Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
2,845 évaluations
637 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Meilleurs avis

NB

Apr 25, 2020

Great course. The amazing thing about the instructor is that you will find something new and exciting in every course and that's why I loved this course and the remaining courses offered by Dr. Chuck.

KH

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 636 Avis pour Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

par Alon D

Sep 16, 2018

While I truly appreciate Dr. Severence's enthusiasm and his lectures on the historical and theoretical background of SQL (e.g., data models), I found this course lacking in a few aspects. The major one being the fact that it contains very little practice and active learning. I would recommend taking Sadie St. Lawrence's course (SQL for Data Science), which is also aimed at beginners but has a number advantages that I will list below. In the case that her lectures come across as confusing at some point (they're a bit faster, and perhaps skip a few of basic introductory points), take both courses - they only take about a day to complete. The main positive points in SQL for Data Science are: (1) Very structured course with downloadable comprehensive slides. (2) No need to download and install a SQL server. (3) The online coding practice is very engaging, but not too hard. (4) The course covers more material than this one in 4 weeks. BTW, If you are not a data scientist you may ignore some of the professional jargon that pops up occasionally (not too often) - it is not central to the course.

par Jorge F P

Apr 14, 2018

The course covers SQL broadly and provides a few notions on how to design and create relational databases and what code to use. The lecturer is great, explains things well and clearly. However, the course's biggest flaw, in my opinion, is that it doesn't really teach how to use SQL. There a few examples on how to create tables and insert data into tables and examples of some, very limited, query commands. But that's it. It never explains the syntax, nor provides a list of commands in a structured way, detailing what they do and how they should be used. Furthermore, the assignments are way too easy. They basically require the learner to repeat what was covered in the lectures, whether the learner understands it or not. Since the lectures cover so little, it would be useful to have challenging assignments that would require a little independent research.

par d k

Oct 17, 2018

The Instructor came down to the level of beginner and started with basics and baby steps (especially getting the MAMP ready) - I would have liked to do a couple of more exercises. I liked it and I will take courses offered by this instructor in future.

par Niranjan A B

Apr 25, 2020

Great course. The amazing thing about the instructor is that you will find something new and exciting in every course and that's why I loved this course and the remaining courses offered by Dr. Chuck.

par Dpsb

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

par Lars T

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent course. You learn to install Your own php/mysql/apache server. You learn the must know basics of relational database design and using sql queries. You really get to know phpMyAdmin. Excellent instructor, good quizzes and assignments. The auto-grader tool minimizes the time You need to show that You have mastered the learning material, so You do not have to wait and wait for peer-reviews.

par JARRAR O

Jan 07, 2018

Nicolas Boileau-Désprieux said "whatever well understood is clearly said, and the words to say it flow with ease ". This is exactly why appreciate attending Charles Severance (a.k.a Dr. Chuck) courses. He teaches you you need to know about a somehow complex topis. If you are new to SQL or plan de develop new WEB Applications, then this is the best place to be. You did the right choi

par P.V.H S K

May 17, 2020

This gives you a basic understanding on SQL for beginners. Dr.Chuck explained so well in such a way that even a candidate with zero knowledge can understand the concepts and can complete the course.

par Tahir H

Jun 09, 2020

I am glad to say that i was nothing before getting this course .How to create tables,database sql query etc.

I specially thank's to coursera give me a opportunity to get this skill free of cost.

par Gangi V

Apr 03, 2020

The course took place in a crystal clear, slow and steady path and the final yield is also quiet satisfying. The best course for a beginner in MySQL and Database management systems.

par Victor P

Jan 10, 2018

went in knowing nothing about sql

straight forward and engaging lessons and awesome assignments trained me

am now a master sql database warlock

10/10 course would normalize with again

par Shilpa H

Dec 17, 2018

Course is really informative, content and assignments are good

par Tao C

Apr 03, 2019

Good to start with SQL, but a bit too easy for practical use.

par SanjaySuman S G

May 18, 2020

This is truly a Great Course !!! , The art and the beauty on relational databases work is really amazing ,

I really enjoyed learning this course starting from creating a simple table to creating multiple tables and establishing relationships in each of them .

