Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.5
1,847 notes
293 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

GH

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 289 Examens pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies

par Brandon W

Jun 26, 2018

I think this is a great introductory course to genomic data analysis. however, the primer of molecular biology and techniques could be more detailed. It also helps to have some prior knowledge in this area to really understand the details and complexities. Looking forward to the other classes though. It was refreshing to jog my memory on many of these things!

par Andrea S

May 16, 2018

a great introduction

par sidney R

Dec 28, 2017

Hard to comment without having done subsequent courses. Was surprised by what was assumed to be known by participants. Review of DNA structure and chemistry and the chemistry of contemporary sequencing would have been useful.

par MedhiniSourya J

Jun 18, 2018

it would be better if graphical representation are included for easy understanding, to the students who are going into gemonics .

par Jacob A

Dec 09, 2016

Its called an introduction to genomic technologies and that is basically what it is.

par Krupal J

Oct 19, 2017

It is very nice course to learn new things.

par Qianhao L

Apr 25, 2018

Time of each video is limited, so lots of content are just mentioned without going deeper. Just a introductory course.

par Sabrina S

Nov 27, 2016

The entire course took me about 8 hours to complete. The videos are on average around 10 minutes long. The first two weeks of the course were very introductory and had they stayed that way I would have been disappointed (however they were focused on my specialization). Week 3 and 4 made it worth it for me and were very helpful (computing technology and statistics). I thought the course project could have been better. I didn't feel it was a strong overview of what I learned about the course. Either way, I'm glad I went through the entire thing.

par Charl W K

Feb 10, 2016

Comprehensive cover of the basics.

par Thodoris S

Nov 12, 2017

Nice introductory course for those who are new to the interdisciplinary field of bioinformatics. However, experienced users could also skip this course and go straight to the next ones.

par MATHEUS D L C

Jun 13, 2016

The last module and the final paper was a little confuse for whom is not from Biology (I'm from computer science). But the course is very well made and gave me the notion I'd like to have. The professores are very well qualified and inspired me about the subject.

par Abdur R A

Jun 25, 2017

Awesome. Great course to start your journey in bioinformatics

par Alan A

Jan 21, 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.

par Jason T

Aug 02, 2016

Very good intro course. Information is presented clearly and concisely, and it was pretty easy to comprehend even with no background. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the quizzes were a bit too easy and I don't think touch on all the important details.

par Weidong X

Jul 30, 2016

good course.

par Makragić A

Nov 03, 2016

The course is a good introduction into genomic data science, I disliked last week because teacher gave too many unnecessary information. But overall it is great course for Computer Scientists especially.

par Natasa J

Aug 22, 2016

This course is great for people like me, who know almost nothing about the topic, lectures are good, points are clear, understandable and not too long. Only thing I actually didn't like is amount of lectures. The course is planned to be completed in 4 weeks and for me it was over in few days. I would like to add that I've listened the lectures from work and spent 1-2 hours a day on it. All in all, I'm glad that I've started from here and plan to continue with the rest of the specialization.

par Jose G

Mar 02, 2016

Great introductory overview. I particularly enjoyed the summary of the human genome project.

par Robert K

Aug 31, 2016

Good introduction to genomic technologies, could cover more information... but it is an introduction.

par Jennifer D

Nov 21, 2016

Informative. Nice, low commitment class to provide some background to genomic technologies.

par Halyna K

May 06, 2017

Good introductory course, highly interdisciplinary. You will need some basic knowledge in molecular biology and statistics in order to better understand video lectures

par Michael S

Oct 02, 2016

Good intro for a non-biology person like myself

par 王宪赓

Dec 11, 2016

Great introductory course!

par abdelazeem a e

Feb 22, 2016

it is very good but needs some more explanation and supportive materials other than videos to get more knowledge

par Ana P H

Nov 16, 2017

The first three weeks were too easy, then Jeff Leek introduced a bunch of Statistical Concepts at once. I think I would rather have spent more time taking an overview of the field and what the certificate has to offer in application to my job as a biologist/learning bioinformatics.

The project at the end reminded me of evaluating scientific papers in college. Very useful, but out of context I thought. I think I would like to have more of a refresher in certain concepts in advanced genetics prior to being quizzed on them through a project.

Overall, it was a good course, but someone without a background in biology will certainly struggle with it