who are total beginner of calculus, or someone who wants to brush up their dusted skills in the subject. Prof Easdown's mesmerizing way of presenting the course materials has definitely elevated mathematics from a science subject (popular view) into an art (what the subject really is), the elevation of which is further enhanced by the classical music played at the beginning and the end of each videos. Very thankful to have found this course and I look forward to any second instalment that would lead us to explore further on the topic.

par CCs

9 déc. 2021

what an amazing journey I have had in this course within the last three days (yes it was an easy refreshing and enjoyable course, which can be finished in one day !!!!) in spite of All the amazing exams and the high quality educational content(videos , articles and quizzes the most amazing thing in this course is the instructor him self ( what a brilliant man he is ) the spirit he has is sensational !!!! I hope one day I can meet him ........

*remember every doller you put in your self you will get thousand in return so work hard and buy this course >>><<<

par Annette D

16 mai 2021

I am a retired Canadian secondary school math teacher having taught pre-calculus. Over 40 years ago (before even scientific calculators were common!) I earned a BMath and BEd. I wanted to test my brain, was curious to see how education online worked and how math is presented in a different country. This was a challenge and more work than I anticipated (life kept getting in the way) but I am very happy with the end result. Thank you for providing this as an audited course! The instructor,David Easman is very easy to follow. Overall this was a good experience.

par 黄金

19 mars 2022

Coursera上的《Introduction To Calculus》是一门能让人感受到数学之美的课程。她的内容不多,只讲到单变量微积分的换元积分法。但是每一个知识点都是从简单的知识出发,由逻辑推理而来,最后回到应用中去。而我在学习其他数学课的时候,往往需要先记住一堆莫名其妙的公式,这多少让我感到不适。

课程一开始就把代数和几何联系在一起,用几何图形来理解代数概念。第一个模块讲数,自然数、有理数、实数等等,这是多么简单的知识,一开始我觉得很无聊,但是教授用“数轴”把各种数联系在一起,又让我觉得挺有趣。美妙的事物总是从简单开始,从几何的角度上看,函数就是曲线,导数就是曲线的切线,积分就是曲线下的面积。从代数的角度看,曲线、切线、面积都是函数,它们通过微积分联系在一起。

几何能帮助我们理解代数,代数能帮助我们走得更远。比如面积的积分是体积,体积的积分是什么?曲线的导数是切线,切线的导数又是什么?我们很难通过几何把它们想象出来,但是对代数而言,它们都是函数。

这门课会讲到高斯分布,它是概率论的基础知识。这门课也会讲到logistic function,它会用于机器学习的梯度下降,把特征值缩放到0-1区间。这门课也会讲到如何计算宇宙第一速度,你会发现牛顿当年的发现其实也没什么“了不起”的嘛。

par Aaradhya S

12 juin 2021

This is the most brilliant course of introductory calculus , professor David teachs in such a succinct way that you will feel very comfortable with new concepts very early on and will acquire fluency relatively fast . The modules are very well designed and the teaching method is outstanding . I would wholly recommend it to anyone who would like to learn true mathematics in its true context , not only learning formulas and their mechanical implementation. I thank University of of Sydney and Professor Easdown for this excellent course.

par Miguel A J A

19 sept. 2021

Buenas tardes, en lo personal el curso me parece muy interesante, me hizo pensar, recordar y repasar. Lo único que se me dificulto es que toda la información esta en ingles, y me tardaba en traducir y entender. pero a parte de esto todo el curso muy interesante.

Pregunta. como puedo obtener el Certificado del curso, porque al iniciar no lo pague, ojala y pudiera pagar para que me envíen el certificado. gracias. saludos

Miguel Angel Juárez Aguilar

Tepatepec, Estado de Hidalgo. México

par Dylan B

3 févr. 2022

The best course I have been a part of. Professor Easdown presents this interesting subject like a story for the you to discover. This is not a course to be rushed. If you take your time and allow your head to wrap around each of his lectures, you will be able to solve the problems presented by knowing what you need and why it works.

The course has relit my passion for mathematics.

Thank you very much, and I really look forward to seeing the next course of yours soon!

par Gabriel M

24 juin 2021

I​nstructor David Easdown is amazing! He makes math... fun (insert surprised face emoji) and gives real-world examples of everything that is taught in this course. There are times that he goes a little fast but everything is explained in the notes that accompany every lesson if you need to slow down and review the material. I plan on using the skills I learned (differentiation and integration) in future engineering and circuit analysis courses.

par Chin j t

1 avr. 2021

the course content is really great, your visual aids are astounding and tremendously aid in enchancing understanding. The pace is good and explanation is thorough, well grounded and illuminating, You complement the lesson with real life examples which makes mathematics sound really useful. However, i think you should make the questions harder. I managed to finish all practice questions and graded questions over 4 days.