Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la psychologie

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la psychologie par Université de Toronto

4.9
étoiles
4,458 évaluations
1,520 avis

À propos du cours

This course will highlight the most interesting experiments within the field of psychology, discussing the implications of those studies for our understanding of the human mind and human behavior. We will explore the brain and some of the cognitive abilities it supports like memory, learning, attention, perception and consciousness. We will examine human development - both in terms of growing up and growing old - and will discuss the manner in which the behavior of others affect our own thoughts and behavior. Finally we will discuss various forms of mental illness and the treatments that are used to help those who suffer from them. The fact of the matter is that humans routinely do amazing things without appreciating how interesting they are. However, we are also routinely influenced by people and events without always being aware of those influences. By the end of this course you will have gained a much better understanding and appreciation of who you are and how you work. And I can guarantee you that you'll learn things that you'll be telling your friends and family about, things that will fundamentally change the way you think of yourself and others. How can you resist that?!...

Meilleurs avis

ND
27 nov. 2021

Perfect start. This motivates me to learn more. Prof. Steve is my favorite teacher now. Couldn't have asked for a better person to teach me. Scratched the surface pretty well, now time to dive deeper.

AA
25 janv. 2021

I found this course very interesting and interactive. I especially enjoyed the week of extra videos where we went into detailed psychological concepts like dreaming. Thank you for an amazing 12 weeks!

Filtrer par :

1376 - 1400 sur 1,502 Avis pour Introduction à la psychologie

par Hamad A

23 nov. 2017

good

par Andrew L

4 juil. 2019

非常棒

par Lucinda L

23 janv. 2019

非常好

par Aidi

5 juin 2020

.

par MOLLY C D B

12 juin 2018

E

par Hemal S

26 févr. 2021

Hemal shah suffering kind of headaches No idea what it's called. Does the medical clinic fail to figure out what's going on with him?

it's doesn't call it a Trauma or Brain tumor. doesn't migraine

doctor pugh Reported it's related to high cholesterol in body

how is effected in body and connected to brain cells

Blood circulation in body and blood flowing in the body from top to bottom in body and when blood flowing slowly this cause-effect in brain vessells and when the brain doesn't get enough blood then getting panic pain in the brain and it has been shooting for 10 seconds.

This type of panic pain and hasn't ever been a report in scientific history.

Anxiety phobia and panic

Doctors often rely on a patient sense of their well-being, especially when their assessment matches their appearance. But as Dr. pugh was reminding me that day, patients aren't always right.

It seemed to the patient that her symptoms were a response to anxiety. At least two specialists confirmed the diagnosis, and he was treating for it. And yet to dr. Pugh, the story seemed atypical. Most patients with anxiety had experienced it their whole lives, or at least since adolescence. And the fact that she was taking two medicines for anxiety — one at a very high dose — and still felt anxious was also strange. M.D pugh wondered if this might be something other than the run-of-the-mill anxiety disorder.

Hemal shah Experiencing Neck pain and left side head pain and head pain does come and go away for only 10 seconds to 15 seconds, so killer pain in the head lets him cry. MRI test of neck test show up normal then he got another MRI for whole head to see what is going on in his head.

The doctor also reported being boning growing in the head? sound like weird for Hemal Shah

According to Hemal shah, his pain is related to injuries.

Brain & body: body all joints are connected from the spinal cord up to the Hypothalamus or near the corpus callosum in the middle of the brain.

He got a pain coming up from the left side rear to up in the middle head and shooting dangerously for 10-second panic pains.

The hindbrain is locating at the back of the head looks like an extension of the spinal cord. It contains the medulla, pons, and cerebellum. The medulla controls the automatic processes of the autonomic nervous system, such as breathing, blood pressure and heart rate

Blood pressure founded Normal & his breathing perfect

he reported to doctor his left side head bones are little off and outside compare to right side & he feel like from neck to above are ahead left side swollen or maybe misalignment and off

several accidents it could be effected on head its cause effects in body and neck & it's related to auto accident

it may be hemal shah didn't get enough blood in the brain that causes the symptoms.

Glial cells can be further subdivided into oligodendrocytes, microglial cells, and astrocytes, the latter of which is the most abundant type of glial cell and occupies approximately 25% of the total brain volume. Astrocytes can be further classified as either protoplasmic or fibrous. Protoplasmic astrocytes are present in the gray matter of the brain and have several branches that can interact with both synapses & blood vessels.

