Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Git and GitHub

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Git and GitHub par Google

4.8
étoiles
5,754 évaluations
1,344 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you’ll learn how to keep track of the different versions of your code and configuration files using a popular version control system (VCS) called Git. We'll also go through how to setup an account with a service called GitHub so that you can create your very own remote repositories to store your code and configuration. Throughout this course, you'll learn about Git's core functionality so you can understand how and why it’s used in organizations. We’ll look into both basic and more advanced features, like branches and merging. We'll demonstrate how having a working knowledge of a VCS like Git can be a lifesaver in emergency situations or when debugging. And then we'll explore how to use a VCS to work with others through remote repositories, like the ones provided by GitHub. By the end of this course, you'll be able to store your code's history in Git and collaborate with others in GitHub, where you’ll also start creating your own portfolio! In order to follow along and complete the assessments, you’ll need a computer where you can install Git or ask your administrator to install it for you....

Meilleurs avis

BK

17 mai 2020

Awesome !!! I tried to learn git many times but things always slips over my head but I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this course and voila, I have learned so much in this course. Thanks a lot.

DA

6 mai 2021

Awesome and well balanced course for working professionals. Clear explanations and coverage of typical use case scenarios. The labs were manageable and did not require a lot of time to complete them.

Filtrer par :

1151 - 1175 sur 1,362 Avis pour Introduction to Git and GitHub

par Eric A

7 mai 2021

Overall, the course successfully presented the basics of Git and GitHub. The topic scope and level of detail covered in the sufficient number of instructional videos were appropriately sized. Additionally, the reference (cheat) sheets and various readings enhanced the student's ability to return and review topic material. Furthermore, this course builds the foundation upon which other relevant and advanced courses may be presented.

My course instructor was top-rated among all the previous instructors through IBM's Data Science, AI, Machine Learning, and Python certifications. I strongly recommend to prospective students to know basic Python3 programming as this skill will be utilized in week 4. Of course, being familiar with python will help throughout the instruction.

A number of blindside situations prevented me from granting the last star. For example, throughout the course, when the instructor typed in credentials for access to an external GitHub account, the cursor (and placeholders/cursor movement for the password) moved sequentially in the command line dialog. When taking the module exams, the student used a Linux VM dialog. This dialog does not advance the cursor or present placeholders as the student attempts to enter their password. The cursor appears to freeze. When the examination clock is ticking, the student is under pressure to complete the tasks. This VM cursor issue infers that something went wrong and per the discussion forum posts many students wasted valuable time trying to solve this problem. Perhaps the examination instructional script might mention this condition. Another example was the debacle with the change in policy regarding the default branch name change from "master" to "main" at GitHub. The module examination course material was, in my opinion, not updated in a timely manner. Again, as a result, many students experienced frustration as their code, seemingly typed exactly as instructed, failed against the new GitHub change. The prospective student would be well-advised to inspect the discussion forum(s) before advancing to their respective week/module/section examinations in order to become familiar with current frictional issues.

par Puneeth G R

22 mai 2020

I would like to see more explanation via diagrams. For the rebase concept, there were NO diagrams.

Also, it would be better NOT to stick on to qwik labs. You have to type the code AS IS in the qwik labs, otherwise it wouldn't let you proceed. It's better to let the learners use Git Bash on their local system to experiment.

I loved the instructor's way of explanation. It was very engaging.

Previous to taking this course, I took the course "Version Control with Git" provided by Atlassian (Bitbucket company).

The Atlassian course was boring (his voice was monotonous), BUT they gave diagrams at each and every concept, and gave practical exercises after every single video.

Practically speaking, even though the Atlassian course was boring, it was way more practical. The final assignment by Atlassian was excellent to cement our understanding.

par Sacha v W

29 mars 2020

Very nice course of a topic I wasn't too much aware about. Great instructor. For my as new-bee on the topic the beginning Chapter 1 & 2 are the most interesting. Chapter 3 & 4 went to rather deep at high speed. It wasn't possible to type along as there was no github project to fork and go along with. The labs in the end all condensed the material to the essence again. Most google courses on coursera feel like commercials (for the GCP). This one not and I consider this course together with others in the specialization as one of the better courses I have done. Thanks

par Deepak K G S

2 août 2020

I found the course to be challenging in week 3 & 4 . Week 3 dealt with complex workflows of push-pull requests , rebase commands.It would have been helpful if the assignments too had covered such topics.It was left to us to practice those.Also in some videos the instructor should explictly mention which branch he is working on or atleast customize the command line (use zsh) to define the branch name.I was confused sometimes as to which branch he was working on. Otherwise, it is one of the best courses to learn git with lot of resources provided by Google.Thanks.

par Devansh K

8 janv. 2021

A very expansive course which explains a lot of different concepts. I had read about git and github briefly, but this course filled in all the gaps in my knowledge and gave me the detailed knowledge I was looking for. The instructor is great, and the content covered is perfect for beginners. My only slight issue would be that I felt like the latter half of the course was not as good as the first half in terms of its explanations. I feel like the explanations weren't detailed enough and could have done with some more detailed examples.

par Ivan M

10 nov. 2021

T​he course is great and touches a lot of content. The teacher is nice and very good. But concepts are not easy to understand and some things are not so well explained. You need a lot of practice to get all working in your head, and the labs, although they are correct, don't show you how to accomplish the hardest parts of the theory, letting you with a lot of doubts and half-learned things. It would be also nice an update in some lectures explaining the recent changes about master/main and the tokens instead of passwords.

par MANISH K

11 mai 2020

The course is an ideal introduction to such extremely interesting technologies. Kenny goes extensively on Git's basic commands and use and sets plenty of examples of the real-life aspect in which the student can understand and get accustomed to Git's framework.

