Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
étoiles
3,630 évaluations
571 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

SS
27 mai 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
20 nov. 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filtrer par :

501 - 525 sur 569 Avis pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies

par Nimesh B

8 juin 2020

Best process and way of learning.

par Дим Щ

11 avr. 2016

nice! Stats review particularly

par Kwon S H

3 juil. 2020

Concise and easy to understand

par Luis O C L

4 oct. 2017

Basic but really necessary

par 王宪赓

11 déc. 2016

Great introductory course!

par Cyruss T

10 janv. 2021

Nice introductiry course.

par Theodoulakis C

31 août 2019

Good introductory course

par Nur H B G

24 juin 2020

Perfect for beginners!

par Sathya P C

19 oct. 2017

Very nice basic course

par Hendy Z

11 déc. 2016

a great way to start.

par Andrea S

16 mai 2018

a great introduction

par Jean P M R

11 août 2016

Good Introduction!!!

par Paddy M

9 mars 2018

Great Introduction.

par Rana M A

23 janv. 2017

Good for debutants

par SHADAB A

5 sept. 2020

Great experience

par rupal k

1 juil. 2020

very effective

par Weidong X

30 juil. 2016

good course.

par hzl

13 janv. 2017

good course

par Nikhil Y

26 avr. 2020

amazing!!

par Shukla d

17 sept. 2021

good one

par Ayesha A

30 sept. 2020

Good 1

par Dionysios S

31 déc. 2020

Decent introduction to Genomics.

Good challenging course project that needed a thorough understanding of the article. I do not like courses which just give you a certificate without you really learning or just watching. Although the article was very interesting and was teaching you not only genomics but how to read-search for articles and information, at the same time it felt as a separate and a bit disjointed task from the material that was taught in the rest of the course. So giving it 40% was kind of unfair.

Some feedback:

-Would have been very helpful to provide the slides in a powerpoint or pdf format.

-Would have appreciated a few more slides and pictures on the introduction to biology/DNA etc. part (week1,2).

-The statistical part (I am a statistician by the way) suddenly refers to terms from biology that have not been referred in the previous sections (e.g. replicates). The examples were hard to follow in order to understand the concept. A bit more context would have greatly increased the ability to follow the material and grasp the conclusion/information.

Feedback on chrome-cast :This is not for this course only but for all I guess (although I have not tested another course yet). When videos are cast to TV (or chromecast) the subtitles have black background and hide the slides. There is no option to turn off subtitles (at least for this course), only to change subtitle language. Very annoying as you loose important information.

par Piotr G

8 juin 2020

The initial lectures on introduction to genomics are very engaging and good starting point for everyone who slightly touched that topic before and is interested in both history and recent developments in the area.

The week focusing on software engineering doesn't seem to be a good fit for such training. Most of the content is dedicated to extremely trivial computer science topics hardly related with bioinformatics. Only last several minutes give examples of bioIT software and systems.

The week with statistics is good only if you posses solid knowledge on statistics. Then it serves as a good recap. Otherwise you might be completely lost 5 min into the content, e.g. there are much better explanations of p-value and family-wise error out there in internet than the one provided in the course.

The idea of a project to go through a research paper and answer the questions about it was fantastic! Very good way to cement what you learned.

Overall: 3 stars. I would give 4 if not for trivial and rather useless computer science intro. At few points, the pace should be adjusted (e.g. statistics).

par Alejandro M

28 avr. 2020

There are two lecturers on this course, Steven and Jeff. The lectures by Steven are amazing. They are extremely interesting, clear, structured, concise and pedagogical. Seriously, great, I learned a lot and I would give Steven 5 stars. Unfortunately, the lectures by Jeff are unclear, filled with jargon (undefined and unexplained terms) and statements which are imprecise at best and incorrect at worse. Verdecit: 1 star for this second lecturer who didn't consider that the audience he was addressing was broad, and probably didn't take enough time to prepare his lectures. Average result: 3 stars.

par Dylan B

11 oct. 2017

Basic introduction. I have a biology background so for me this was easy. But for a non-biologist I imagine this may difficult to understand. From a non-biologist point of view I imagine the lecturers can spend more time explaining the biology of the cell and genome replication in a lot more detail. This can be handy understanding why we get certain mutations and why some mutations are more interesting than others (e.g. why are most variants (SNPs) found outside coding regions?).