Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Calculus

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Calculus par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
3,215 évaluations

À propos du cours

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Meilleurs avis

AF

8 avr. 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

OM

26 sept. 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 985 Avis pour Introduction to Calculus

par Abhay V R

4 juin 2021

Going into the course, I hadn't done calculus in over 13 years, and I was quite nervous about whether I'd be able to get my head around these topics again.

Thank you so much Prof. Easdown for creating a fantastic course - while I can't claim to have mastered everything on offer, I do believe I am now more than proficient at basic operations, and better yet - my fear of calculus has been replaced (at least partially) with curiousity. I'm really excited about using this knowledge to do well in grad school, where I will be pursuing a master's degree in environmental management.

Thank you so much once again Prof. Easdown.

par Adam M

19 févr. 2022

Great course! Professor David Easdown has a great way of communicating information, is enjoyable to listen to, and has a very enthusiastic attitude towards teaching, which makes this course even more enjoyable. Eventhough this is listed as an intermediate mathematics course, David Easdown made it easy to understand every step in working, and has put a lot of effort into the notes accompanying every video to supply even more information and understanding, with plenty of examples to see how certain techniques work. Overall, I am really pleased with this course and how much I've learnt.

par Anna K

18 févr. 2021

Excellent course! I studied Calculus for two years in Russia and enrolled in the course mostly to learn the vocabularly in English, but I also enjoyed a great explanation of the subject and numerous excercieses that helped me to revise the material that I studied long time ago. I enjoyed the videos and the pdfs of the course very much! The course is well structured and allows to cover a lot of material in a short time. The teacher of the course, David Easdown, is a great encouraging presenter! He even replied himself to the question that I had. Thank you, David! Keep it up!

par William H

17 mai 2021

What an amazing course. David's step by step approach combined with geometric visualization helped make challenging concepts as easy as possible. Historical context spanning thousands of years, as well as brief profiles of key figures led to a deeper appreciation of mathematics in the course of human history. The many real-world examples were key to a deep understanding of what are some complicated and abstract concepts. David's enthusiasm for the subject matter and teaching was energizing and inspiring! I hope to see more courses in Mathematics led by Prof Easdown!

par Yuk M I L

8 avr. 2022

An excellent course for anyone who are total beginner of calculus, or someone who wants to brush up their dusted skills in the subject. Prof Easdown's mesmerizing way of presenting the course materials has definitely elevated mathematics from a science subject (popular view) into an art (what the subject really is), the elevation of which is further enhanced by the classical music played at the beginning and the end of each videos. Very thankful to have found this course and I look forward to any second instalment that would lead us to explore further on the topic.

par CCs

9 déc. 2021

what an amazing journey I have had in this course within the last three days (yes it was an easy refreshing and enjoyable course, which can be finished in one day !!!!) in spite of All the amazing exams and the high quality educational content(videos , articles and quizzes the most amazing thing in this course is the instructor him self ( what a brilliant man he is ) the spirit he has is sensational !!!! I hope one day I can meet him ........

*remember every doller you put in your self you will get thousand in return so work hard and buy this course >>><<<

par Annette D

16 mai 2021

I am a retired Canadian secondary school math teacher having taught pre-calculus. Over 40 years ago (before even scientific calculators were common!) I earned a BMath and BEd. I wanted to test my brain, was curious to see how education online worked and how math is presented in a different country. This was a challenge and more work than I anticipated (life kept getting in the way) but I am very happy with the end result. Thank you for providing this as an audited course! The instructor,David Easman is very easy to follow. Overall this was a good experience.

par 柳梦璃

1 févr. 2021

This is definitely the best calculus course I've ever taken! The teacher is so passionate and has a good sense of humor. I am so grateful that he explains the reasoning processes for all the formulas and theorems. This is the first time for me to understand the beauty and simplicity of math. I am impressed by the elegant and useful "e", and I am surprised to know the association between the exponential function and the logistic function (which I use a lot in biostatistics). Thanks again for this amazing course!

par Terry F

29 juin 2020

Excellent course materials and explanations for the most part. Exercises were very useful as were the notes provided with the different sections. There were only a couple of things where the instructor presented an idea which needed to be used to solve a type of function without adequately giving the origin of the idea and how it worked. I would absolutely take another course from this instructor and this has made me interested in taking another math course to progress beyond the material presented here.

par Murat E

17 août 2020

İnstructor David Easdown has been created a great course. The course is nourished with both so educative videos and notes. I also really loved instructor's sketches :) which are complete masterpieces. I had taken this course with some previous calculus experience and now with completion of this course I can easily say knowledges here developed my comprehension. I wish to thank David and other people who helped to create this course. I look forward to see new courses coming soon :D

par Sandeep C

5 janv. 2021

wonderfully designed course with good number of real life examples, the video presentation by the professor is succinct, to the point, crisp and very clear. The accompanying notes help in a quick re-cap of the concepts, and also work as a good reference resource. I found the quizzes / exercises to be simple, maybe these were designed for a beginner. Overall a great course to attend. My 5 stars to the professor and the course designers.