The Glial cells can be further subdivided into oligodendrocytes, microglial cells, and astrocytes. This latter practice was following by the abundant precedent and type of glial cell and occupied approximately 25% of the total brain volume.

The Astrocytes can be further classified as either protoplasmic or fibrous. Protoplasmic astrocytes are present in the gray matter of the brain and have several branches that can interact with both synapses and blood vessels. maybe more " ribos " growing inside the brain.

Comparatively, fibrous astrocytes, which can be founded only in the white matter of the brain, have long fiber-like processes that also interact with blood vessels, as well as the nodes of Ranvier. Taken together, both types of astrocytes interact with blood vessels by adjusting their blood flow in response to synaptic activity.

side Effect: sleeping issue and feeling pain in neck if sleeping left side and sleeping to right side is batter to fall in sleep

Dream: lucid dreaming once wakes up at night and going to the bathroom and going back to sleep resume dream watching continue where he is left off. he never gets any panic pain while he is sleeping

panic pain is still mystery to Hemal shah in year 2020 and hasn't been resolve yet

par Noah S A

22 mai 2017

This was an excellent course! I have learned very much from this course, and many things which are applicable to everyday situations. The professor was very scientific, and I found none of the facts he chose to represent be swayed by his personal biases. Now, the only reason I choose to give this course a four star instead of five is due to some of the content inside the lectures. I was flashed a few times by almost nude women, and this caused me to need to scroll out of the view of the lecture multiple times. It annoyed me somewhat that these pictures were shown in something which was supposed to be solely educational. But, this is my only complaint about this course. Otherwise, this was a very informative course.

par Saman H

10 oct. 2020

Thank you so much Steve Joordens for sharing the knowledge and teaching this course. I was looking into studying further and go into counselling psychology. This is a very different career from me from the cosmetics and business career that I already have. This introductory course made me better understand and help decide if I wanted to pursue my future career. You are an amazing professor and you made my learning experience easy. Your teaching techniques and interaction made it a fun course and I looked forward to each lecture after completing one. Your time is appreciated. I am in Toronto, so hoping to look into the BA Psychology degree at UofT.

par Balaji P

9 avr. 2019

This was my first earnest attempt to learn theory behind why be behave who we behave. I am usually very interested in people, animals and cultures used to correlate what I observed and made my own analysis and interpretation. Last, 8 weeks of structured learning guided by Steve Joordens helped bring all of of it together and answered many of my questions that I never asked anyone! He has tried and I think, has succeeded to provide a good introduction to guide learners like me to our next stage of learning, which for me personally will be know more about Cognitive Science and application in Education. I enjoyed learning!

par Siddharth S

11 mai 2017

The course material is interesting and easily understandable. Also, the professor is really engaging, and I loved the lectures. (P.S. He has a really dry sense of humour!). The tests are comprehensive and cover both memory and application of the concepts explained in the lectures. Also, the extra reading and video material is really cool!

The peer-review assignment could have been handled a little better, I'm not sure everyone (including me) clearly understood the grading criteria while submitting and during the peer-review phase.

All in all, definitely a course I recommend for a basic look into Psychology! :)

par Seyma O

9 août 2018

I liked this course. The lectures are really interesting and informative. I had no experience about psychology field before, but I had no problem during the course. Also, Professor Steve Joordens is a really good and experienced instructor. He has taught the lectures very well and tried to make them fun and interesting for us. I feel happy and grateful that I learned many valuable information. I definitely recommend it everyone who is interested in psychology. It gave me a good perspective and experience. I would like to thank professor Steve Joordens at first, and then my course friends !

par Peter K

15 juin 2020

4 stars because it was an engaging overview of a potentially huge volume of content, a reasonably meaningful assessment (Quizzes and assignment) and presented by an enthusiastic prof. (Thanks Steve). 5 stars if it was somehow more concerted. I know its a 101 course, but i think establishing an enduring theme through the course might improve access to some meaningful context for the student to hang its concepts. Also, a more focused review of the most influential psychologists (with timeline) would be a valuable addition.

