Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.6
étoiles
2,555 évaluations

À propos du cours

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Meilleurs avis

SE

6 oct. 2022

This was an excellent course in the history of ancient Egypt. I have always been fascinated by their culture & this course taught me many things that i was not aware of. I really enjoyed this course.

JM

17 oct. 2022

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to Ancient Egypt and its civilization. By taking this course, you gain a understanding of basic concepts of the Anicent Egyptian life and afterlife.

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 775 Avis pour Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

par Andrea G

13 sept. 2020

This was a great class to learn the basics of Ancient Egypt without feeling overwhelmed. I enjoyed the lectures from David Silverman.

par Carmen R

4 avr. 2020

Excellent intro to the basic principals of Ancient Egypt. The reading assignments add to the enjoyment. The text is also excellent.

par Adam P

24 août 2018

This course was incredibly informative and the thorough integration of real artifacts was a pleasure. Thank you, Professor Silverman!

par Quin R

18 avr. 2021

Wonderful introductory course, and I really enjoyed the textbook. Booked my first trip to Egypt right after finishing this course!

par John C

28 mars 2021

GENIALLL!!! muchas cosas por recordar, mcuhas cosas nuevas y muchas cosas pendeitnes por concoer,,!! muy contento muchas gracias!!

par Sophia A

28 mars 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

par Omar C B

8 sept. 2021

Os cursos, em geral, são excelentes. Só acho que, por US$ 29.00, deveríamos receber nossos certificados impressos e pelo correio.

par Jamison G

30 avr. 2020

Very enlightening class. I got a lot of good information out of the lectures. Hopefully I get to visit the Penn Museum someday :)

par Larissa d A M

16 janv. 2023

It was an incredible experience! I love History and Ancient Egypt its my favorite part so it was amazing to study more about it!

par Amber C M

18 déc. 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!

par Kaio L C A

7 sept. 2021

Excellent course, great for anyone interested in Egyptology. Dr. David P. Silverman excels in clearly conveying his knowledge.

par Vojtěch K

15 mai 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

par Denice E W

13 juin 2020

Really enjoyed this course. I have a lot of Egyptian history and this course helped me organize it and better understand it.

par Victor R

15 oct. 2020

An exceptionally-designed course for the ancient history enthusiast which delves correctly and thoroughly into Egyptology.

par Rodrigo A F R

20 déc. 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

par Aldrin P

14 déc. 2020

Comprehensive and informative. Lot's of learnings on the origins and other facts on culture and history of Ancient Egypt.

par Advise D

24 mars 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.

par Ong L W

1 mai 2020

Insightful and well developed. I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to taking Wonders of Ancient Egypt next!

par Gonca D

15 oct. 2017

This course presents an excellent introduction for ancient Egypt. For the beginners like me, it can't be better. Thanks!

par Alyssa J L L

5 août 2017

I would like to thank this course for giving me opportunity to learn and discover more about the Egyptian Civilization .

par Audrey T

14 déc. 2016

Fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt. Thought provoking and well researched. Has increased my interest in Egyptology.

par Афанасьев И А

23 oct. 2021

Very insightful for the beginner, and very helpful for the revision, in case one has already studied the Ancient Egypt.

par Tania T

7 mars 2021

Really enjoyed taking this course! Well explained, and full of interesting details in a general preview of the subject.

par Shalini N

3 juin 2020

If you're obsessed with the Ancient Egyptian history, do take this course. It is brilliant! Enjoyed every second of it!

par George P

6 mai 2020

Wondefrul course, the teacher is brilliant I love the teacher and his lessons. Mani thanks professor David P. Silverman