Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Climate Change and Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Climate Change and Health par Université Yale

4.8
étoiles
595 évaluations
130 avis

À propos du cours

Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human health in the 21st century. Yet these impacts to health are still not well recognized. Since you can’t change what you don’t understand, this course is designed to equip health and environmental professionals, as well as other changemakers and the public, with critical and usable knowledge to take positive action. The course begins with an introduction to the science of climate change and how climate change affects human health. It takes a deep dive into climate change’s adverse health effects, including those related to extreme heat, waterborne infections, insect-borne diseases, and exposure to storms and floods. Throughout, the theme of health equity is interwoven by pointing to what factors make some populations more vulnerable than others to climate change’s negative health impacts. Finally, the course explains how measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions can not only limit future climate change but can also generate substantial immediate health “co-benefits” over and above the benefit of reducing climate change. Following completion of the course, students will be able to: · At an introductory level, describe how the climate has changed, explain the role of greenhouse gases in climate change, and describe how the climate is predicted to change in the future. · Describe how climate change adversely impacts population health, with differing vulnerability across population sub-groups, through direct effects; through ecosystem transformation and degradation; and through the stress it places on political, economic, and social systems. · Explain how adaptation and mitigation strategies can reduce adverse health impacts of climate change and can generate substantial non-climate health benefits in a just and equitable manner....

Meilleurs avis

SH
12 déc. 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The complex terms are well explained and the examples and information provided is easy to digest. It really makes you look at the world in a whole different way.

JC
18 juin 2020

Very insightful course about fundamentals of climate, climate change, health effects related to air pollution, highlighted statistics, co-beneftis etc. Thank you for this Yale University.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 130 Avis pour Introduction to Climate Change and Health

par Mirco P

10 avr. 2020

Well intended course for those looking for a brief overview on the main concept of climate change and the most common impact climate change has on health. Specific diseases are discussed in details. The final assignment is a 400 words long analysis on 3 adverse impact of climate change on health in a specific region (you have to choose the region at the beginning of the course and every assignment should consider that region for reference). Plus, you have to identify 3 sub-group of the region population affected by the climate change impacts.

par flighting

20 oct. 2019

Very helpful and giving ideas

par KANDUKURI V S

27 oct. 2019

Great Course and well covered by Prof

par Luis G P

30 oct. 2019

Excellent course

par MICAEL N K

2 oct. 2019

Great course. Clear and robust information provided. I even learned from topics that I thought I mastered. Support staff and teachers should be more proactive in Forums to enrich the experience. If you want to get a deeper understanding of climate change impacts, this is your course.

par Shelley R G

8 nov. 2019

Well sone and wall laid out. Covers a lot of material, studies and analysis and varying opinions. I learned a lot from this class and would recommend it to anyone in any field.

par Rajendra T

6 oct. 2019

Topic is good but there are lot of items which could be improved in course. Slides were messy and confusing, containing lot of repetitions. Presentation style also could be improved a bit.

par Patel Y S

20 déc. 2019

This course is really great, they provide knowledge in depth, best course for beginners to learn about climate change

par Kryzhevich M

26 nov. 2019

This course is a very interesting for me.

par David S - E

21 nov. 2019

great, concise and on point.

par Anna S

13 avr. 2020

This course was fantastic. Really opened up my eyes. I highly recommend as a tool for learning more about our planet and the effect we have on it. On the smallest scale, it's given me passion to pursue mitigation efforts to help lessen climate change personally, and on the largest scale, it's given me the knowledge and confidence to discuss climate change with friends and family, reconstructing their ideas about the reality of this problem and changing their responses for the better of the planet. I wish this instructor was teaching the next course - he was great! He took complex concepts and paired them down into simple ideas. I never felt like any of the material was beyond my understanding because of him.

par steven a

4 mai 2020

Great course for getting one's feet wet in the world of climate change. I learned a few very interesting things and look forward to more in the next two classes in the series.

par Yasiru F

9 mai 2020

great course but it would have been better if some of the sessions were more interactive sessions as the content felt quite similarly structured and it would be great if the quizzes could be improved a bit more. but all in all, it was a great experience and learning opportunity which I am glad I took. Thank you

par Manal A

26 mai 2020

The course material was interesting and informative, and I enjoyed doing the assignments. The course presentations were a bit dull, however, and overall the course would benefit from more interactive or visual presentations.

par Wee H L

2 juin 2020

Good course, easy to follow through, but the lectures were dry

par Auria G

5 avr. 2021

Inspirational and helped fuel my dream to become a scientist. I am sure that I am likely one of the youngest students attending this course, and just to all those young dreamers out there: if you follow your goals and work hard, your can do anything. I finished this course with my ideal grade, something i am very proud of. Thank you Yale!

par Rahul R

19 avr. 2020

This is an introductory course but beautifully delivered. Very informative course. This course motivates why we need to start taking action to save mother earth and humanity. Thanks for making a course on a very important topic.

par Susan H

13 déc. 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The complex terms are well explained and the examples and information provided is easy to digest. It really makes you look at the world in a whole different way.

par Juan S L C

19 juin 2020

Very insightful course about fundamentals of climate, climate change, health effects related to air pollution, highlighted statistics, co-beneftis etc. Thank you for this Yale University.

par Prajjwal S

21 août 2020

Thanks to Yale University. This is really very informative course for beginners who needs to know each dynamics of the protection of our nature by combating the climate change.

par AMAR S N

14 juil. 2020

Very Useful And Informative Course for the one who needs to know the very dynamics of the or for the protection of our nature by combating the climate change.

par Tej S

15 juin 2020

I don't really like the idea of 60% of grades being determined by peer-review as one of the people who reviewed my work gave a review which I don't agree with.

par Khairunnisaa' B S

1 juil. 2020

Great insight and lecturer provided a lot of data and statistics but he could have been more engaging :)

par MJ

1 avr. 2020

professor completely dull and robotic; not engaging; simply reads slides

par M.Venkatakrishnan -

18 sept. 2020

One of the best specializations available in Coursera. The instructor explains the topic from the ground level and goes to the specifics. After completion of this course, I know what are the major health issues which are likely to occur after a natural disaster.

The Import aspect of this course is that it teaches how public health gets affected due to climate change with the aid of the latest climate change model.

#loved_it