Overall, after completing this course, you will have a clear understanding of what a Version Control System (VCS) like Git is like, and how Github complements and adds features. It is a MUST if, in my view, you are in the IT or computer sciences!

par Luis M

10 mai 2022

​The training is quite good in general but I miss 2 things: one is having some diagrams that explain the flow of the different versions of files when you do different things, like when you have several branches and then you merge them. I think it would be more clear. And the other thing I miss is to have an explanation on how to create a repository for a team and how to manage the permission. I mean, how to give permission to some people and not to others. That configuration part is not mentioned.

par Maria F S

14 mars 2022

This course had been quite a ride for me. I had learned so much here about Version Control using Git and Github. The instructor/teacher explained the lesson well and often use analogies to make it easier for us learners to understand. If I was to give a suggestion, maybe you guys can provide/show where can we access the scripts that are being used in this lesson, so it will be easier for learners to practice and grasp the lesson better.

par Peter T

11 nov. 2021

I liket the course and the instructor, but I really missed those in-video exercises from the first and second course. They helped me remember a lot. Here, questions in practice quizes are too theoretical and qwiklabs are too easy. Watching the instructor speak without doing anything gets easily boring. Lastly, there could be more complex animations on branches and local/remote repositories - how it all works together.

par Romit T

4 mars 2021

The course was perfectly designed to understand SCMs. The only thing where I see an opportunity for improvement is that the course pace was a bit fast. It could be really great if it would be slowed down and have more examples included so that it would be even better to understand. Overall it was a wonderful course and a wonderful experience. Hoping to apply the same in my current role! Cheers!

par ian M

13 juil. 2020

Content is good. Instructor is exceptional.

Qwiklabs testing is buggy, lots of issues. Thanks to contributors in the Discussion Forum for insight and help with issues that should have been rectified months ago and are still prevalent. A clear instruction set should be written without all the conversational text. Could be so much better. Come on Google !

par Isaac M

26 déc. 2021

This is a good intro to git fundementals. Would be better if it included some group exercises on how to deal with merge conflicts/real pull requests. Content in lectures is very good, quizzes are pretty decent, labs are not very high quality. Probably worth your time if you have never used git before, otherwise there are better ways to learn

par Mohammed H

3 avr. 2021

The content is great, the instructor is super, one thing that I didn't like is that the explanations didn't engage graphical illustrations especially in the merge conflicts part, it would be nice to update and a tree like graphs to clarify how commits and branches split in routes, Thank you!

par jose j

5 oct. 2021

Good introductory course to git and github. Week 3 and week 4 could be improved by making the colleague changes and github changes together with the students, so it is easier for them to replicate the examples in the videos. Overall, it is a good course and I've learned a lot of things.

par András B

27 janv. 2022

Excellent course with a great teacher! Unfortunately, there were some unexpected and frustrating challenges in assignments 3 and 4 due to the changed authentication procedures on GitHub since the preparation of the course, hence I believe that those assignments should be updated.

par Arslan A U R

26 avr. 2020

The concepts and theory of version control system are presented in a well structured manner in this course. I have learnt a lot out of this course. On thing this course lakes is practice assignment and graded assessments are also not very intensive. Overall a good course.

par Technophobe01

7 févr. 2021

The technical overview of the "How" of committing to open source projects is a useful refresher, and the points on Git automation were useful. However, I would observe that having everyone sign the Google code of conduct as part of the process feels a little Orwellian.

par Erik D V

24 juin 2020

The explanations were clear and very easy to understand. The only problem is that graded assignments are too easy, and don't let go of your hand. They don't let the student have a chance to fail, him or her just has to follow a step by step instruction...

par Shivaprasad B

30 janv. 2021

One of the good courses on Coursera for learning VCS. For beginners who want to learn remote version control especially GitHub, this course is the best. Knowledge of the instructor and the way he teaches makes the course contents more interesting.

par Anand M

17 avr. 2020

It was a bit too easy. The vids/labs should have had a lot more real world hands-on examples of longer durations. Ideally we should have been teamed up too (with a bot would be fine) to simulate some of the issues faced in the real world.

par Gabriel M

30 mai 2020

It gives a lot of practical examples and you go practicing at the same pace that the instructor explains, at the end it gets quite complex and you need to re watch the videos several times to understand or search for other resources

par Jason S

8 avr. 2020

This topic is good to know. I used two computers to follow along all the changes. The quizzes and assessments were not the most helpful. I did think it was cool when my work from one computer showed up perfectly on the other.

par parth g

23 mars 2020

This course helped me understanding git workflow which is super useful for collaborating with other developers and even for creating a small project. The last part was a little tricky but I will tackle it with more practice

par Joseph A L

19 mars 2021

Challenging class. Best to take the class with a linux computer. Practice loading some code to Github before taking class. Instructor is nice. There is so much material in this class. Take as many notes as possible.