par Carla D

4 mai 2017

I absolutely loved this course. It really is a great and thorough introduction to the fundamentals of Psychology and Psychological theory. Towards the end of the course, the lectures felt a bit material-heavy and rushed, in that there wasn't enough time anymore to cover it all so maybe it would be good to extend the course period. But aside from that, everything was great. Steve is a wonderful professor and his lectures were interesting and engaging. I would definitely recommend this course to others.

par Katharine A

9 juil. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. Professor Joordens is super knowledgeable and his interest in the subject is evident. The extra videos and resources were an added bonus. Some of the links were no longer working (copyright reasons, etc.), and I may be incorrect about this, but a couple questions on the final seemed to be about material that hadn't been covered (about parenting, I think?). Overall, great course, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to explore the subject.

par Rokas Z

19 janv. 2021

Awesome course! I have payed for courses before this on other sites and payed decent amounts of money, I am glad I discovered this one.

Very informative and the professor himself is great. Made me chuckle a few times. Learned a lot here.

Only reason of not giving 5stars is that many of the links added at the power point or at the end of the lecture are not working and some seem outdates. It would be great if this course would be reorganised.

Nevertheless amazing course.

par James T

15 mars 2017

I enjoyed everything about this course. The lectures were snappy, engaging and informative. The topics moved quickly, but not so much that it skimmed.

The resources don't always work (because the links are external) and the exams are misaligned, with questions on the Week 6 exam based on lectures from Week 7. This is a problem, and will reduce people's grades for sure, but this doesn't sway me from recommending this course.

par kevinm

20 déc. 2017

It gave me a good overall foundation for future psychology courses and the content was interesting and properly-leveled.

The only downsides were some outdated supplementary materials, a wonky interface for the final paper submission, and a plethora of unprofessional typos/misspellings (e.g. "agression" or "predjudice" or even the final exam had a misspelling in one of the answers "confindence" or something like that).

par Justin L

3 juil. 2020

This course is an excellent choice for anyone seeking to gain an introduction to Psychology, The course is delivered with an emphasis on understanding and allows you to take in each topic ranging from Neurology to Mental Illness. I will highly recommend this course in the future. Professor Joordens is excellent and does what it takes in his online video lectures so as you will take information and learn from it.

par diane m

9 déc. 2018

Never thought I could enjoy so much 12 weeks on psychology! Thanks to Steeve Joordens it was really easy to understand the various topics. I've learned so much and it gave me the hint to know more and to use this knowledge in my professional field. I have now enrolled for positive psychology course, and this introduction gave me a good base to keep on going further.... Thanks so much!

par Chandra L G

12 mars 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the teaching style of this instructor. Would have preferred to continue future educating with the same instructor. The courses do account for time out of the education system. Ppl can also sign on at their convenience and the deadline reminders were a life saver. I have already signed up to continue moving forward, keeping an active brain and learning. Thrilled!

par Angelos A

4 déc. 2020

I would have given it 5 stars, however the course needs improvement on the evaluation process. After finishing my assignment I could either receive evaluations nor give mine to peers. As deadline was approaching and as the review algorithm was not giving me any feedback, I had to go fishing in the forum of week 10 in order to find who wanted to be reviewed and ask to review mine.

par Gilbert R

1 janv. 2020

Last YearI received this course with Steve.I took the course for free and was very happy to do it again this year.

I was a few points averaged under 70 but started right off the start on the Quiz with 45%.I stuck to the course for close to the year and wasn't too worried about my certificates! I’m looking forward for this years . Happy New Year’s course.gilbert

par Hakim B

6 févr. 2018

Fascinating topic and most of the classes were relevant, covering a large array of questions from the structure of the brain, to the explanation of childhood trauma. But having a very synthetic turn of mind, I would have liked to get shorter lessons, straight to the point (even if the teacher's style was really enjoyable and relaxing). Thank you teacher!

par sarah l

15 déc. 2017

The lectures were engaging and relevant. I also appreciating the introduction to a multitude of theories and experiments. My only frustration was the lack of effort put in by classmates where the peer reviewed assignment was concerned. Many wrote nonsensical phrases such as "abcdef" and I felt that the peer review grading was lacking critical thought.

par Josh

19 juil. 2017

I really enjoyed this course - the professor was really animated and you could tell he really enjoyed teaching his subject. However, I wish there was more exploration of each topic. The prof. does give a whole host of resources at the end of each lecture with which one can explore however i feel as if the lecture was slightly time constrained.