par Jose G

20 juil. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I have not taken university Calculus in over 30 years, and I thought of doing this for fun, and I must admit, I enjoyed the material. My first experience at University was very tough, but I found the way it was presented very organized. The videos and notes are well done. Professor Easdown does an excellent job of presenting the material, and you can tell his passion for the course. Great Job.

par SWAGAT S

14 août 2020

It's a beautiful certificate course which enhance the level of highly polished mathematical instruments of calculus and it's various applications it's very useful for technical and non technical students. Specially thanks to prof.David sir who analyses each and every topic and contents in detailed and the notes was also well enough to carry on the practice quizes. Thanks to Coursera also for adding a beautiful course in it.

par Mr.K.Kumar

26 avr. 2020

Its really wonderful courses and It is very useful to my career.This Course will boost my job. It will help perform better in carrying out my professonal and give me an edge over my competitors. I have to learn different types of ways in this course .Definitely i have to join and learn different types of courses in coursera.I really thank to give an wonderful opportunity to join this course.Thank you very much.

par Tim S

15 sept. 2020

I took this course to challenge my memory on many aspects of algebra / calculus. I am a retired system admin ( Linux systems ) and have always loved mathematics. Was definitely impressed and pleased with the wonderfully thorough and patient teaching skills of Professor Easdown. The videos and notes along with the challenging quizzes were absolutely fantastic! Thank You all at Coursera and especially Prof. Easdown.

par John S

3 nov. 2020

Great style of presentation; he definitively kept it interesting. He also brought in a number of historic contexts, which made the math feel "real" in a sense. He covered a tremendous amount of Calculus in 5 weeks, but it never felt overwhelming; reasonably paced. This was an excellent refresher for anyone who has been away from Calc for a while and wants to re-familiarize with the fundamentals.

par Leslie R W

2 juil. 2019

The professor Dr. David Easdown is the very best Calculus instructor I have ever had! He is an excellent teacher who not only explains the concepts but also discusses the origin and use of the mathematics being developed. He does this is such an engaging style that motivates to not be afraid and jump in and learn more. I would love to take more courses with this professor. I highly recommend!

par Leon C

1 juin 2020

thank you for the option to do the course with all assignments unlocked.it gave me the opportunity to study at easy and Sir did a wonderful job.At first he sounded like an alien but then i paid attention and it turns out.it was 1+1,simple to the one who gives an ear.i failed so many times till i got it right.Calculus its still hard but i enjoyed this course.And i am looking forward to more.

par R M

28 juin 2020

It is wonderful visual and oral explanation about calculus. Even though I am Mathematics graduate, I understand the physical and geometrical explanation through this course. I recommend those who are like to begin their calculus class through this course. I heartily thank coursera for providing me a opportunity to learn. This course prove that courser is the master of online courses.

par Tenzin D

6 déc. 2020

Completed the course ! I had been separated from Calculus for almost two years, took up this course and wooh, in the short span of 5 weeks, got in touch with previously underestimated concepts and also got introduced to few beautiful formulas, theorems and laws. i wont spoil anymore...but here is the Best Professor yet. Thank You, UoS for the course and the Professor as well.

par rayven v

9 août 2020

This course was amazing! Had no prior knowledge on Calculus, however the professor really managed to make Calculus look like a fun and a stimulating course. He explained everything with so much detail yet clear, and his passion for Mathematics is really visible through the way he explains things in each video. Love this course! highly recommended. Thank you Professor Easdown!

par Mohd. A H

13 juil. 2020

David Easdown has a case of Mathematics Enthusiasm more infectious than any epidemic. While the course is obviously a top-notch intro to calculus, it is also worth a look for anyone who's had a rocky relationship with maths. You will come out of this course with a solid appreciation for mathematics as a whole and a stable foundation for learning more calculus in the future.

par Shubham B

12 avr. 2020

This course on calculus has completely changed my perspective about maths, I never get the concepts of function, domain, range, limits, the derivative, the integrals, but after completing this course now I am fully confident regardings the fundamental concepts of calculus.

Sir, you teach me very complex looking concepts in very simple language.

Thank you so much, sir.

par Navneeth S

30 juil. 2020

This has been a really great course and I thank Professor Easdown very much for making this happen. This has been my first encounter learning calculus, and I joined this course for me to have an insight into calculus when I start Year 12 this year. But I have learnt much more broad ranges of concepts than I had expected in a very easy to understand and adaptable manner.

par Min Z

31 déc. 2020

I've learned these concepts in high school, but I forgot everything because I barely used mathematics in my life after graduating from high school. Professor David Easdown explains these concepts in a constructive and logical way which makes math less elusive. I love listening to these lectures! Highly recommend other students who want to improve fundamental calculus.