All thanks to Dr.Chuck , He was absolutely Phenomenal!!! , the way he taught this course was very interactive , He taught us performing even a simple real world problem through SQL .

Once a again, thanks to Dr.Chuck , thanks to University of Michigan and Thanks to Coursera!!!

par Javier E

Oct 30, 2019

The course is a good introduction to basic concepts and commands, and builds on them to progress to more advanced use of databases. The lectures are well structured and the examples well explained and helpful (thanks Chuck). The assignments helped to get a bit further.

My experience with MySQL and SQL in general was somewhat limited and more academic, and this course helped to fill some gaps and earn some new skills.

The course is useful and engaging. I enjoyed doing this course and would definitely recommend it.

par Sheheryar Z C

Apr 13, 2020

I have absolutely no background in Computer Sciences at all and I was able to fully comprehend all of the lectures and assignments properly. The video lectures are amazing and explain all the basics one must need to know about this course. My interest has been developed and now I shall explore more advanced SQL courses, that might help me in my career. I want to express my gratitude for Dr. Charles and his team for providing such an amazing content.

par Jeff R

May 18, 2018

What great content! The course progresses in a way delivers the exact the knowledge and skills needed to become quickly proficient. Dr. Chuck has developed the most practical and relevant courses that I have ever seen. After auditing these courses, I have added them to my employees professional development plans. I have sixteen particle accelerator engineers. And everyone of them has found uses for all of Dr. Chuck's courses.

par Naveen R

Jun 16, 2020

As the title says, it is an introductory course to SQL. Must for beginners. Personally, I had already taken two courses on SQL and just wanted to brush through the basics once. But this course was too good. So many things I never knew. This is good even for those who have experience with SQL. I completed course in just 2 days. As I said, it is for beginners. If you are already an intermediate, you might look for advanced courses.

par Heli P

Jul 25, 2019

Excellent course by an excellent tutor. Mr Charles delivers all the basic general knowledge about SQL all the while being simple and fluent in communication as a teacher. The assignment are hands on, and they help you think as a database developer. Its not too lengthy and just perfect for about anyone looking to quickly learn all the basics! I'm very happy with this and would recommend to any beginner.

par Soh W K

Mar 28, 2018

Honestly, I didn't really know SQL could be so easy to learn! Dr. Chuck really did a great job in explaining it easily on converting the data into numbers for representation of data, so that the SQL database could quickly find the fields of information and re-construct it together with some really neat and cool commands.

After learning all those commands, I guarantee you feel like a Hacker! ^^

par Yu-Hsiang, W

Jul 14, 2020

It is my first course with Dr.Chuck and I will keep learning with him. Just like other members' review, he can explain in an easy-understanding way; even if I do not have databases background, I can understand and complete the course. SQL is powerful and just like a human language, I would like to learn the intermediate course and become excel in it. Welcome to learn this course.

par BIN C

Mar 20, 2018

Hi there, after learning and completing this SQL course, I have really learnt and understood what SQL is and its useful operations while I am a Health Informatics postgrad student who is also learning SQL and Access as key parts of my Health Data analysis, so this SQL Coursera course is really useful to enhance my future skills. Best regards.

par Yumei L

Mar 21, 2019

I learned a bit about SQL and databases in Dr. Chuck's Python courses -- that was enough to allow me to tinker with databases with no fear when I dabbled in Ruby on Rails. But this class really clarified a lot of things related to SQL and database management for me. For me it's been an easy course, but nonetheless I learned a HUGE amount.

par Nikola V

Apr 22, 2018

Great course for an introduction to SQL. Chuck goes into detail and combines the lessons with humour to make the lessons enjoyable. He also provides additional website and sources for further SQL knowledge (the website does this too). Additionally, the teachers are helpful and answer questions on the discussions forums promptly.

par JMF

Oct 29, 2017

I had a little SQL experience from Dr. Chuck's Py4E specialization, but I lacked a lot of confidence in what little I'd learned. This solidified it for me, and I've gained a lot of confidence and interest in SQL. Suddenly a lot of what I'd seen using Excel and Access in the past has made a lot of sense, too. Very cool stuff!