Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.5
stars
1,925 évaluations
298 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

GH

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 294 Avis pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies

par Diana M

Dec 23, 2019

I've learned many new things. Coming from the CS / Data Science background, this was a great introduction to biology side of genomics.

I'd also recommend to all students in this class an excellent book on the history of genetics and genomic research that was recommended in my Data Science course at Indiana University: "The Gene" by Sidhartha Muherjee. The book is non-technical, but gives a great background knowledge and motivation for further study.

par Logan B

Feb 23, 2018

This is a great course that covers a lot of ground very quickly, including an overview of the central dogma of biology, mitosis and meiosis, and basic concepts in computer science and statistics. The lessons are clear, understandable, move at a good pace, and are full of practical examples applying concepts to actual problems in genomic data science. This class was a great starting point for the specialization and I highly recommend it.

par Mehwish

Aug 19, 2018

this was good course. Its really appreciating that you are teaching students sitting at home and learning online. this course was also good but i feel difficulty in learning 4th week course. Especially calculating p value and plotting data . I think that should be more precisely and should be describe with more examples. Thank you so much for this course and for increasing my knowledge.

par Rida Z

May 27, 2018

This is my first online course I ever took. I did not know much about importance of online courses before this course but while taking this course I was only wishing that if only I had known these things before while I was doing my masters research, it would have been a great help. Still, I am glad that I am able to know these things now. Thanks to the creators of this course.

par Jose A R N

Dec 31, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Science and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

par sweta

Jan 23, 2017

I think this course was a good introduction to various aspects of genomic data science. The quizzes were great for testing the understanding of the material and the paper for the final exam was an interesting read. I liked the section on statistics, where a real life example was used to motivate the importance of statistics in genomic data science.

par Fadime O

Dec 21, 2016

The content of the course is concordent with the course title. Videos and readings are spread into weeks classified within topics. Quizzes are qualified, some of them were challenging :) Special thanks to Dr. Salzberg and Dr. Leek. Happy to take to course and stepping into "Genomic Data Specialization". I am planning to take following courses.

par David M

Nov 21, 2017

This is the best way to keep up with the speed of innovation for a genomics veterans. I have been supporting bioinformatic solutions for 15 years and highly recommend this course. Even for the people involved in genomics for decades. Excellent instructors and content. Thank you JHMI!

par Omar R

May 01, 2019

As a clinical scientist, the course gives you a taste of the field in a way that you have not thought of before. The final project was a bit challenging and daunting!

Overall, the professors presented the material in a way that is easy to understand and follow up with.

par Nikita M

Aug 13, 2019

Strong intro. I have a good amount of Data Science experience, so intro lectures generally make me fall asleep. This is the first one I enjoyed. Felt like a good balance of a few key topics from general data science and genomics topics that were new to me.

par Miranda D

Jun 29, 2017

Explains genomic technologies and important statistical tools needed to effectively start more in depth study. Highly recommend especially if you are already familiar with biology and/or computer science but want to specialize in genomics.

par Andriy D

Nov 05, 2016

The course had a relevant pace, gettnig more and more complex and difficult in later weeks. The overall explanations were easy-to-understand, well described and interesting enough that this was my only second course finished on Coursera!

par sandeep K

Aug 11, 2019

This course briefs the basics required to understand the role of genomics and importance of statistics in big data analysis. I appreciate the efforts done by instructor to teach this tough course in easy way with good examples.

par Seram A S

Dec 04, 2018

Truly, a wonderful introduction to an interesting course. Got difficulties somewhere especially in the final project article. Will definitely complete the entire specialization. Thanks you to the amazing faculties.

par Mladen R

Dec 26, 2016

It was a really good course for introduction with the genomics and all related to it. I like that the course can be attended without paying the fee, unlike some others in this Specialization. Keep up the good work!

par kayod F

Nov 01, 2018

Brilliantly put together with conversational language thus making it very easy to follow all the videos. The instructors are experts in the field thus were able to make the course very simple, yet with good depth!

par Salaam T O

Sep 06, 2017

This is an amazing introductory course which prepares the student ahead for other courses in the specialization. It also lays a solid foundation and stimulates interest in completing the specialization.

par Gregory D H

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

par Hsiao-Chi L

Aug 06, 2017

Nice module!!! I've learnt a lot!!

I love the instructors so much, they not only taught us the knowledge clearly but explained them in plain English.

Thanks!

par Greg N

Nov 18, 2016

The explanations were very clear, and the content was simple enough to not be daunting yet the content was still very interesting, especially the final project.

par Serimbetov Z

Nov 20, 2018

Very good introduction to the field of computational genomics. Good overview of how biology, computation and statistics are intertwined to study genome.

par suo y

Dec 20, 2016

introduce the basic but crutial knowledge about genomic technology, containing biology, computational and statistics. the course is easy to understand.

par J'aime M

Nov 27, 2016

I have significant background in this material. I enjoyed the presentation style and felt the quizzes and assignment were well matched to the material.

par Alexa F

Jan 15, 2017

A thorough, yet concise introduction to the specialization and to some of the technical difficulties associate with genomic technologies. Thank you!

par VENKATESH G S

Oct 30, 2017

Nice and Valuable Course by John Hopkins University, Hats off instructor. Due to this Course I have cleared many doubts on Genome and Data Science.